We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,428)
Filter reviews
1,428 results
Traveller rating
230
490
338
207
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
490
338
207
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte menu loch view cobbler bed and breakfast course meal saturday night great value for money bit dated plenty of hot water stunning views great weekend food was lovely short break entertainment dbb supplement dogs
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,428 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Arrochar hotel, this weekend. On first impressions the hotel is dated but ok, our room was tiny but clean and adequate. However Saturday morning came and my partner refused to sleep in the bed a second night, it was literally the worst bed we’ve ever slept in, the bed was rock hard and springs could be felt through the mattress! It was like sleeping on cobbles It was just Awful! We asked at reception and the staff were really helpful and moved us to a twin room with much comfier beds.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, and the food was ok.

This isn’t a 5* luxury hotel with all mod cons, it’s a budget hotel, which is adequate and in a stunning location for exploring the Scottish highlands.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hols_2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Very beautiful hotel!
Staff were lovely and welcoming.
The rooms were dated but very comfortable.
The food was lovely in the bar area as we missed the evening meal due to late arrival.
Brekfast was nice and well presented although where we were sitting there was a stale sort of smell so we did not sit for long.
The bar toilets were ok but again had a stale smell about them.
Best part of the stay was definitely the view. All I can say is stunning!
We will return here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank shazzabee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Stayed here with a group, overall for the price we paid the rooms, service and food was acceptable. Dinner menu choice was good and food very well presented. Cooked breakfast was average. James was friendly although when I asked for a drinks order to be taken at the dinner table, his response was "we are not meant to do that!!! Eh, not appropriate service, however all other requests from any of the party were no trouble for him over the next two days. The bar is losing sales due to no gin selection, gin is very much in fashion, therefore the choice of brand and flavours are being lost. The barman although efficient could try and smile and be more chatty.

As frequently mentioned the many areas are in need of refurb, my room at the back had no noise issues due to new double glazed windows. The old wardrobes and doors need replacing, not to mention the 1970 lighting in the lounge/bar area which is rather hideous, this would not cost much to modernise.

Overall met our needs with friendly helpful staff.

Room tip: ask for loch view
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogs3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

I was a bit worried about this hotel after reading some of the reviews but how wrong could it be
We arrived at around 6.30 pm and checked in with ease (15 of us), the hotel receptionist was great and then went quickly in to dinner. The food for all the week we were there was great, well presenred and hot.
I paid to have a loch view room at the front of the hotel, very clean and warm with fresh towels (and there was a rolled up bath mat ready to use) hot shower and the bathroom again very clean.
Breakfast was on the first morning already plated and a bit disappointing, but to be fair there was another coach in the hotel that had left earlier, but other breakfasts from then on was very good with plenty of choice.

The staff here were exceptional, very friendly and could not do enought for you this went for all staff across the board from the chambermaids to reception and bar. James in the restaurant was really funny and all the waiting staff were efficient and friendly.
OK some parts of the hotel need updating, and the rooms at the back of the hotel were noisy due to a very busy road behind the hotel but the views were something else.

Room tip: avoid the rear rooms on the first floor due to the lack of view and road noise, the front rooms are worth the extra.cost
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Destinationscoaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

The staff were all very efficient and friendly. The bar area was very good, as was the food. We ate in the bar as we had a dog with us. Whilst there they had a guitarist two nights, both really good. The bedrooms were a little tired but very clean. We had a room overlooking the loch, I think these rooms are larger than the ones at the back. Value for money, you couldn't fault it. We had one slight problem but when the staff were informed it was sorted immediately. Was a good base to be for touring around Scotland.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiemartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews