We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic - location, hospitality, views - amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tarbet House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarbet House B & B
Ranked #7 of 10 Tarbet B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic - location, hospitality, views - amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

My husband and I spent a fabulous two days at Tarbet House. The location, and views were out of this world. Tarbet House was lovely, our room was very spacious, very clean and comfortable. We also had a seperate lounge with TV etc if needed. The bathroom was great too with a fabulous jacuzzi bath plus a huge seperate shower. Paula and George were perfect hosts, making us feel very much at home and very welcome. Breakfast was freshly prepared to order with good variety. Paula recommended a local resturant which served very good food. We will certainly visit again, soon I hope!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elenore1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    8
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
93
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

We enjoyed are stay very much. Paula was so helpfull. Handing us maps and telling us about the area. Booking us a meal in the village. Nothing was to much trouble. The accomadation was excellent. With views that would thrill anybody. The food at breakfast was fantastic! We travelled from Australia and would certainly stay and recommend Tarbet Guest House to all our friends and anyone looking for a home away from home. Thanks Paula best wishes Marylyn and Eddie

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boxerboycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

The quality and service started from the moment we went up the drive to the time we left to go home. We arrived late in the evening and the first thing our host did was check if we had eaten and then booked us a table at our choice of local restaurant prior to checking us in and showing us around. We thought we had booked a room, but you actually get a well equiped suite comprising a sitting room with it's own balcony with a table and chairs, huge bedroom with incredible views of Loch Lomond and a bathroom. The excellent breakfast was served in a dining room with stunning views of the gardens and the Loch. Our room had everything you could need as standard, including an iron and ironing board, bedside alarm clock and even a huge list of DVD's you could borrow if you wanted. The whole place was clean and tidy, parking was no problem and the host was fantastic. I wish I had found this place years ago and I shall not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveB1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

I might have been the best B&B on our trip, but unfortunately for us (based on other reviews) we seemed to arrived after all the other guests had already arrived so we were given their "Garden Room". Well, although the facility were pretty decent: good bed, big TV, a bath and a shower and the room was very clean and our hosts very welcoming, the room could hardly be called "luxury": It was a ground floor room (beneath their dining room while the rest of the rooms seemed to be located above it) with approximately 2 metres high ceiling (I am 190 sm tall so it was easy to tell but hard to even raise a hand..) with a couple of very narrow *not opening* (!) windows and glass door. The room indeed had a view over Loch Lomond but you'd need to enjoy it either via that glass entry door or standing, through those windows (if you are tall enough - the windows are narrow and close to the ceiling). It looked as if somebody simply converted a garage into a living room to accommodate more guests. Nice idea, but we wouldn't want to be those guest if we knew where we were going to sleep.
The main problem with this room was that since we had to close the door and you can't open a window or anything and there were no air conditioner it was very stuffy at night - not very comfortable condition to sleep. I've even tried to open the door in the middle of the night but we didn't feel like sleeping with the door opened right into the garden and the parking lot.. So we had to just cope with it but we felt that it was just unfair: all the rooms in this B&B had the same price so if you are lucky you'll get a good one (the other must have been very nice from what I saw) but if you aren't or you are the last guest - you'll get something which we not only wouldn't ever paid the price we paid but wouldn't even stayed for free. I'm sure there are lots of much nicer places with rooms with opening windows nearby.
It would be fair though to offer this "garden room" for reduced price.
The breakfast was good and our host Paula very friendly but we didn't sleep very well as you can imagine so it didn't taste that good after all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

I would recommend the tarbet,nice rooms,nice breakfast,nice people,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 007770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights for our honeymoon and couldnt be happier with the hotel or with Paula the owner, she is very welcoming and happy to help, even booking our dinner for us at the Duck Bay Marina.
The room was perfect and the views are stunning! we had an absolute ball!!!

Thank you so much Paula, we will be back!

Amanda and Garry Butters

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandabutters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

I had, like many others before me, looked at previous reviews before making my decision to stay at the Tarbet Guest House. The majority had given it high prise indeed so it makes you wonder if these are genuine people writting these reviews! I booked the night specifically here as we had been touring Scotland for the previous 5 nights at various locations but as this was our Wedding Anniversary I wanted to make this something special. I contacted Paula by email after booking to advise her of our impending arrival and would she make arrangements for wine in the room and a cosy meal! We were greeted when we arrived (3.30pm not 4pm) and had a cosy chat in the lounge with another couple who had arrived just before us. The wine was in the room as promised and we had a wonderful meal at the 'Drovers'. It's well worth the 10 miles drive, the food and atmosphere was unforgettable. Anyway the room was terrific, my wife loved the large comfy bed and the breakfast was hearty and served with a smile. Would I recommend? Yes, you'd be mad not to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dazwood64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbet
0.0 km away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.0 km away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.0 km away
Bay Tarbet Hotel
Bay Tarbet Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarbet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
0.0 km away
Fascadail Country Guest House
0.0 km away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarbet House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarbet House B & B

Property: Tarbet House B & B
Address: Tarbet, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G83 7DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Tarbet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarbet House Bed & Breakfast is situated In Scotland's first National Park, has an elevated position high above the village of Tarbet and enjoys spectacular southerly views down Loch Lomond and towards the western side of Ben Lomond. We have three beautiful guest suites, all with en suite bathroom with both bath and separate shower, sitting areas and stunning loch and mountain views. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing