We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent visit to Rothesay”
other travellers have booked this property
Private Entrance to Apartment on left of picture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Entrance to Apartment on left of picture
Blairbank Apartment, private entrance on left of picture Entrance to Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Private Entrance to Apartment on left of picture
Blairbank Apartment, private entrance on left of picture
Entrance to Living Room
Living Room central heating and electric coal-effect fire
Comfy sofas in the Living Room make lounging more relaxing
View over Rothesay Bay from dining table
Linger over meals on comfy chairs whilst appreciating the stunning views across the bay
Groundfloor bathroom
Mezzanine double bedroom
En-suite shower room to mezzanine double bedroom
Ground floor bedroom - twin configuration
Ground floor bedroom - superking configuration
Spring blooms in the private courtyard
Private courtyard with garden furniture and barbeque
Entrance Hall with sea view!
Skipper Woods just above the Apartment - Autumn
Sunset view from the Apartment
Woodland walk from the Apartment to the town centre
Calmac Ferry arriving in Rothesay Bay
Skipper Woods just above the Apartment - Spring
Mid-summer evening Rothesay Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rothesay, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent visit to Rothesay”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is an excellent apartment for a 'break' on the Isle of Bute. It is near everywhere and I would not hesitate to return another time. Great facilities and good heating should it be needed for colder days.
Obviously with the accommodation being on a split level it would be a problem for anyone who had difficulty climbing stairs.
The owners were very pro-active and made us feel very welcome.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for your great review of Rothesay and Blairbank Apartment. We agree that we are ideally located - close enough to the town centre to stroll in to take advantage of all its amenities but far enough away to make on-road parking easy and enjoy uninterrupted views of the bay. I do hope that you return sometime in the future. Best wishes, Viv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonneMada...
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Return Visit”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a return trip for our group of six to Blairbank. After last year we re-booked straight away, and this year was no different. We have been coming for the Bute Highland games for the last four years, and the apartment is perfect for us. It has everything you need, fully equipped kitchen, outside patio (which we made good use of, thanks to the good weather!), and lovely views at the front over the harbour. The owner left us some essentials including a nice bottle of red wine, which was much appreciated. There is also plenty of information in the apartment to guide you towards all the things you could do on Bute. I cannot recommend this place and its owner highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfectly located for Rothesay
Liked least: Cannot think of anything!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
I'm so pleased that you had another good Highland Games. Thank you for your excellent review and complimentary remarks. You do seem to be lucky with the weather - long may it last! Thank you for booking again for next year - I look forward to welcoming you once again. Best wishes, Viv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and outlook
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
Thank you for your splendid review of Blairbank Apartment. I'm so glad that you had a great time and that you found the accommodation so satisfactory. We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future! Best wishes Viv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
McFarlane...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great views, great location.”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We found the apartment to be very homely and comfortable to stay in. The apartment was in a great location close to shops and restaurants.
Everything was clean and well presented. I would happily come back and stay here again, and recommend it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Although there was WiFi available it was hard to access
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2014
Thank you for your complimentary remarks about Blairbank Apartment. We never tire of the fantastic view even after 12 years! The proximity to the town with its restaurants and bars is increasingly important given the reduced alcohol limit for driving recently introduced in Scotland!
Best wishes, Viv Shelley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath_Clar...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic gem on Bute”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked Blairbank as a group of six friends for games weekend. The apartment is gorgeous and a perfect base for a visit to the island. Everything we could require was there and Viv was an excellent host showing us all round the flat and telling us everything we needed to know (there was even a welcome bottle of vino - thank you Viv!) . There is lots of local information in the sitting room - walks, local attractions and even take a way menus. The accommodation is spotless and very modern with all mod cons and lovely courtyard which we all enjoyed sitting out in the sun(with a glass of vino,) and the views over the bay at the front are fantastic. Blairbank is only a ten minute walk (if that into town) so location is perfect. Would I recommend Blairbank- without a doubt, so much so we have already booked up again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay at Blairbank Appartment. It's a real compliment that you booked ahead for next year. Amazingly I had an enquiry last week for the same weekend. It's impossible to predict how far ahead folks want to book so a good thing you got in early!! Best wishes and look forward to seeing you next year, Viv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimfaekp
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very comfortable home from home.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent three nights at Blairbank whilst attending a wedding on the Island.

We found that the apartment had absolutely everything that you would want to ensure that your stay was enjoyable. A spacious living/dining area with a fantastic view over Rothesay Bay and spotless sleeping accommodation. There is an en suite shower room upstairs and a bathroom downstairs with shower attachment. The twin room is cosy and the kitchen is well appointed.

We had a look through the various holiday properties and plumped for Blairbank. A choice which we are more than happy to recommend to other travelers to the island.

We were met by Viv on our arrival and she took the time to show us around and point out all of the different facilities which were available to us.

Were we to return to Rothesay at any time and were looking to rest our heads, then Blairbank would certainly be our first choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position, view and comfort.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Thank you for such a fantastic review of your stay at Blairbank Apartment (the first with pics!) - it makes our efforts so worthwhile. I'm so pleased that you had a great wedding at Mountstuart, that the weather was good, and that the Waverley did a 'sail past' while you were here. We would love to welcome you again in the future if you return to 'beautiful' Bute. Best wishes, Viv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
Renfrew, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family holiday”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 4 nights at this lovely apartment, comfortable and very well equipped. Lovely wee courtyard at the back (if your lucky enough to have the sun shine for you!!!) Stunning view from the lounge/dining area. Viv the owner extremely helpful and friendly, lovely wee welcoming tray and bottle of wine when we arrived....lovely wee touch. Would go back again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2014
Thank you for your complimentary remarks about Blairbank Apartment. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the stunning views. Such a shame that the weather was not as good as it can be to see the island at its best. 4/5 is good but I would be interested to know where we lost a star so that any issues can be addressed!! Best wishes, Viv
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing