We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing idyllic cottage with amazing views.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Montford cottage

From north side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
From north side
South side Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
From north side
South side
Double bedroom
garden gate
sea view
old walled garden
view from bedroom
boat
Bute ferry
Highland cow
Ferry at night
Dunagoil point
Ascog bay
Saltire
Montford cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ascog, Isle of Bute, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elaine C
1 review
“An amazing idyllic cottage with amazing views.”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed here for a long weekend and had the most relaxing time. Cottage is of a high standard as are the views. Will definitely return for another stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thanks Elaine! So glad you enjoyed the cottage for the weekend. Let us know when you want to come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
philbunch...
West Dunbartonshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My 4 grandchildren and I spent a week at this beautiful cottage, it was decorated to a high standard, everything you would need for a relaxing holiday books,board games and binoculars to watch the scenery which was breathtaking! I even found my grandchildren on the beach eating there cereal they had a ball,looking for treasure. We loved it so much we have booked for two weeks next year!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Glad to hear that you had such a lovely holiday, Philomena. We're delighted that you're coming back.
Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfy Cottage with a view!”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

You can't go wrong with booking this beautiful cottage by the sea. I read the reviews, I saw the pictures, and still I was stunned when I finally arrived at Montford Cottage. The cottage itself is decorated beautifully, inspiring a sea side theme that isn't the least bit cliche. But far and away, the most amazing aspect of our stay was the view! Everywhere you look, there was something awe inspiring. The sea changed almost hourly, the incoming, and out going tide changed the shape of the pebble beach dramatically throughout the day. We were even lucky enough to befriend a Swan, who visited us daily. He swam up, sat next to us, and we all enjoyed the scenery together. The animals weren't the only friendly ones around. We also had the pleasure of meeting a few neighbors. Everyone was very nice, and happy to chat and give advice about things to do on the island. The location of Montford cottage is fantastic. Far enough away from the major town to feel like you've really gotten away from the hustle and bustle of busy life, but close enough that running out for some milk wasn't a chore at all. We loved getting to know the house, and all its little secrets. I apologize to the owners for not posting my review sooner. I've been back home for 3 weeks, and am only just now beginning to mentally leave my little white cottage that sits by the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view, and decor of the house
Liked least: The tricky lock on the front door.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kellie H
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We spent 5 nights at Montford Cottage and it was an absolute delight. We saw seals frolicking and were captivated by the ever changing skies, sea and bird life. Utterly relaxing. The cottage is so cosy and comfortable, furnished to a high standard and the views are captivating. We can't wait to come again. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally5379...
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed here for three nights and it is just divine. The cottage is just so beautiful waking up to the sunrise over the sea and hills was just well amazing. The views are stunning and the location ideal so near to Rothesay. The cottage is so well equipt. I just could not fault anything. To get away from the fast pace of life which we live was just great and at this time of year we were lucky with the weather,thoroughly enjoyable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara T
Rothesay, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect Cottage by the sea....”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We found Montford cottage to be perfect and we immediately felt at home. The cottage is warm, well decorated, well equipped and quirky. The views are amazing and walking into the kitchen every morning never failed to take my breath away. Montford is a great location quiet and away from town but on the main bus route to both Rothesay and Mount Stuart and onto Kilchattan Bay. The road in either direction is fairly flat and perfect for cycling and walking. Our daughter was in her element with the cottage being right on the sea front she was able to rock hop and turn over boulders looking for wildlife to her hearts content. Whatever the weather this cottage is a great base for an escape for all ages and if you fancy it an Enid Blyton adventure awaits!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;