We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Freedom of a home but with the luxury of a 5 star...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Strone Luss
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Strone Luss
Large dining room with seating for 12 inside and opens to outdoor dining area Extensive Gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Strone Luss
Large dining room with seating for 12 inside and opens to outdoor dining area
Extensive Gardens
The Strone Luss Loch Lomond Welcome
The Strone Loch Lomond Bathroom 1, Victorian style and en suite to bedroom 1
Loch Lomond national park
The Strone Loch Lomond Entrance
The Strone Holiday Let Loch Lomond
Holiday Cottage Loch Lomond kitchen
Holiday Cottage Loch Lomond master bathroom
The Strone 5 star holiday let
The Strone Twin Room
The Strone Master Bedroom
The Strone En Suite
The Strone King Room
The Strone Lounge
The Strone King Room
The Strone En Suite
The Strone Dining Room
The Strone Kitchen
Lounge
The Strone Twin Bedroom
Exterior
Family Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Luss, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chermac1
Scottish Borders
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Freedom of a home but with the luxury of a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Strone exceeded all expectations. There was nothing that the owners hadn't thought of. The house was very welcoming. On arrival it was cosy with candles burning throughout.
The kitchen is very well equipped with top of the range equipment. I personally loved the delonghi bean to cup coffee machine! The decor throughout is immaculate and very tasteful. The house is situated in the centre of Luss however when you're in the garden it's feels very secluded and in the middle of nowhere. The gardens are mature and well looked after with BBQ's provided also.
I visited with extended family - a group of 9 aged from 6 months to 74 years. There is something for everyone - "The Den" which is a summer house in the garden is filled with toys, there are swings in the garden and a large shed filled with somewhere in the region of 25 bikes of all sizes and styles, a canoe, dinghy, life jackets and cycle helmets. There is also an x-box and sonos sound system.
As my title says we had the freedom of a home but with the luxury a 5 star hotel provides. All the little extras were a lovely touch - the 'Welcome Pack' which consisted of luxury food stuffs, beautiful toiletries, robes, candles throughout, logs for the wood burning stove and a bottle of fizz chilling in the master ensuite! To top it all we had amazing weather for the time of year and were able to have lunch out in the garden one day during our stay. We all loved it and didn't want to leave, so much so we have booked another short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house, great location - just loved it!
Liked least: There is nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Thanks for sending in such a nice review. I noticed you had booked for next year also and look forward to you all coming back.

All the best
Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top class accomodation, wonderfully picturesque village”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very well equipped kitchen fittings and decoration throughout are very good. Travelled with extended family aged from 2 to 60 and there is something for everyone. Huge selection of bikes in the shed and toys in the summer house, ample parking room. Small extras make it even more special. A really good Base for Loch Lomond and surrounding area. I would recommend to anyone.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5* Stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautiful house with everything you could possibly need for a self catering holiday. Very spacious - there was 6 adults & 3 children under five in our group. Plenty garden for the children to play in with toys, and the den which they loved. I think around 25 bikes in the shed, a canoe & a dingy that is all available for you to use during your stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise5...
2 reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What can we say, this holiday home was beautiful, it was exceptional, didn't want to leave, beautifully decorated and a real home from home, we were a family of 7, blown away by the recreational equipment, you don't need to take anything, everything covered. I have to thank Colette and Mike for adding that personal touch for my mum's anniversary, she was very emotional thank you, would definitely return, you will not be disappointed, great weather too, amazing xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
1 review
“Absolutely outstanding accomidation ... 5*+”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This house had everything we could have wished for and more. A very unique house. I was so touched at the thought that went into providing so much for the children to do,the "den" was amazing...hours of fun...lots of garden activity. It did not end there, the owners gave so much thought that they even had baby shampoo!!!!! Which I'd forgotten to pack. Guaranteed whatever self catering you stay in in Scotland you will not find a special place like this! We all felt very welcomed from the moment that we arrived. Very comfortable beds...the house is immaculately clean, lots of linen and if by chance you forget to pack something for the kitchen...they will definitely have it! 9 of us stayed altogether , 6 adults and 3 children . The house is so spacious plenty room. We will be back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the things that were supplied for the kids. Very thoughtful
Liked least: The weather !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndsM0
Strathaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A beautiful home!”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a few nights at The Strone. What a beautiful home with everything you could ask for. It was ideal for a young baby and all our needs were catered for. Ideally located in the middle of Luss and only a short walk to the wonderful scenery of the loch. Highly recommend for young families! We loved it and look forward to another visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like a home away from home!
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james m
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The most amazing holiday rental I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I have hired a great many holiday cottages, cabins, apartments in various places but, undoubtedly, The Strone has been my favourite. It's the sort of place that makes you want to weep when you return to your own home. It's beautifully decorated, unbelievably well equipped and spotlessly clean. A very minor criticism was that the wifi wasn't great everywhere in the house but really that's the only thing I could find any fault with. I'm hoping to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property
Liked least: Wifi signal
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thanks for the kind words and really happy you had a good time. The war with the wifi and the thick walls goes on but we will win in the end.
Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing