We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
112
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh milk duck egg clean house on arrival received a warm welcome wonderful hosts stunning location each morning local area guest house lovely room chris mountains views accommodation hens ferry
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 123 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2018

Chris and Deb went out of their way to make sure our needs were met. From meeting us at the gate when we arrived to the little cakes brought to the room each day, they were kind and gracious hosts. The view from the rooms and during breakfast were wonderful. We enjoyed a delicious full breakfast while watching the birds just outside the window enjoy theirs. The shower was hot, the beds warm, and the room clean. Couldn't ask for more.

To help future visitors, don't trust your GPS, it will lead you down a road that will not get you to Heatherbank. Once in Strontian, just follow the signs. There are three places to get dinner in town, book one, as they do fill up. Finally, there is a ferry in Corran to get you back on the A82, have change and check when the last run of the day is, as it is a long drive around, otherwise.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thomasmI1096WY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2018

We found Deb & Chris to be a very friendly and welcoming couple the views from Heatherbank are exceptional as is the breakfast the rooms are comfortable and clean and finding cake on your return back was a lovely bonus.We would recommend Heatherbank to anybody wishing to stay in this area,we would certainly like to return ourselves hopefully.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2018

We had booked in at another establishment some 6 months ahead of our stay and sadly the proprietor decided to take off for a private frolic and dump our booking at short notice.
Happily they did us a great favour as the Heather Bank people took us in and the place was far superior for the same money.
We received a warm welcome on arrival and were shown into the lovely room for our two night stay. Spotlessly clean throughout and well appointed.
Lovely view over the mountains too. Just what we wanted.
Breakfast was to order the previous evening and was freshly prepared. Duck Eggs on the menu too for those who like them.
All in all a good stay and handy for our visits into Ariundle Woods and Strontian.

So pleased we got 'bumped' from our original booking.

Room Tip: Choice not offered.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2018

Adding to what others have said, we cannot say enough about Heatherbank. It as late when we arrived but there was Chris at the gate waiting to let us in. It is obvious that Chris and Deb have every intention of making this a superb B & B. Nestled in the hills of Auchtamurchan, it is a delightful place to spent some time. The views are breathtaking, accommodation was great and breakfast was all fresh, including a duck egg and a hens egg. Congratulations Chris and Deb, you are definitely winners. BTW, when we left, there was Chris waiting to open the gate for us.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srmopiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018

Found this B&B on the Visit Scotland website. It is what you want in a Highland B&B, set in wonderful mountainous scenery, lochs, rivers, wildlife all around. Strontian is a small but attractive settlement with some shops, tourist facilities and a filling station. Heatherbank is a modern house with large rooms and large en suites. The views over the mountains are spectacular in the evenings and mornings, it's hard to concentrate on the substantial breakfast when gazing at the scenery. The hosts are welcoming and give helpful information about the local area. It is a relaxing friendly place to be and is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house looking over the hills, there is even a four poster bed if you want.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews