We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
237
31
8
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
237
31
8
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lodge was spotlessly clean self catering whopper peace and tranquility an hour's drive fantastic week nearby loch games room local area beautiful location local walks easy access surrounding area living room home from home warm welcome cameron
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 283 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Stayed in Kestral on a 2 night stay with family including 2 children. Spotlessly clean and modern and very well equipped, in fact would go as far as to say excellent- if there was anything we needed it was there. beds comfortable and cosy with great living area and kitchen. Amazing scenery and facilities but could possibly do with a play area for children but in saying that would not expect anything over the top in this beautiful setting. I took a variety of outdoor toys for the children but unfortunately due to heavy rain could not use in the garden area but could play for a while on the covered porch and there were a few board games already in the lodge with DVDs and games available free of charge from the site shop. Cant wait to return and hope weather is better so that we can make use of the free equipment available,

Room tip: Kestral is great for up to six people in two twins and a double - washing machine, drier, dishwasher and micro all provided in kitchen.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Beautiful surroundings but I have to question how long it is since the Scottish Tourist Board rated the lodge (Stalker) we were staying in as Four Stars. It was clean and tidy but quite dated looking inside. We were also without showering facilities for the first 2 nights of our 3 night stay as the valve in the mixer tap had been replaced and had resulted in an airlock in the system. We did run baths but the water is very brown (peaty area?) and didn't look at all welcoming. There was also problems with the Sky connection which had recently been upgraded - it keep cutting out and the only resolution we were given was to switch the tv and sky box off for 5 minutes and switch back on again but the problems continued during our short stay. Wi-fi was also a bit hit and miss. The bed was very comfy though.

There's not much in the immediate surrounding area - 2 mile drive to Crianlarich and the facilities there weren't up to much.

Relaxing if you want a break away from it all, but we wouldn't choose to return.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Very beautiful scenery and good host but less activities for the children and the way in and out the area is long and the road was little hard as we are not used to mountain roads... Good for adults and people who want to have relaxing time disconnected from the world as the cellular phone have no signal at all! ... I love the cold weather there it's much colder and fresher than stirling or glascow ( about 2 hours away by car)... Bottom like : good for people planing to stay near highlands not from ones planning to visit areas under

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank em687
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

We have just spent a week in the Ptarmigan Lodge and we couldn't fault the accommodation, cleanliness, facilities and staff. Nothing was too much trouble, especially for the owner, Cameron. The lodge was spotlessly clean throughout and had everything to hand to enable us to have a wonderful, family orientated week and the setting was stunning with spectacular views. We have already recommended this accommodation to others and would love to return one day.........thankyou so much to Cameron and staff.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank julieadams1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2016

We recently visited Portnellan for a big family holiday, 20 of us of all ages - adults and children. It was absolutely perfect. The children ran between the 5 lodges we had hired, free as birds. The amenities were terrific (the children loved the board games and many DVDs to choose from in the evenings), the site peaceful and the views magnificent. The loch with its own canoes and rowing boats gave us a number of very entertaining days out and I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to spend time in this beautiful area.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TP19712016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews