We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
251
65
13
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
65
13
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland games real ale family room braemar gathering comfortable hotel family run friendly bar friendly locals new owners red squirrels well stocked bar recommend this hotel to anyone lovely meal log burning fire skiing trip limited menu stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 344 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2018

This is a nice b&b in the charming town of Braemar, perfectly placed for exploring the Deeside area of the Cairngorms. The main building includes rooms, a lounge, a bar, and a restaurant. We stayed in an annex, perfect for a family or a group of 3 or 4 friends. The annex was also very nice and quiet, with no noise from the bar at night. Wifi didn't reach it, but we were invited to use the lounge as a place to check e-mail, etc., so not a problem. The room was well appointed, with plenty of extra blankets and a great, modern shower. Breakfast was very good, as was dinner.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mirabelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018

Lovely, family-run guest house overlooking the famous Braemar games site.

We arrived on the doorstep without notice but were happily accommodated.

The 'hotel' has an on-site licensed bar with an extensive range of whiskeys available. Plus, in-house restaurant. A couple of vegetarian options, on top of which they happily put together a tasty mixed salad with nuts and cheese etc for my wife, which wasn't on the menu.

My only real (negative) points of note are that there was no television in the room, there is a communal one in the Lounge and I could have also done with having a suitcase stand in the room.

The property appears to have been recently refurbished which gives it a clean and fresh feel. On closer inspection though, it seems to have perhaps been a bit rushed with dirty windows to the ceiling on the landing; loose wall socket adjacent to bed; dirt to windows behind secondary glazing and expanding foam oozing from places. There also seems to be a rather eclectic mix of tastes with the decor; country house vs bling and with the occasional plastic plant.

I'm perhaps nit-picking with this as it has to be said that the bedroom, it's en-suite and all communal areas were in fact scrupulously clean.

It's a shame re the finishes which takes the edge off the place. The owners were lovely and friendly and clearly work hard. I really do wish them all the best with the business.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoDaddy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Accurate room, nicely decorated and very clean. Small family hotel with a nice bar. Owners are very nice and welcoming. Very good breakfast included. Very recommend to those who must to stay in the area.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jony1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Moorfield for 2 nights. This is a small family run hotel. It is welcoming, well appointed, clean and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were tasty and there was enough choice to cater for most tastes. Thoroughly enjoyed the short stay and hope to be back in the future when visiting Braemar.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

We had a really good stay at this hotel. Rooms are nice and spotless. It looks like the rooms have recently been remodeled. Food is really good also. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. ..

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews