We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, house and facilities- ideal for...”

Review of St Kilda

Welcome to St Kilda In Auchencrow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to St Kilda In Auchencrow
 Dining to seat 12 Spacious kitchen dining room with doors leading on to the patio for outside dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Welcome to St Kilda In Auchencrow
Dining to seat 12
Spacious kitchen dining room with doors leading on to the patio for outside dining
Breakfast Bar
Living room with log burner and French doors leading to large patio with great views.
Master bedroom with dual windows and great views
En-suite bathroom with separate shower and lovely views.
Bedroom 2 twin beds (suitable for wheelchair on ground floor )
Bedroom  4 double room with great views.
Bedroom 5 three single beds good views.
Family room upstairs with Sky TV which makes up the 6th bedroom that sleeps two ( sofa beds)
Family Room down stairs for reading and games
Family Room down stairs leading from the kitchen - dining room making the house very open plan
Utility Room and drying area clothes boots
View from the large patio
Enjoy the vast skies
Table Tennis
Table football
Traditional village pub that you can walk to serving real ales, beer and food.
Greats walks from the house
Local beach a short drive away
Dunbar
Berwick - Upon- Tweed
Eyemouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Eyemouth, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul H
Selsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, house and facilities- ideal for activities on the coast and in the country, and relaxing afterwards.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We had some lovely days out- to St Abbs, walking up near Watch Water Reservoir, and at North Berwick, including a trip out on the catamaran to Bass Rock. Our group included 2 from Melbourne and we all loved the area and thought it'd be worth us going back, probably in spring when the birds are there at Bass Rock.
St Kilda was very good for the 8 of us plus a gentle old labrador- good spaces and facilities; we spent most time in the kitchen/dining area which was great, but lit the fire twice- extremely warm it was too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size, facilities and location.
Liked least: a chair that broke and left an uninjured surprised man on the floor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review and I can see you were out and about a lot. The log burner is lovely at St Kilda and I am glad you had a relaxing time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauracam8...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happy Halloween at St Kilda!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Myself and my friends have just returned from spending Halloween down at St. Kilda cottage for the second year running. Neither myself or any of my friends (aged 23-26) have had any complaints at all regarding the house, the location or the service provided by Mary Clare and Josef (or indeed the lovely staff at The Craw Inn who have now twice applauded our halloween costume efforts on arrival at the pub) :) We've now stayed at St.Kilda twice and we'd more than happily return again next year!! The house itself is beautifully decorated and comfortably sleeps 12. The kitchen is ideal for large parties as, apart from being massive, it has a large cooking area making it easy to cater for large numbers (if you plan to cook). The bedrooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Excellent stay all round and I imagine we will be booking up for Halloween next year :) Thinking about a wee visit in the summer too as the scenery in Auchencrow is stunning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review , I am glad you enjoyed your holiday at St Kilda and we would love to see you all again.......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanette...
herts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fantastic week in a fantastic house”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

just got back from a fabby week spent at st. kilda in Auchencrow. there were 11 of us & the house was so big we didnt get in eachothers way, there was plenty of room for everyone. the house is so fully equipped you dont need to bring anything else other than yourselves. we took 4 cars & there was plenty of parking space. the boys were kept occupied with table tennis while the girls kept occupied with a glass of wine or two in a choice of 2 living rooms. the surrounding scenery is gorgeous & we would definatley reccomend a visit or two to the stunning coastline nearby. i would definatly reccomend st. kilda to anyone & would love to visit again in the not to distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the property, the value for money & the cleanliness
Liked least: if i was being extremly picky, the mattresses were harder than im used to. but it really wasnt a problem
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad you all had a good time, we hope to see you again soon....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theryans4...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous house with amazing views”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our family stayed in this lovely house and had a great time & the huge bonus being we were able to take our dog who also enjoyed all the walking we done. The beach at Coldingham was were nice. We had a lovely meal at Oblo in Eyemounth but our meal at the Crow inn wasn't so good. Mary Clare made booking very easy & was very helpful. The house had every thing you could ever need and was spotlessly clean. We also loved the log burner at night very homely. We would love to visit again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
So pleased your stay at St Kilda, it is important to us that you all have a good time as well as your dogs, it sounds like you had some good days out. Thank you again for coming, we look forward to a return visit. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyF502...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb house perfect for large groups with multiple interests with a warm welcome to dogs being the icing on the cake!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

From start to finish, great customer service/engagement; the house was far more than the pictures show. The little touches (welcome baskets, local tourist guides/maps, washing machine tablets and emergency contacts (which were used when one of the party took ill, ending up in hospital...)) just made this an effortless holiday home.
Great fun watching the local horse chase the cows and our dog when he got to close to the horses fence!
Fabulous walks, stunning scenery, awesome blackberries from which we even made some jam

Only one very minor comment on property needing new washing line

Overall, very impressed and would definately go back & fully recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and options for everyone to be together or have some time out
Liked least: Trying to get the washing line to stay upright
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear every one is well now.We do have fabulous walks, stunning scenery and you made some Auchencrow jam !!!
Thank you for letting us know about the washing line, new one at the house now.Looking forward to your return stay with the dogs....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinymx
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second stay and won't be our last!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Travelled to Maryclare and Josef's home for the second time as a group of couple's for a birthday weekend away. Home was immaculate as before and as before we were left a lovely welcome gift and little soaps on our towels, the extra little touches and thought that has went in to this home is amazing! We had excellent weather and used the back garden to sit outside in the morning.

Walked down to The Craw Inn for our second visit, as a group of 10 and had a lovely meal and drinks afterwards. Staff there were really helpful and remembered us from last time!!

Will 110% be back again, I highly recommend a stay at St Kilda cottage.

Thanks again Mary Clare & Josef!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extra special little touches from Mary-Clare and Josef and the real wood fire!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
It was lovely to welcome you back and it sounds like you all had another great birthday week end. Hope to see you soon.... Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathi D
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful place for a family get-together”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

For us St Kilda meant a fantastic base for a family wedding this summer. Packed to the gunwhales with 12 family members aged from 40 to 1 there was still loads of space for the children to run about. The superb kitchen was the source of many happy evening dinner parties with us all seated round the large dining table. The house is light and spacious with fabulous views from the patio. We did have superb weather for our week and were able to make use of the BBQ but the "games garage" adds yet another dimension especially on greyer days. All this... and just 6 miles from the beach at Coldingham. What a beautiful house this is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
Thank you, your review I am delighted that your family had a good holiday at St Kilda and that you really enjoyed staying in the village.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing