We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
165
326
189
107
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
326
189
107
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews value for money self drive hot water bay tarbet evening entertainment coach driver public areas shearings holiday staff were excellent bit dated saturday night weekend break old building half board squeaky floorboards food was fine fantastic value
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 898 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Arrived after a long journey to be greeted on board the coach by the General Manager Ronnie given details of check in etc pity his pleasant manner didn't continue. On a couple of occasions he was very curt bordering on rude (where was that jovial man who greeted us on the bus ?) I wonder if that is why we didn't get the usual 'we value your opinion leaflet to fill in' at the end of our stay because the only opinion that matters is his. This was my opinion but seemed to be shared by several people on our trip. That aside the other staff were lovely very friendly and attentive. The hotel itself is very nice the public areas tastefully decorated and furnished. The evening meals were tasty well prepared and plenty of choice for any diet if a little on the small size. Breakfast is self service and is very good all appetites and diets catered for.
Our room was clean and tidy a bit small with nowhere other than on top of the wardrobe and under the dressing/tvs table to store suitcases ok for us but maybe not so good for older guests. The bathroom was small but had a good shower the only downside to the room was the very busy road with noisy traffic including big timber wagons hurtling by from very early in the morning.
There was entertainment each evening in the bar/lounge area and bingo on the last night.
We had an enjoyable stay but wouldn't return to The Tarbet hotel and that isn't a reflection on the hotel itself but it is very remote and there is nothing to do apart from the boat trips on Loch Lomond unless you have your own transport or are on a coach as we were. There is a post office which closes at 1pm and a tea room next to the post office also a cafe near the pier. The Slanj is a bar/restaurant which is about a 10 minute walk away but that seems to be it. Being walkers with hills around us I did ask at reception if they had any suggested walks from the hotel but was told no apparently they did have some from the tourist board which were 50p but as they had run out and no more sent there was nothing. Maybe it could be an idea to see if any more could be obtained other hotels we've stayed in always have some kind of printed sheet with walk suggestions for the local area but not here unfortunately.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the busy road
Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Your feedback is important to us and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its unfortunate that you won't return as Tarbet is a beautiful area with buses and trains to major towns and cities on a regular basis. I will pass your comments on to all the relevant departments.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Coach holiday with Shearings. Room was clean and adequate overlooking car park. Ensuite was small and poorly appointed. There was no shelf in shower for toiletries, towel rail was difficult to reach when in shower and heated towel rail was so high up the wall, it was not possible to use more than the bottom two rails. Pillows were flat like pancakes and there was only 4 coat hangers for two of us. The food was of a variable standard, seemed mainly bought in frozen, and the breakfasts were chaotic, plates and dishes in very awkward positions for service. This hotel has supposedly been refurbished but there are still areas which need more attention.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank _ann22price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
Your feedback is important to us and I am disappointed to read that you apparently had some issues during your stay, I am sure that the majority of these issues could have been resolved with a quick word at reception. I will pass your comments on to the relevant departments for follow up.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Coach holiday with Shearing’s paid for upgrade to premium room with a view, room had recently been decorated bathroom was small but adequate, I can’t comment on there standard rooms as never saw them. Breakfast could have been laid out better porridge container in one corner with cereal bowls where people were queuing for it so it was difficult to reach them with milk jugs in front. Meals of an evening I personally thought were of a poor standard Fish Pie with Potato Wedges? some vegetables out of the freezer (baby carrots / green beans) & overcooked (again personal taste)

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Baffins_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
Your feedback is important to us and I am disappointed to read that you experienced some issues with your dining experience during your stay, these comments will be passed on to the relevant departments for follow-up.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Just returned from 5 day stay with shearings. Hotel very nice in great location. Meals very good. Bathroom so small you had to squeeze past door to enter. Our room 219 on second floor overlooked the kitchen roof which had two extractor fans which were on from 7am till 9-30 pm. You could not spend any time in room due to the noise. Service in dining room is either very slow or very fast. Breakfast was chaotic at times.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gnippot60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Your feedback is important to us and we will look into the issues you have raised, we apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and checked in went to our room where we greeted by a foul odour. We went to reception to complain and ask to be moved only to be told by a fairly grumpy man that it was chemicals and we needed an air freshener there was no way we could swap rooms as they were full. The bathroom was very small you couldn't sit on the toilet properly as it was too close to the wall and couldn't stand in front of the mirror to shave as the shower cubicle was in the way. Breakfast was a free for all with long queues and quite often ran out of plates but only brought a handful out when there were far more people in the queue. The WiFi was very poor and could only be picked up in a few areas around reception.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank oddie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie J, General Manager at Bay Tarbet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Your feedback is important to us and this will be passed on to all departments for further action. We apologise for any short fall in service you feel you have received.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews