We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great family/friends party venue”
other travellers have booked this property
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Sunny days! Country kitchen with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Balinakill Country House is a wonderful victorian country house on the west coast of Scotland
Sunny days!
Country kitchen with wood burning stove
Victorian dining room with open fire
Upstairs drawing room with open fire
Cosy gunroom bar with wood burning stove
Four poster bedroom
1st floor bedroom
!st floor at the front
spring!
children's room
1st floor bedroom
fountain
oak room fireplace
Walled garden
View from upstairs lounge room
1st floor bathroom
Winter view
View from the hill behind Balinakill
View from Dunskeig Iron Age Fort, Clachan (1/2 hour walk from Balinakill)
Tarbert
Conservatory
Garden view
Oak panelled drawing room with open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Clachan, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mooks74
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great family/friends party venue”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We hired this beautiful country home as part of a surprise 40th birthday party weekend and all I can say was we were all surprised at how wonderful this place was.

From the beginning to the end it held special memories and both the accommodation and location made it all the more special.

On arrival we were shown around the house and made to feel welcome immediately. Fresh flowers had been placed throughout the house which was a nice touch. We could not fault the cleanliness of the house. Rooms are all large and no one will be disappointed.

With over 30 adults and children it never seemed over crowded and everyone loved how spacious and grand the house was. The bar was a fantastic bonus and many of the guests enjoyed their hand at bar tending. In fact I think we spent most of our time in here.

The large reception rooms with the log fires were perfect for the more relaxed moments and chilled evenings (late nights!). The children enjoyed having the freedom to roam the house and grounds and had a great time. The house is near some fantastic scenery and beaches. The drive from Glasgow alone was worth the journey, especially during autumn. The autumnal colours reflecting on the glass like lochs was spectacular.

The House is well supplied with glasses, cutlery, plates etc., even with large numbers. Plenty of additional bed linen was available if required.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moraganna
LA
2 reviews
“A fantastic house, warm, comfortable and very homely”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Balinakill Country House in August for a musical work shop, everyone that attended the weekend thoroughly enjoyed their stay away, we all took advantage of all facilities and all admired what was on offer to us. Thank you to the management for making our stay a fantastic break. The decor inside and the exterior are all very tasteful and nothing looks or seems out of place. The whole house was spotless, warm and very comfortable. Thank you to everyone involved for keeping this house a holiday haven.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jollierod...
Kent UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OUT OF THIS WORLD”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just back from a week of wedding celebrations in Balinakill. There were 25 of us and everyone had a fantastic time. Before booking we viewed a number of different venues and Balinakill stood out from the rest then but after our week there I cant speak highly enough about the place. The house is tastefully decorated and in good condition, there is a great ambience about the place, it really does have a heart.
But what really set the place appart were the Anne and her colleagues. Right from the start we didnt feel like it was a commercial transaction, it was like we were arranging a wedding with an old friend. Uta the housekeeper was invaluable, she recommended locals to come and help us, people we would never have found but they all came and were immedietely our friends, John the piper, Alex & David the Band, Lori and Arthur the dancers, Paraig the storeyteller and Val the caterer all wonderful people. Even the housekeeping staff we so very friendly one of the ladies brough some CD's with traditional Scandinavian music as she knew some of the party were from Finland. Oh and I cant fail to mention the handy man who was wonderfully ecentric but had a great knowledge of the house.
Beleive me if you are looking for a wedding venue or somewhere for a group to meet look no further Balinakill is the place

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the staff and recommended suppliers
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bar!
Liked least: nothing to
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AndyMacQ
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredible house and stunning area!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We hired out Balinakill for a large group weekend and from start to finish the experience was absolutely amazing! The booking team were incredibly helpful and put us in touch with local caterers, drinks providers, transport options and the shooting club. I was the organiser for a group of 26 of us (and going somewhere I had never been to before) I honestly could not have done it without the help of the team at Balinakill! They went above and beyond - thank you! As for the house itself, it is absolutely incredible. It's not often that you see 26 adults all with their jaws wide open in wonder! And the bar in the house is just amazing. The smallest room in the house but once you get the fire on and a drink in hand you will find it incredibly hard to leave it! I cannot recommend the backroom staff or this house highly enough. I definitely hope to return in the not too distant future. 26 of us all left very very happy with our long weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Incredible from start to finish. Absolutely lived up to the pictures and excellent value for money in my view.
Liked least: There was nothing that I would not rate highly about this house or the booking team.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachel A
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“An absolutely perfect week”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked for a full week for a wedding with extended family, children and dogs. The house was perfect, it contained everything you could ever need from children’s toys to all the little essentials you may have forgotten and plenty of space for a group of 20.

With amazing original features throughout the setting really did take you to another world. The gardens were a child’s paradise with room to let off steam. Even on the days it rained the house itself allowed for everyone to find the peace they needed. And don’t be put off by the remote location, the drive offers some of the best views I have ever seen and you will find that once you arrive you don’t want to leave the grounds!

We used one of the outside caterers recommended by Balinakill for the wedding day for both breakfast and dinner, the service and food was to an excellent standard.
I would highly recommend Balinakill to anyone, it is an absolutely stunning house, in a truly beautiful location, offering great value for money. Who knew you get all that without using your passport!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The photos of this house don't do it complete justice, it is just magical!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing