We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot sun, cool drinks and home made cake”
Review of Brambles Cafe

Brambles Cafe
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Dalbeattie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Description: We are a small independent café next to Dalbeattie forest, we serve real coffee, Panini, sandwiches, soup, cakes, teas and more. Full disabled access and parking aswell as a small private carpark, we are also 100% dog friendly.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small independent café next to Dalbeattie forest, we serve real coffee, Panini, sandwiches, soup, cakes, teas and more. Full disabled access and parking aswell as a small private carpark, we are also 100% dog friendly.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

Had the pleasure of visiting before when cycling the dalbeattie woods. Great to be back and sit in the courtyard being entertained by the ducks.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 81 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2017

We had read good reviews in the visitors book at bungalow we were staying in but usually drove past before we realised where it was! On the one wet day we made sure we didn't miss it & my nephew loved seeing the hens strutting about. Two of us had the homemade soup, very tasty, & my partner teamed it with a toastie which he thought was delicious. My nephew's sandwich was made with lovely ham & he soon demolished it, choice for children like him is good. My sister just wanted a scone & jam & said it was the best she had tasted! Staff very welcoming & friendly just sorry we hadn't called in earlier! Don't miss this place like we did at first!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

Stumbled on this little gem when at Dalbeattie mountain bike trails. Accessible from trail car park without going on road. Perfect setting in a lovely garden- you can make eat in or out, decent priced menu and the hot chocolate and scones were wonderful but what made this little place exceptional to us was the friendly service and the fact when it said dog friendly on the door it meant the dog could come into the tearoom wherein he and any other pooches there got spoiled with lots of dog biscuits and attention. We were there late afternoon and got to see the owner's hens and ducks parading down to the yard for the evening. That was really fun to watch! Doesn't open every day and closes at four so check times beforehand.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank mamahen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2017

The café is in a perfect rural location, but you have to look for it. That's well worth doing. We had a delicious lunch in the conservatory-style café. My panini with black pudding, brie and tomato was unusual and really delicious. It also came with a very pretty and generous side salad. I'm told the carrot and ginger soup was very tasty too.
A few hours later, wanting a coffee and being still in the area, we thought we couldn't do better than to return to Brambles. Good to find filter coffee in reasonable-sized cups, and buttery cherry scones to go with it.
Do keep an eye out for Brambles if you're in the area, as it really is worth seeking out.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank G_M_NGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017

Had a lovely coffee and scone here with friends on monday was a lovely day and sat in garden lovely and rural even had ducks waddling about very sweet

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Joan mumsy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jembi2016, Manager at Brambles Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Thank you for your feedback, hopefully see you again sometime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brambles Cafe also viewed

Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
Dalbeattie, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Brambles Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing