We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will be back”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“will be back”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and I gave been visiting Rothesay since we were both children , and holidayed for many years with our children. We remember when this hotel lay empty for some years and were delighted to see it back in business. We had a short break here whilst family were staying elsewhere on the island. The sea view room was spotless with ample towels and toiletries, a bowl of fruit, water and the usal welcome tray. The staff friendly and the good breakfast made even better by the lovely view from the dining room. The hotel is accessed by a rather steep flight of indoor stairs to the reception and public rooms, there is then another one or two flights of stairs to the bedrooms, so if you have walking difficulties be warned as there is no lift. It was a pity cause my mum is wheel chair bound and we would have loved to have taken her for a meal in the wonderful dining room. Unusually for a hotel there was no phone in the room and a sign in reception gave access to the night porter as a mobile number, this might have been a problem in an emergency. My only other silly little niggle is that the piped radio coming through to the main rooms was Chris Evans on radio 1 it might have been nicer and more relevant to have had one of Scottish radio stations playing.

Room Tip: ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    80
    27
    12
    3
See reviews for
40
106
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lanarkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed at the Victoria with my father on a holiday weekend for the Bute Jazz Festival.
The hotel was ideally placed in the middle of the the town , the room was clean and rather nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was also good. the breakfasts were very nice with a good choice of cooked items. Soup and a club sandwich at lunch was very tasty and a size that keeps hunger at bay. Evening meal was nice but not quite sure if it was up to the "fine dining" that the staff described, not a real criticism but not Michelin star worthy either.
As the title suggests the only real problem was no lift with the whole hotel starting up one floor.My father did manage the stairs.slowly, to our room on the third floor but when the manager/owner says "did they put you on the top floor" to him when I had explained that my father was a not very active 82 when I booked did irk a bit.
Nice hotel though and I would recommend it to(almost) anyone visiting Bute

Room Tip: No Lift, don't book if you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuppetBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

had a brilliant 3 nights at the victoria rooms clean and well kept to high standard lovely food and plenty of choice staff all very nice and cant do enough to help always friendly stunning views went to visit mount stuart house it was well worth it locals also friendly

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paisley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The McConnells are just back from another long weekend at the Victoria hotel, our 4th stay. Never dissapoints. Superb sea view room which was bright, clean & very comfortable with an incredible view ! The food matches these high standards starting the day with a fantastic breakfast in lovely surroundings. The owner told us as he had a new chef he would like feedback. He can relax. The evening meals were varied & very tasty. I must mention the friendly staff who can't do enough for you. If you're looking to stay in beautiful Rothesay and get value for money look no further than this gem of a hotel. My wife Janette & I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: a sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Having decided on a whim to visit Mount Stuart another whim led us to look for somewhere to stay overnight on Bute. The TA reviews praised the Victoria Hotel and so I called them at 8am to book for that evening. We got their last room and the receptionist warned us it was a very small double. Well, she was correct about it being small, and being at the back of the hotel it had a lovely view of a couple of roofs and a silver chimney, but it was spotless, had everything we needed and the en-suite bathroom was perfect. The bed was rock hard but amazingly comfortable and there were some really nice touches like the fresh fruit, chocolate and bottled water in the room. There were also loads of pristine white towels in the bathroom, a pretty good shower and a generous selection of complimentary toiletries and accessories.

The staff were excellent and we spent several very pleasant hours in the lounge/bar area upstairs chatting with them and reading the papers provided. The restaurant was busy with a mixture of hotel guests and locals (always a good sign) and everyone was welcomed like an old friend. The restaurant has fantastic views out over the bay and the most comfortable dining chairs imaginable.

But nothing could beat the food itself. It was fantastic. Starters were delicious and our rib-eye steaks were cooked to perfection. The accompanying veg were great, and beautifully presented. The desserts we saw floating past en-route to other tables looked amazing, but I really couldn't comment as we had to wave the white flag after the generous quantities of the main course.

We took time to have a brief stroll along the water front before the comfy, squishy couches of the lounge beckoned once more. Since we felt virtuous at skipping dessert we moved onto the cocktail menu...they were a bit expensive but delicious. Bobby the barman was game to make me a strawberry marguerita and got it pretty much spot on, despite claiming never to have been asked for one before. But I can highly recommned the 'WooWoo' - I had a couple just to make sure they really are that good! We sat long enough to meet the night porter, who ably keeps the bar going once the other staff go off shift.

The only thing that disturbed our sleep was a particularly vociferous seagull who thankfully woke us up in time for breakfast, which was individually cooked to order and every bit as delicious as the previous night's meal.

Rothesay is looking worn out and the shops are clearly suffering as they are in all towns at the moment, but the Victoria Hotel was a real haven of relaxation and comfort. The only downside is that it is upstairs and some guests might find that a bit problematic, but it is well worth the climb! There is no off street parking but plenty of space a little further up the street, and the location could not be more convenient for a wander round Rothesay itself.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front to get the spectacular sea view.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank piglit36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Spent 2 nights at this well maintained, spotlessly clean hotel which offers excellent value for money. I was in heaven sitting gazing at the sea view from our bedroom. We ate in both the restaurant and the bistro and enjoyed a good meal both nights, the chef clearly makes an effort and it pays off. Breakfast was tasty too. Staff were efficient and friendly. If all our hotels in Scotland were run like this our hospitality trade would not get such a bad name!

Rothesay, like lots of our little Scottish seaside towns, has been hit by the economic downturn, but still has charm. It was quiet out of season, but I can imagine it gets pretty lively during holidays :) I really recommend exploring the rest of the island. Cyclists were the only traffic we met as we cruised round the beautiful shore roads and bays at 20 miles an hour, we slipped into "Bute time." The short shore road from Rothesay up to Rhubodach offers knockout views and tranquility. We left the island on the really short ferry crossing from there to Colintraive and took a drive round the shore road at Loch Striven - saw a seal, sea birds and paddled in the loch while marvelling at the truly stunning scenery. Can you tell we liked it?!

Room Tip: You'ev got to go for a sea view if they have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The room was bright and had a great seaview. We were on a special discount, but the room even had a bowl of fruit and all the other provisions, tea, coffee, etc. We could not fault the hotel. The food was good, the staff friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: In the centre of Rothesay and close to Ferry, great if you have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-J372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothesay
1.0 km away
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
The Glenburn Hotel Ltd
#1 of 3 in Rothesay
946 reviews
0.5 km away
Cannon House Hotel
Cannon House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Rothesay
103 reviews
2.2 km away
Chandlers Hotel
Chandlers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ascog
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Colintraive Hotel
Colintraive Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colintraive
320 reviews
1.4 km away
St. Ebba B & B
St. Ebba B & B
#3 of 18 in Rothesay
105 reviews
0.6 km away
Boat House
Boat House
#2 of 18 in Rothesay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Property: The Victoria Hotel
Address: 55 Victoria Street, Rothesay PA20 0AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Isle of Bute > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rothesay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the town of Rothesay on the Isle of Bute, our newly refurbished and modern hotel has wonderful views of the Clyde Coast and overlooks the beautiful Esplanade Gardens. It boasts excellent cuisine and caters for everyone from families to wedding parties. The hotel consists of 20 fully en-suite rooms, each stylishly decorated, with TV and drinks facilities. Enjoy an informal meal in our bistro cafe or an evening in our fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rothesay
The Victoria Hotel Rothesay, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing