We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely outstanding house, and a perfect long...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bluebell Croft

Newly decorated properties in a natural setting. Wonderful wild flowers throughout the year.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly decorated properties in a natural setting. Wonderful wild flowers throughout the year.
Elevated hillside position, with stunning scenic views and superbly situated luxury hot-tub Stunning mountain views in a rural retreat, beautiful and cosy in Winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Newly decorated properties in a natural setting. Wonderful wild flowers throughout the year.
Elevated hillside position, with stunning scenic views and superbly situated luxury hot-tub
Stunning mountain views in a rural retreat, beautiful and cosy in Winter
Autumn view of the mountains behind the property
Superb views from the patio and hot-tub whatever the weather.
Giant hot-tub with magnificent views over the glen to mountains. In use year round
Well equipped kitchen, designed so the cook can socialise too! Aga and conventional cooker
View from Honeysuckle House lounge
Plenty of comfy, spacious seating, beside the wood-burning stove
The huge oak dining table seats 10-12 easily and can accommodate 16
The large dining table can seat up to 16 people. We are able to host small weddings up to 40 guests
View across the lounge to the sunroom
The sunroom has access to the hot-tub. The perfect place to relax with activities for all the family
The childrens room has bunk beds and may be a twin or double room
The bedrooms are spacious and some may be either twin or zip and lock super king-size
Rose Cottage exterior
The downstairs, wheelchair accessible bedroom leads onto a patio overlooking the mountains
The lounge and dining area viewed from the stairs
Cosy living room with patio doors to the hot-tub
Looking down from the upstairs bedroom
Living room with lots of comfy seating
Compact and well equipped kitchen
Open plan kitchen, dining area and lounge
Everything you need in the compact kitchen- Neff induction hob, cooker, dishwasher and microwave
Light and airy downstairs bedroom leading to private patio
En-suite wheelchair accessible wetroom
Grab rails, loo raiser and shower chair available
The ever changing mountain scenery. Here is a view in November
The private garden and patio outside Rose Cottage. BBQ available and shed for bikes.
We keep Castlemilk Moorit rare breed sheep
Our friendly ewes may feed from your hand.
We have chickens, ducks and geese. Here are some of our Bresse Galloise cockerels.
The Ariundle oak woods are a short walk from the door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Strontian, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tartan_ro...
ecosse
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely outstanding house, and a perfect long weekend”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed @ Bluebell Croft as a surprise long weekend to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. Both houses are gorgeous - spacious, well equipped, and spotlessly clean. There were 9 adults and a Great Dane, and there was plenty room for us all, plenty bathrooms, and everything you could possibly wish for in a kitchen to cater for a large group. Chris & Chrissie were perfect hosts and made sure we had everything we needed for a lovely relaxing break. The hot tub is quite simply amazing, lying in it after dark on a clear night was breathtaking, with glorious starscapes as far as the eye could see. It's a really lovely part of the world, with gorgeous walks, stunning scenery & fantastic wildlife (lovely family of otters on Loch Sunnart, we watched them playing about on the rocks at the shore for ages)
We will most definitely be back to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The best hot tub in Britain (? the world ?)
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Bluebell Croft.
We are delighted that you all found the houses a great venue for your celebrations.
To see the otters makes a trip to the Highlands extra special!
Please do come and visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori M
Alexandria, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely brilliant”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed at the Bluebell Croft with 10 friends 21st to 24th November. It is a beautiful house and great location for a peaceful relaxing get away. hot tub as well... bliss! We were met on our arrival shown round the house and given freshly baked bread and scones as well as bottles of wine. Great hospitality, lots of fresh air and our dog was quite happy too. Chris and Chrissie made us feel more than welcome will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.
We are delighted that you had a comfortable and relaxing break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franwella
Moray, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house in a stunning location”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

as a group of four adults, two teens and two under tens it's not always easy to keep us all happy but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bluebell Croft.
Chris and Chrissie welcomed us armed with fresh scones and a welcome pack of homemade bread, coffee and wine. Not expected but much appreciated.
We hired the two houses and were glad that we did as i'm not sure our kids would've wanted to share the hot tub. They were in it within half an hour of arriving and pretty much stayed in it the three days we were there ......... despite the rain and high winds!
The house was spacious and well equipped for a disabled person. This was one of the reasons we chose Bluebell Croft and we weren't disappointed.
We only had one issue (and for most not an issue at all) when the wi-fi went down. Chris soon had this sorted.
This is a lovely house, well looked after, clean and tidy, with everything we wanted in a home from home.
We really do hope to go back and stay some time in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Bluebell Croft we really appreciate it.
We are pleased that the property had something for everyone in your extended family group, and that the hot-tub was enjoyed so much!
There is currently an installation of fibre-optic cables being installed to upgrade the area and this was probably the reason for interruption of service.
We do hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel D
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bluebell Croft”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house was lovely, clean and well equipped. There was plenty space for all of us. The home made bread and scones were delicious. The views are also gorgeous and it's so peaceful and quiet. We had my mother in law with us who is in a wheelchair and unfortunately the drive up to the house was so steep we couldn't walk down it with the wheelchair which meant we had to drive everywhere. The hot tub is also shared between the house and the cottage which we didn't realise but that was our fault as it is mention. We managed to work it out though with the family in the cottage. We would have happily went back but unfortunately the steep drive was a deal breaker.

Visit was for: Leisure
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are happy that you found the property clean and had plenty of space for your needs.
We are always keen to represent the property in a true and representative manner, and as you rightly point out the drive to the property is steep. Whilst this does give fantastic views, the flipside is the climb.
However it is not always necessary to climb the hill as we do have parking at the bottom of the drive so that wheelchair users may access the country lanes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone K
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities, stunning location.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Short break with family and dogs in Honeysuckle Cottage. Chris and Chrissie most welcoming hosts, greeted with warm home baked scones and freshly baked loaf! Property was warm, very clean and extremely comfortable. Everything we needed was there. Great for my elderly mum in wheel chair, wet room a real bonus. Views stunning, peaceful location and hot tub splendid! There are many beautiful and unspoilt places to visit, a walkers paradise. Highly recommend staying here. Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
We are happy that everyone in your family was able to enjoy Bluebell croft and the surrounding area
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethanie...
Fairlie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved everything about our stay at Bluebell Croft!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just returned from a weekend stay the the Bluebell Croft with myself and 10 friends. We travelled from Largs, Ayrshire and we were not dissapointed. This has been the most relaxing and beautiful stays I have ever been on. The views were amazing, the house was stunning with everything we need plus more and the hot tub was a very relaxing addition. We could not thank Chris & Chrissie anymore they were very welcoming and made our visit very enjoyable. We rented the whole house and our guests and I were very impressed with the en-suite off every room. It was spotlessly clean and very well equipped with everything we needed. The wood burner was a beautuful addition and lots of wood to keep it warm. The scones bread and jam that we were given on arrival were lovely and lasted us the whole weekend. We will certainly be back with our families and look forward to meeting with Chris & Chrissie again. Beth & the gang x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2014
We are very happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay at Bluebell Croft and had a relaxing stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent quality and value for money”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Bluebell Croft was very well equipped for large parties with everything we needed (and more) to cater for a party of 11, cooking on site. When joined together, it feels like one large property, with the additional space of two (extra sitting room etc). Chris and Chrissie were very welcoming and let my pre-5 old gather eggs on the croft for breakfast. The hot tub went down a storm with all of us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
We are so happy to hear that you all had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$441
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing