We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can,t wait to go back”
Review of Briar Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochearnhead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Briar Cottages
Lanarkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can,t wait to go back”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

From the moment we arrived till the moment we left , Kim & Fraser were there when & if we néeded them , little briars cottage and it,s surrounding,s are breathtaking , our daughter Nicole & her friend Melissa both 10 had the time of there life , fishing ,mini golf , paddling , & to top it all the jacuzzi , we also went to the wild life centre which we all enjoyed and only a short drive away . The cottage it,s self was sooo cozy with excellent views and plenty land for the girl,s and our dog tess to run around ,thank you so much Kim and Fraser from Michelle & Tam Davidson x

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
The girls certainly entered into the spirit of everything and it was a pleasure having them around the grounds with Tess alongside. The local wildlife park, Auchingarrich, is indeed a terrific place for a day visit with so many interesting creatures like prairie dogs and meerkats to spot. My favourite is the hatchery where you can pick up the day old chicks. I also adore the cakes in the tea room! Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break.

Kindest wishes

Kim and Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Amazing panoramic views, fantastic hosts, location was beautiful. Photos of the lodges and the location simply cannot do them justice, you must be there to experience how breathtaking it really is. You will receive the warmest of welcomes from Kim and Fraser who are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. There is so much to do, from fishing in the loch to walking, hunting and of course drinking in the lovely country pubs and chilling in the hot tub with a nice glass of wine! It is the epitome of tranquility and perfect for both a relaxing week or an activity packed one.

If I have one criticism it is of ourselves, we only booked three nights which really was just not enough, it was a teaser session! A week would have been perfect as we didn't have time to go to Loch Lomond and all of the other amazing places around the area.

We are booking up next year, and looking forward to it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KA127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for choosing a short break at Little Briar cottage. Your comments are delightful and what an excellent summary of the opportunity to experience outdoor activities, touring and total relaxation here. Lovely to see you both fishing in the garden and hiring a fishing boat on Loch Earn. The deer stalking season is indeed underway. Hunting may not be for everyone but the incredible roar of our local stags rutting in the surrounding hills and glens is an amazing sound to experience. We look forward to welcoming you both back again when you are ready. The trout fishing season ends next week on October 6th however it starts again on March 15th 2012.

Very best wishes and thanks again.

Kim and Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flitwick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed in Little Briar which was cosy for three adults and a teenager. Its fitted out to a high quality with everything you need. Can't fault it to be honest.
Had a guided tour of Briar Steading which is amazing.
Surroundings are beautiful. Difficult to know where to look first. I like my photography and there are some more pics here. http://s365.photobucket.com/albums/oo91/dpbeds/Scotland/?albumview=slideshow
So easy to get great shots because of the amazing light.
Lochearnhead is quiet and peaceful. Local pub is friendly and, well, its a pub. The hotel has a lovely restaurant. try the venison pie!!
Lots of walking and we especially liked the disused rail line to Killin. Next time we're taking bikes though!!
Kim and Fraser are lovely. Friendly & welcoming. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: 2 adults 2 kids Little Briar is perfect. 3 big people go for Briar Steading
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulPatch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for sharing your families experience of Little Briar Cottage and the off road. old railway walkway from Lochearnhead to Killin which is Sustrans National Cycle Route 7. If you do return with bikes, you might want to try the other direction via Balquhidder, Strathyre and onto Callander. Thank you for sharing your photographs too. I am always keen to see guest photographs. We are lucky to attract so many talented amateurs and a few who could be professional. Hope to welcome you back again some day.

Best wishes

Kim and Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Had a wonderful time, awsome view over the lake, cute lodge, hot tub in the evening, nicest hosts (thanks Kim and Fraser!), fishing output could have been better ... ;-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff6639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Our first review from Frankfurt. Thank you very much for sharing your impression and experience at Little Briar Cottage. It was a pleasure to have you here with your friends launching the fishing boat from our slipway. You may not have beaten the 25lb 10oz record for a trout caught on Loch Earn but at least you have a photograph of you and a freshy caught Scottish trout which I will add to Briar Cottages blog site.

Thank you

Kim and Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2011

It took us 7.5 hours to get to Little Briar but it was worth every second to arrive at such a welcoming place.
From the minute Fraser and Kim welcomed us to the moment they hugged us goodbye we felt nothing but warmth and hospitality here. The weather was good to us but even when it rained it just added to the cosiness of the cottage. We won't hesitate to come back and feel so sad to have left.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you. We admired your energy and sense of adventure, visiting Gleneagles to experience your first golf match and trying out some lovely Scottish food dishes in the Lochearnhead Hotel. We really appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed Little Briar Cottage.

All the best

Kim and Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Kim & Fraser are fab hosts!We stayed on Little Briar for 4 nights, it was superb, great location. Hot tub was great on a cold night. The weather was changable, bright one day, snow one day and it just made it all the better. Plan to return Feb 2012.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breezer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Thank you for thinking of us and offering your feedback on off peak winter short breaks. There are advantages to snow. The mountains look higher, the deer come into the garden and sledging down the hill in the rear garden is a lot of fun. Glad you enjoyed the hot tub. It is a bonus on the cold nights. Hope to welcome you back again.

Many thanks

Kim and Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed for the second time from 23/07, but in the new Briar Steading. Excellent accommodation in the best setting ever with great weather just to sit and admire the views. Kim and Fraser as always the best hosts ever.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Delighted that you enjoyed our new luxury cottage Briar Steading and the space and views that it offers. It was lovely to welcome you back again and to see you taking part in the Lochearnhead Highland Games in the sunshine and entering into the spirit!

Best wishes

Kim and Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
0.3 km away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
172 reviews
9.2 km away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Fillans
896 reviews
9.4 km away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
37.5 km away
Loch Lomond Waterfront
Loch Lomond Waterfront
#1 of 5 in Balmaha
182 reviews
0.1 km away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 6 in Lochearnhead
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Cottages

Property: Briar Cottages
Address: Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lochearnhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 5 OUT OF 5 bubble rating, 2016 AWARD WINNER: We (Kim and Fraser) will welcome you on arrival at Briar Cottages where we offer a spacious luxury holiday cottage for 4 (plus baby) and a charming pet friendly cottage for 4 plus 1 dog or 2 plus 2 pets in the friendly village of Lochearnhead. The cottages and grounds offer outstanding views south over Loch Earn to Glenample and Stuc A Chroin behind Edinample Castle, free trout fishing in season, a petanque piste with boule and cochinette, fun 6 flag lawn putting in the loch garden, a jetty, summerhouse, slipway, #BLiSStrail sculptures, moorings and picnic tables within 3 acre landscaped gardens. Detached and finished in local stone to complement our B listed thatched cottage, both holiday cottages are elevated within the gardens and are 60 metres apart. Briar Steading sleeps 4 in king and twin bedrooms both with en-suite bathrooms (one offering a spacious walk in wet shower room). A travel cot and high chair are available in Briar Steading. Completed in winter 2010, the bedrooms are separated by an open plan lounge for comfort and privacy. Glass windows and doors lead to the patio garden from the lounge and bedrooms enabling plenty of light, stunning views all year round and individual access to and from the patio. The comfortable 26 foot open plan living space includes a wood-burning stove, dining area, and a fully fitted kitchen with integrated appliances. The interior is tastefully decorated in natural and warm hues reflecting the mixed colours within our local stone which can be seen in the waterfall that sits behind the self-catering property. Free WiFi can be accessed in all rooms and on the patio outside. Briar Steading is a pet-free environment, however our dog-friendly cottage Little Briar is charming and cosy with a kitchen dining and lounge area overlooking the loch. The pet friendly cottage sleeps 2-4 in one double and one twin room with a bathroom/shower. Dogs adore the run around space behind the cottage. One couple can bring up to 2 dogs and 4 people may bring one pet. Both cottages are WiFi enabled. Guests can access the Proven's loch garden for free trout fishing in season plus there are moorings, a slipway and jetty, petanque piste (bocce ball), picnic tables and summer house. Pets are welcome to swim if you let them. When you are booked in for 7 nights or more you will be invited to view inside Briar Cottage's lounge, once the old byre or cow shed in our restored b-listed thatched cottage. See a fine example of an original Scots pine cruck framed ceiling. We will be delighted to share stories of past tenants from local clans MacGregor and McLaren. Descendants of these clans often return to the area to see the house and grounds and to take part in the traditional Highland Games in Lochearnhead in July. Briar Cottages offer excellent view points for photography - from the top of the garden near the old Lochearnhead to Comrie railway walkway - to the jetty on Loch Earn. This is a terrific area for outdoor sports, wildlife, touring Scotland and relaxation. There are two hotels just 200m from the garden gates and many more wonderful places to eat and drink within a short drive. I (Kim) am a member of the Federation of Small Businesses, have Association of Self Catering Scotland Quality Assurance grading and am Chair of The Loch Earn Tourism Information group. I will be delighted to assist with any queries. We aim to offer you a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable holiday experience at Briar Cottages and look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Cottages Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing