We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wigwams”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wigwams”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

we arrived late and went to the reception point, keys were left in an outdoor cupboard with directions. Heating had been put on in the wigwam for our arrival, fabby as it was cold and raining upon arrival.
The wigwams are the best we have stayed in, also have the most amenities inside, eg, flat screen TV, kettle, toaster, microwave and fridge with small freezer and heating.
The campers kitchen is a modern building and very clean, with full functioning amenities also theres large sofas around a huge fire.
Portable shower block is clean and tidy.
Small play area for the kids next to the wigwams.
The whole complex is great for relaxing with wonderful views of the loch.

The

Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shazee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    415
    125
    38
    28
See reviews for
593
542
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Booked 2 wigwams in Oct for mums and kids weekend. Advised on booking that we had the last 2 wigwams (Ben Vorlich and the one next door) which were older and not in the woodland setting. Initially disappointed, however on arrival we actually liked location of older wigwams better - better view and grassy area out front for small children to play. Arrived outwith reception hours - keys and all required instructions left in outside dookit as arranged. Have wigwamed before - website for this location could be better - unsure until arrival if we had an outside table, chairs or firepit. Wigwams warm, clean and comfortable. Took £1 coins as instructed - had heating on all weekend and TV sometimes and have yet to feed the meter! Portacabin toilets with shower situated directly behind. Our company appeared to be the only ones using them so no queue for shower. Basic, but we were camping after all. New shower block appears to be under construction which should be fab if the new cookhouse is anything to go by. Cookhouse a fair distance from our wigwams, but right beside woodland wigwams - large box or similar required to transport foodstuffs. Fab facility and good atmosphere when other families with kids are in. Website says to bring own crockery, but expected a few more basic utensils and pots to be available. Great hilarity trying to cut raw vegatables with a spork! Ate out the 2nd night at the boathouse having pre-booked as we were a large party. Fab food and atmosphere. Be warned ~ the hill on the way back after a few wines is definately steeper and very dark - torch required. Agree with other reviews - staff could at least acknowledge you when handing keys back on departure..
All in party agreed if was an excellent chilled out site with probably lots going on in the main season - It may become an annual event for us - partners may even be allowed next time

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Me and my partner stayed in a standard plus teepee called Ben Nevis last week. Well the en-suite stank of faeces and their were hairs in the shower the whole teepee smelt of mould and I had to spray the place constantly, theres a squashed away bunk bed and the uncomfortable sofa bed folds out into the lounge. The tv was on its way out aswell. When we arrived we had a cold greeting with nothing explained to us at all. We were never told upon booking that the restaurant was shut mondays and tuesdays so we had to go hunting for food in the next town. None of the staff seemed interested at all in customer service and weren't friendly at all and when we checked out we were never even asked if we'd enjoyed ourselves. However the camp kitchen and lounge were fantastic and the other lodges looked really cosy. If we go back we'd probably take that option or stay in a wigwam although I may look elsewhere purely because of the customer service. This review shouldn't reflect upon the restaurant as we ate in their the 2nd night and the food and service were second to none, what a fantastic location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed in a wigwam for a girls weekend. It was such a great place to stay.
Yes, at the moment there are only temporary toilet facilities but they are very clean and absolutely fine. The shower was really hot and there's 3 of them so we never had to wait.
We stayed in wigwam Isla - definitely the one with the best view.
I'd definitely come back.

Room Tip: Try to get Wigwam Isla - it has the best view right over the loch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergrobi-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Just back from the annual return to Loch Tay Highland Lodges. Another brilliant weekend spent with friends and partaking in all manner of activities from cycling, walking, trips on the Loch and obviously, good food and service from all of the team. Again we stayed in the immaculately clean lodges that provided a warm and dry haven from the truly awful Scottish weather this weekend!! A new addition to the site is the brilliantly fitted Campers Kitchen, a superb venue to watch the rugby whilst enjoying a full breakfast (and sheltering from the rain!). Thank you to all, a great weekend and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wicko88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Just back from a weekend in Loch Tay, the rest of the country had an October Heatwave and we had rain and mist but despite this had a fantastic weekend. We cycled downhill, went walking and out onto the loch.

There is a new campers kitchen area with a superb kitchen and cosy dining room with giant wooden tables and a log burner surrounded by comfy leather couches... However with so much to do here you will only use these for breakfast or the occasional respite from all the activities..The weather was shocking but the weekend was fantastic

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We stayed in the Mill House for my fathers birthday we needed space so booked the Mill House which has 4 bedrooms. We paid £502 for 3 nights. Don't get me wrong the location is fantastic.. but the i expected more of the Mill house for the price we paid.
On arrival we found at least 6 bulbs missing, mouldy showers, shower head jets blocked ..not clean, stained lamp shades, the fridge never seemed to get cold and we couldnt figure the dial on it as it was missing.
The house is in need of a general upgrade. I liked the idea of my parents being to access their bedroom through there patio doors into our private garden but the key didnt open the doors and we were told nothing could be done until Monday.. the day we were leaving! On our departure day we handed in our keys and weren't even asked if everything had been ok or had we enjoyed our stay.. surely basic level of service??
The plus side.. lovely location, the Boat house restaurant food and staff were excellent!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slackmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
5.7 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
414 reviews
27.8 km away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,526 reviews
13.9 km away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
18.9 km away
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
18.6 km away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Tay Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Tay Highland Lodges

Property: Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Address: Loch Tay Milton Morenish Estate | Milton Morenish Estate, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Tay Highland Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and PitchUp so you can book your Loch Tay Highland Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Tay Highland Hotel Killin
Loch Tay Highland Lodges Killin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing