We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great getaway!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
The walk to the loch
Around the grounds
Views over Loch Tay
Craggantoul entrance
Sunrise over Craggantoul
surrounding scenery
Ben Lawers peak
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel C
1 review
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We were disappointed to find out "The Barn" was apart of a complex. I feel this should be advertised better in the booking process. The barn is attached to another cottage and when in the hot tub you are able to see other cottages gardens/hot tubs. I really didn't enjoy getting watched getting in and out a hot tub by other parties and couples.

The barn was a very beautiful building and the views were amazing, to say the least. The hot tub was mediocre, more like a warm bath - the jets were practically none existent. The property was immaculately furnished however could do with a good clean and dust - we probably left it cleaner than when we arrived. The beds were comfortable and robes gave it a nice touch. Unfortunately, the majority of the dishes and glasses were filthy and we had to hand wash them all before using them. If you are needing internet connection here forget it, the wifi is poor and no mobile service.

Leaving after two night's we were informed by the property owner that we would not receive our "Damage deposit" back because of the volume of noise our party (Four women) made. I felt this was extremely unfair and felt we were under false pretense. The explanation the property manager for not giving us a deposit back had many holes in the story and didn't quite make sense. I feel that our ages were taken advantage of in their decision.

Never the less, we had a fab weekend (Please note you are not allowed to go out for a cigarette past 12 am). I feel if advertised that we were going to be attached and looking on to other properties we wouldn't have booked this accommodation.

I hope the £100 deposit goes to good use for a big bottle of fairy liquid and a sponge.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
This review gives us the opportunity to confirm that we will not tolerate antisocial behaviour in any form towards our staff and other guests who come to our houses at Craggantoul for tranquility and peace. After sending the terms to these guests before they booked and double checking with them that they understood that Craggantoul is not a rowdy place, they specifically confirmed in writing before paying, that our terms would be respected and they understood it was not the venue for raucous gatherings. It was really disappointing therefore that our caretaker had to be called out at 1am to ask them to quieten down and to stop the swearing and shouting following complaints from other cottages in the vicinity. Neighbouring guests continued to be disturbed until past 3am and this is something we cannot tolerate. We have now strengthened our policy on antisocial behaviour as a result to protect our property and guests in the future and we hope we never have an incident again like this.
With regards housekeeping, these guests had the opportunity to speak with us or our staff about any issue with the house when the hot tub was having it’s regular check, but instead we were told what a great property it was with lovely views so it’s a shame that they didn’t think to mention anything at the time as this could have been quickly resolved.
It’s possible the guests were having too much of a good time to take in the geography, but there are no hot tubs or other gardens visible from the Barn apart from its own as we like to ensure as much privacy as possible.
It’s great news that the guests had a fab weekend but it was very much at the expense of the neighbouring guests and our staff who strive to give our customers a peaceful experience when they come to our properties at Craggantoul and we sadly wouldn’t recommend these guests to any future host.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Mar 2018
We are delighted you had a nice time. As promised in our info pack, the hot tub is always treated, up to temperature and ready for use and the only buttons to press on the tub are just for jets on / off or temperature up / down to suit your preference. Please note that we are always there if you have any questions!
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future and are glad you had a nice time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
_babswild...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect escape from city life”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Just back from an amazing weekend with my family at The Barn. Where do I start - such a fabulous spot with beautiful scenery. The Barn itself is so comfortable, extremely clean and very comfortable. Very deep snow which just made it even more magical. The hot tub was an added bonus with clear skies to watch the stars. I would highly recommend to anyone wishing to visit this area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbie B
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“mrs”
Reviewed January 7, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have just returned from a weekend staying at the barn.
What a magnificent time we had.
We very stupidly followed Google maps and found what we we thought was the barn in killin but we couldn't be more wrong. We should have made sure to take the owners advice and follow the directions sent when we booked. These were nice and clear and easy to follow.

When we pulled up outside the property, we were not disappointed. The beautiful house is surrounded by mountains (which were snow covered )and directly overlooks loch tay. This made for some absoutley beautiful photos.
q
There are other properties close by, but this is done on away that makes you feel you have lots of privacy and are not disturbed at all.

The decor within the property was very nice, clean and cosy. The house is roomy but portrays comfort. The log burning fire and the hot tub made our stay.
The master bedroom overlooks the loch and makes for beautiful viewing first thing of a morning.
The beds and bedding were very comfortable and the houses heating system was perfectly timed to make the temp just right.
The kitchen at the house is well stocked with everything you would need to make most dishes (just need to bring the food).
The added touch of a washing machine was very handy. The house is well stocked with books, some games, an Xbox and even some toys in a toy chest. The internet signal was perfect for us.

Overall our stay was 1st class and we really enjoyed it. It made my 40th birthday celebrations extra special. My husband and I visited with our 4 teenage children all who did not want to come home.
The most magical time of the stay for me was witnessing the deer in the morning on the fields behind the property and running on down through the woods next to me.
I want to return soon as I can.
Thank you so much.
The only slight suggestion we could make that may make things a tad more special would be more lights on the porch for late night hot tub dips. Although there is already some lighting out there, it could possibly do with a little bit more to the opposite side of the door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Stayed at The Barn for Christmas, had a really wonderful time and the accommodation is beautiful. Wonderful views of the lock from both the bedroom and hot tub, would defantly recommend This property for a relaxing break/holiday.
The Christmas Tree was such a lovely touch, many thanks.
Would defantly return either to The Barn or any other property's with Craggantoul.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Familytra...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A great little find”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Everything about The Barn was outstanding. Setting, amenities and attention to detail top notch. Cannot praise this getaway from it all retreat enough. Would have no hesitation in returning and already looking forward to our next stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becshek
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous place. If you're looking for peace and tranquillity with a touch of luxury, this is definitely the place for you. Master bedroom is the epitome of peace and tranquillity. However, as a couple sharing the 2nd double, found the bed a bit small but as it's a converted barn, I suppose that is to be expected. The addition of the outdoor hot door adds to a magical stay and this is one place I would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing