We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Briar Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$119
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tigh na Crich(Lochearnhead)(Great Value!)
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lochearn House(Lochearnhead)(Great Value!)
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Achray House Hotel(St Fillans)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
US$130
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
112
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch earnamazing hostsbeautiful cottagegreat holidayspent nightsstunning viewscant waitshort breakperfect locationwarm welcomekimfraserfriarsscotlandxxdogdoorstep
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 113 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Amazing panoramic views, fantastic hosts, location was beautiful. Photos of the lodges and the location simply cannot do them justice, you must be there to experience how breathtaking it really is. You will receive the warmest of welcomes from Kim and Fraser who are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. There is so much to do, from fishing in the loch to walking, hunting and of course drinking in the lovely country pubs and chilling in the hot tub with a nice glass of wine! It is the epitome of tranquility and perfect for both a relaxing week or an activity packed one.

If I have one criticism it is of ourselves, we only booked three nights which really was just not enough, it was a teaser session! A week would have been perfect as we didn't have time to go to Loch Lomond and all of the other amazing places around the area.

We are booking up next year, and looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KA127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2011

Thank you for choosing a short break at Little Briar cottage. Your comments are delightful and what an excellent summary of the opportunity to experience outdoor activities, touring and total relaxation here. Lovely to see you both fishing in the garden and hiring a fishing boat on Loch Earn. The deer stalking season is indeed underway. Hunting may not be for everyone but the incredible roar of our local stags rutting in the surrounding hills and glens is an amazing sound to experience. We look forward to welcoming you both back again when you are ready. The trout fishing season ends next week on October 6th however it starts again on March 15th 2012.

Very best wishes and thanks again.

Kim and Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed in Little Briar which was cosy for three adults and a teenager. Its fitted out to a high quality with everything you need. Can't fault it to be honest.
Had a guided tour of Briar Steading which is amazing.
Surroundings are beautiful. Difficult to know where to look first. I like my photography and there are some more pics here. http://s365.photobucket.com/albums/oo91/dpbeds/Scotland/?albumview=slideshow
So easy to get great shots because of the amazing light.
Lochearnhead is quiet and peaceful. Local pub is friendly and, well, its a pub. The hotel has a lovely restaurant. try the venison pie!!
Lots of walking and we especially liked the disused rail line to Killin. Next time we're taking bikes though!!
Kim and Fraser are lovely. Friendly & welcoming. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: 2 adults 2 kids Little Briar is perfect. 3 big people go for Briar Steading
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulPatch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you for sharing your families experience of Little Briar Cottage and the off road. old railway walkway from Lochearnhead to Killin which is Sustrans National Cycle Route 7. If you do return with bikes, you might want to try the other direction via Balquhidder, Strathyre and onto Callander. Thank you for sharing your photographs too. I am always keen to see guest photographs. We are lucky to attract so many talented amateurs and a few who could be professional. Hope to welcome you back again some day.

Best wishes

Kim and Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Had a wonderful time, awsome view over the lake, cute lodge, hot tub in the evening, nicest hosts (thanks Kim and Fraser!), fishing output could have been better ... ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steff6639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Our first review from Frankfurt. Thank you very much for sharing your impression and experience at Little Briar Cottage. It was a pleasure to have you here with your friends launching the fishing boat from our slipway. You may not have beaten the 25lb 10oz record for a trout caught on Loch Earn but at least you have a photograph of you and a freshy caught Scottish trout which I will add to Briar Cottages blog site.

Thank you

Kim and Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2011

It took us 7.5 hours to get to Little Briar but it was worth every second to arrive at such a welcoming place.
From the minute Fraser and Kim welcomed us to the moment they hugged us goodbye we felt nothing but warmth and hospitality here. The weather was good to us but even when it rained it just added to the cosiness of the cottage. We won't hesitate to come back and feel so sad to have left.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Thank you. We admired your energy and sense of adventure, visiting Gleneagles to experience your first golf match and trying out some lovely Scottish food dishes in the Lochearnhead Hotel. We really appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed Little Briar Cottage.

All the best

Kim and Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Kim & Fraser are fab hosts!We stayed on Little Briar for 4 nights, it was superb, great location. Hot tub was great on a cold night. The weather was changable, bright one day, snow one day and it just made it all the better. Plan to return Feb 2012.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breezer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thank you for thinking of us and offering your feedback on off peak winter short breaks. There are advantages to snow. The mountains look higher, the deer come into the garden and sledging down the hill in the rear garden is a lot of fun. Glad you enjoyed the hot tub. It is a bonus on the cold nights. Hope to welcome you back again.

Many thanks

Kim and Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews