We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 nights”
Review of Winnock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Winnock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great 2 nights”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Went for 2 nights for my birthday, the staff were more than helpful got a great room with a tv in the bathroom, big tv in the bedroom a balcony pillows and bed were soft it was room 82.
When we first went in it had a small damp smell but there was no sign anywhere of it . Wasn't that bad after a few minutes couldn't even smell it.
Breakfast was fine with a great range from cooked full english to fresh fruit ,toast,boiled eggs
There was a coach party in when we were there and we still got great service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 594ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    346
    175
    76
    45
See reviews for
142
517
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stopped here for 1 night 3rd Feb with my husband. We were both pleasantly pleased with our choice. The hotel is situated in a lovely village, traditional inside and well kept. The staff made us very welcome, especially a young lad in the bar. The food was very nice just what we needed especially the chips. Our bedroom was very comfy. I can recommend this Hotel 100%. If your in Drymen stop here. The loch is only a few minutes away, great for walkers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed here on the 5/6 Feb 2012, booking the Murder Mystery night as well.
The hotel really caters for coach parties, and other guests are pushed to one side. The rooms are basic, with apalling beds & pillows - & we were in the new ??? part of this hotel.Only 3 TV channels were available. Very noisy at night up to 3,30am !
Breakfast was of a poor quality.
The murder mystery was a farce !!! - The meal was basic but ok, but the cost of this for the 2 of us, including accommodation for 1 night was £160 -
The food in the bar, where we had to eat the following night was dreadful, we could not eat in either restaurant, as this was full of coach parties.
I would not recommend this hotel, to anyone, unless you are on a coach trip - even then things are very basic.
Sad to leave these comments - but this was a disappointing trip for us all.

Room Tip: Dont think any are good, (our friends room overlooked the kitchen, and they heard bottles been broke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frances3437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I haven't stayed at the Winnock, so can't comment on it as a hotel, but the bar with its roaring fire is a great place for walkers to have a bite to eat after exploring the east side of Loch Lomond. Good pub grub, excellent value and friendly service. Nice place!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Just spent a most enjoyable weekend at the Winnock. Staff very welcoming and helpful. We dined in the bar area , a relaxing atmosphere with excellent food. I can recommend the fish and chips (no joke the chips are the best I've ever tasted!) and my husband had the steak with the pepper sauce which he said was excellent.
We booked a deluxe double room - well worth the extra money. It had it's own small balcony overlooking the rear of the hotel, which would be handy for summer evenings with a bottle of wine and two glasses. The room was very clean and spacious with shower and bath which had it's own TV! - although we didn't use it.
A pity the log fire in reception was out of commission but was told it's up for renovation very soon.
Hope to return in the not to distant future

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie60_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Back yesterday from a 4 night stay, travelled with Edwards Coaches from South Wales, this was the first time we had used them and were very impressed with them. Had a 3 hour delay getting there had sadly been a fatal accident on motorway. We go there tired after a long drive to a lovely meal and welcome. Every day the food just got better and better. Our room was lovely although supposed to be the most haunted room in the hotel (No. 39) we didnt see anything, although a fellow traveller had an "experience" !! The staff were so friendly, efficient and very polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Every day we had 3 choices of courses for evening meal and I did not hear anyone complain. Breakfast was very good too with plenty of choice again. We had good entertainment although missed the first one due to late arrival. On the Saturday night they piped in the Haggis and had Ceidliah evening. I never say I want to go back to a hotel a second time but would certainly go there again. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: We were in 39 which is in the oldest part overlooking the front of the hotel, it was very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan50Swansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have just returned from a two night stay at the winnock hotel. Couldn't fault my stay in anyway. Lovely hotel in a beautiful location. All staff very friendly & welcoming.
Dined in the hotel bar both nights of our stay and it was truly wonderful. Try the steak pie it's a must!!!
Looking forward to a return visit

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lollipops24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drymen
0.3 km away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
13.9 km away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
11.2 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
12.3 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
26.1 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnock Hotel

Property: Winnock Hotel
Address: The Square, Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G63 0BL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Drymen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Drymen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Winnock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winnock Hotel dates back to the late 1700’s and throughout history has always offered lodging to weary travelers passing through by Loch Lomond and the Trossachs areas.Formerly a coaching inn, The Winnock hotel has been lovingly restored and tastefully extended to its present day form. Offering 73 bedrooms, cosy lounges; many with open log fires, a characterful restaurant, function room and public lounge bar, the hotel has many things in common with its historic counterpart with one striking similarity - friendly, welcoming service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Winnock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winnock Hotel Drymen, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing