We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Port of Menteith, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our first visit to The Stables. It will not be our last.
The owners, Laura and Ronnie and Max the dog, made us feel especially welcome. We cannot find fault with anything, not even the weather.
Basically it was a absolutely fabulous stay. The views are stunning, almost on a par with Ronnie's fresh daily scones !!! The Stables are very comfy and a super place to just relax and unwind, or doing whatever takes your fancy. It is very well located to get to either Stirling, Perth, Glasgow, Edinburgh or anywhere else.
We are already planning our next visit !!!

Cannot recommend highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2017
Dear Steve and Paula thank you for your great review - it was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmama11
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage!”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I meant to write this review straight after I got back from my trip in the Trossachs, but as usual, life got in the way!

This is partly why we loved The Stable so much. My sister and I took a week's break here, allowing me to escape from work and her escape from revising for her uni exams. Set in a beautiful location, with an incredible view across to the lake, it was easy to get to Loch Lomond, Callander, Aberfoyle, and the rest of the Trossachs. Ronnie and Laura also had great recommendations for walks straight from the cottage. Their local knowledge expands beyond walks - we really appreciated their advice, on everything from local shops to the best cycle hire in Callander. The discounts at local restaurants and the spa was great too.

The cottage itself was beautiful, with everything we needed for our stay. The welcome hamper was a lovely touch and Ronnie's homemade scones were delicious. The kitchen was well stocked (and our family business is a cookshop, so we have very high standards!) and the bathroom, living room and bedroom were very clean, with everything we needed.

We can't recommend The Stable enough, it felt like a home away from home. We will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2017
Dear Emma,
Thank you for the great review! It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope we can welcome you back soon.
Best
LAURA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie Loui...
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic break away with stunning views and friendly hosts”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stunning location with views over the lake and what better way to enjoy them than to open the patio doors and lay in bed with a nice brew and Ronnie's homemade scones! Loads of butterflies and birds, somewhere you could just take a breath in nature and recharge.

If relaxing is not top of your agenda though there were loads of things you could do - we ventured out and visited Inchmahome Priory on one of the small islands we'd been looking at for a few days and that was lovely. Also a spa, loads of walks and other tourist sites around - will definately be going back to see and do some more!

The facilities were great - my partner and I love to cook and so was lovely to have a well equipped kitchen to cook in. There is a supermarket a short car drive away and have been told of a great butchers close by too! And of course if you don't fancy cooking then would recommend 'The Lake of Menteith Hotel - the food was delicious and they offer Laura and Ronnie's guests a discount.

Finally, we couldn't have asked for better hosts. Laura and Ronnie were so welcoming and friendly. Thank you for looking after us so well and helping to make our break away so memorable. We will be back for sure!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Dear Amie Louise,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We will look forward to welcoming you back in future. We were delighted that you got engaged while you were with us - there must be something in the air here as in the past 18 months we have had five couples becoming engaged while staying with us! All the best for the future LAURA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
Sani, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very modern, well equipped, comfortable new cottage with stunnning views over Lake Menteith.”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Thank you to Laura and Ronnie who are very welcoming and full of local knowledge as well as excellent hosts providing delicious fresh baked scones each afternoon after we arrived back from our days out.

We enjoyed our stay very much for our first visit to Scotland and will certainly look forward to returning.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Dear Stephen,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in future!
Many thanks
LAURA and RONNIE
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvin C
Poolewe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heavenly Retreat”
Reviewed July 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What can you say? An idyllic cottage in a beautiful setting. Welcome pack and amenities generous and comprehensive. Owners friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area with suggestions that are helpful and made our stay so much better. Lastly the scones - absolute angel food delivered to your doorstep daily. Totally recommend this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Dear Kelvin,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we very much enjoyed meeting you.
Yours Sincerely
LAURA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBerry67
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, chilled out, relaxing weekend”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a great long weekend break at this lovely cosy cottage. We arrived to a warm, friendly welcome from Ronnie, along with freshly baked scones and a welcome basket.
The cottage was immaculate with a very well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed and fantastic views over the lake from the veranda. The freshly baked scones, delivered each morning were a nice extra touch.
Plenty of choice for walks in the area, long or short, whichever your preference.
Free use of the leisure facilities at the Forest Hills hotel were most welcome where we made use of the swimming pool, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi at the end of a day of exploring the surrounding area.
We ate twice at the nearby Lake Hotel as the food was so good, where a discount is available for guests at The Stables.
All in all, a lovely chilled out relaxing weekend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Dear Lynda,
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian L
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A week to remember in Scotland”
Reviewed November 19, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a fantastic week at The Stable. Laura and Ronnie were great hosts and the accommodation was perfect for a couple. Everything possible was provided. Ronnie's daily delivery of fresh scones were much appreciated ( having taken the recipe, "Ronnie's Scottish Scones " are now available here in France ), and also a mention for a new mate Max. Beautiful scenery, perfect weather for November, a great holiday to remember. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2016
Thank you Brian - it was great to meet you and Linda and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted to hear that Ronnie's Scones are now going international!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing