We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
251
65
13
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
65
13
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland games real ale family room braemar gathering comfortable hotel family run friendly bar friendly locals new owners red squirrels well stocked bar recommend this hotel to anyone lovely meal log burning fire skiing trip limited menu stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 344 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed a two night stay with our little dog, we were given the family room which allows dogs. This room was a good size, nicely decorated and clean. The hosts Grant & Marie are both lovely and very welcoming, this hotel offers a very warm and homely feel to it.
The bar has a mix of hotel residents and locals which offers a good friendly vibe whilst enjoying a gud selection of very well priced ales and a 120 different whisky's (which Grant has a great knowledge of).
If you are a foodie like myself you will not be disappointed as the breakfast and evening meals are fantastic, I highly recommend the T-bone steak as I can without doubt say it's the best steak I've ever had!
The hotel is ideally situated for some fantastic walks with breathtaking views!
We will definitely be returning

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carlmason84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Owner at Moorfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Hi Carl

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017

My friend and I have just returned from a stay at this hotel - excellent. Grant and Maria are friendly and welcoming hosts, the accommodation is simple but very comfortable, the food is good and the bar has an excellent selection of ales and whiskies. We had a very pleasant stay, and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Owner at Moorfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Hi Kevin

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2017

We were assigned room 2.
The "bathroom" was very small.The right hand shower door was hanging off and the tiling was dirty and mouldy. It was unusable and very unpleasant. Furthermore the bracket supporting the shower itself was nearly coming off the wall.
The most disappointing aspect of the experience was at checkout. I mentioned the problem with the shower door only to be told it had been broken earlier by a previous client. It was not a new occurrence and the owners were happy to go on letting the room in this poor condition. Since they had taken a full night's cost in advance they obviously had nothing to worry about and could go on giving this room to unsuspecting customers.
I did not relay our concerns as to the dirty condition of the shower walls as the owners did not seem to be bothered about the other problem.

Room Tip: Refuse to accept room 2 until you have checked the shower
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Owner at Moorfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Thank you for your inaccurate account of your stay.
Firstly you were a rude and obnoxious man which not only did we notice but also our other members of staff, your wife however was very pleasant.
The shower door which YOU pulled off was only mentioned as you were leaving not at the time, when asked why you had not raised the issue when it had happened there was no answer. The bathroom was also not dirty, we have a cleaner who comes in every day and we also check over the rooms before they are let, the shower door was not broken prior to you checking in. None of our rooms are in poor condition and are let fully functional.
Luckily we do not have many guests like yourself who damage property then try and blame the hotel and look to get a discount.
We will not be taking any of your above comments on board and anybody reading this will realize it is nonsense looking at our other reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

Staying in nearby cottage for the week in Chapel Brae. Visited this hotel over many years and this is by far the best it’s been with it’s new owners. Very friendly, great decor and cosy. Stayed earlier this year for a family wedding in the family room adjacent to the hotel which was really nice. Outside area is really nice setting in the warmer months. Dogs welcome, kids welcome. Will no doubt be back next year again with family

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Debbietimtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Owner at Moorfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Hi Debbie

Thank you for your review, it's nice to know that you like our improvements as a regular to the hotel, more still to come though :)
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017

This could easily have been a dark and dated Highland hotel, but a lot of effort has clearly gone in to the décor to transform it into a pleasant and charming, family run operation.

Ample private parking, a small well stocked bar, a nice communal sitting room for guests, a restaurant area with good food and an attentive, friendly standard of service throughout.

Our bedroom overlooked the field on which the Braemar Gathering is held, and the hill beyond. It was quite small however with an angled ceiling encroaching above the bed on one side. The lack of a TV underlined its 'traditional' nature. The small ensuite toilet and shower room had been refurbished and it all worked well, but it's a small enclosed room and so the moisture from the shower was giving rise to quite a bit of mould on the tile grout.

Overall though, this is a good hotel and a friendly place to spend a night or two in the heart of Cairngorms National Park.

The Red Squirrels running around the garden just outside the window while we had breakfast were a bonus!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, Owner at Moorfield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Hi

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is a Victorian building and as a result some of the rooms have angled ceilings which add to the character, our bathrooms are currently being replaced (they had not been refurbished prior to your stay) as this was the last thing we needed to do after taking over & refurbishing the hotel. We do not have TVs in the rooms for the noise as this is a quiet and peaceful place, we do have a residents lounge where there is a TV and most guests find this satisfactory, we do however have a TV in our family room as it is separate from the hotel.
We are pleased you liked what we have done so far and enjoyed your meals and the red squirrels :)

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews