We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
255
65
13
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
65
13
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland games real ale family room braemar gathering comfortable hotel red squirrels new owners family run hotel recommend this hotel to anyone wonderful hosts lovely meal log burning fire well stocked bar stayed one night on tap following morning dining room
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 348 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2018

The location is outstanding. The hotel is located just behind the highland games site. It is a small family run establishment,serving Real Ale in the lounge. Braemar is a lovely rural village within close proximity to Balmoral castle, and walking distance to Braemar castle. Braemar castle is open to the public and the staff there are very knowledgeable about the history and folklore of the area. It is well worth the vsit. A visit to Crathie kirk, where the Royal family attend when the are residing at Balmoral.

Room tip: 6 rooms in total. Each with it's own charm.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank acemployee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018

I can't say enough about how beautiful our room was - spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed, and gorgeous decor. The shower was especially nice. My only regret is that we were there for only one night.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizo572017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2018

This is a nice b&b in the charming town of Braemar, perfectly placed for exploring the Deeside area of the Cairngorms. The main building includes rooms, a lounge, a bar, and a restaurant. We stayed in an annex, perfect for a family or a group of 3 or 4 friends. The annex was also very nice and quiet, with no noise from the bar at night. Wifi didn't reach it, but we were invited to use the lounge as a place to check e-mail, etc., so not a problem. The room was well appointed, with plenty of extra blankets and a great, modern shower. Breakfast was very good, as was dinner.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mirabelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018

Lovely, family-run guest house overlooking the famous Braemar games site.

We arrived on the doorstep without notice but were happily accommodated.

The 'hotel' has an on-site licensed bar with an extensive range of whiskeys available. Plus, in-house restaurant. A couple of vegetarian options, on top of which they happily put together a tasty mixed salad with nuts and cheese etc for my wife, which wasn't on the menu.

My only real (negative) points of note are that there was no television in the room, there is a communal one in the Lounge and I could have also done with having a suitcase stand in the room.

The property appears to have been recently refurbished which gives it a clean and fresh feel. On closer inspection though, it seems to have perhaps been a bit rushed with dirty windows to the ceiling on the landing; loose wall socket adjacent to bed; dirt to windows behind secondary glazing and expanding foam oozing from places. There also seems to be a rather eclectic mix of tastes with the decor; country house vs bling and with the occasional plastic plant.

I'm perhaps nit-picking with this as it has to be said that the bedroom, it's en-suite and all communal areas were in fact scrupulously clean.

It's a shame re the finishes which takes the edge off the place. The owners were lovely and friendly and clearly work hard. I really do wish them all the best with the business.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoDaddy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Accurate room, nicely decorated and very clean. Small family hotel with a nice bar. Owners are very nice and welcoming. Very good breakfast included. Very recommend to those who must to stay in the area.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jony1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews