We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Old Smiddy cottage Parking at The Old Smiddy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Old Smiddy Cottage over Ballagan burn
Old Smiddy cottage
Parking at The Old Smiddy
Cottage sitting room with black watch tartan carpet
Sitting room
Old Smiddy cottage kitchen
Double bedroom
Double bedroom in cottage
Twin bedroom cottage
Cottage double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin ensuite
Our Donald in Ballagan burn
Ballagan burn
Beautiful stag at local roundabout
Beautiful walk up Loch Lomond National Park
Balloch Castle
Balloch castle
Ben Lomond at Loch Lomond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Balloch, West Dunbartonshire, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jenny796
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The cottage is lovely and a perfect base to explore Loch Lomond and the surrounding areas. The owners were really friendly and welcoming. We had everything we needed and more for a relaxing few days away and our granddaughter loved playing pooh sticks under the cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
Thankyou so much for lovely review glad you enjoyed the cottage was lovely meeting you all many thanks Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sthelensb...
sthelens
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed May 14, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Home from home everything you need is included,Hosts Fiona and David are so welcoming we come twice a year would highly recommend.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2018
It’s always a pleasure to see you both and Thankyou for lovely review kind regards Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda P
Menston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring!”
Reviewed April 16, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed for a week and were very impressed by the amenities in the cottage. Fiona was extremely helpful on arrival and talked us through everything. Fiona and her husband were both on hand if we needed them but weren't intrusive at all. We had a great stay and will definitely book again!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
Thankyou Lynda for lovely review it was lovely meeting you and glad you enjoyed the cottage many thanks Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We stayed over the easter weekend & what a fantastic place to stay, the owners are friendly & welcoming. The accomadation was clean, welsized & you certainly get value for money, we are planning a return visit to scotland next year & will be booking the old smiddy cottage when we do return!! Thanks again fiona see you soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for lovely review it was lovely meeting you and would love to see you again kind regards Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryF2361
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect home away from home”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in the apartment for three nights and it was truly like a home away from home. The apartment was very clean and had everything we required. It's in a great location, just on the edge of balloch so it's fairly peacfull. We spent a day around balloch exploring the loch (and a trip on the boat to luss). There are plenty of places to eat not far from the cottage (it's a five minute walk into the centre of balloch). There's plenty to explore around loch lomond and then to return and just flop like you were at home is amazing. Thanks Fiona and David for providing such a lovely place to stay. When we come back to loch lomond this will definatley be our first stop.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2017
Thankyou so much for that fantastic review was so nice to meet you both and so pleased you liked the Apartment would be great to welcome you both back Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookielad...
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed here for four nights while wanting to go for walks around Loch Lomond and the trossachs. I can't recommend this place enough! It was super clean and it had everything anyone could need. Fiona was lovely and welcoming and so was her husband. The area is quite and peaceful but also only a few minutes from local shops. The co-op is only a 2 minute walk away. Balloch castle and the park around it is also very close you can walk to it. And also very close to the shores and other places of interest. We loved every minute of it, it was nice coming back to a homely cottage at the end of a tiring day walking. The kids also loved it and the box of toys was just what they needed to keep them happy and entertained.
Thank you and we will be back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
What a lovely review thankyou so much and so pleased you enjoyed the cottage and surrounding area. Would be great to see you back anytime thankyou Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneI81
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very near to 'everything'.”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Well fitted kitchen, nice lounge, beds are comfortable, bathrooms are up to date and clean. And most of all: the owners are ery friendly and helpfull.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
It was lovely meeting you and so pleased you enjoyed the cottage thank you very much kind regards Fiona and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing