We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
229
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
229
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub swimming pool loch ryan gym equipment first class the owner spa bath on arrival real bonus beautiful property fantastic place packed breakfast long drive lovely view her husband sea front stayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 229 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2016

There is nothing negative to say about our stay at this beautiful, welcoming hotel. Fiona is a brilliant host very thoughtful with even buying in non herby sausages. It's the best place to arrive and the hardest place to leave. Booked in again for July can't come quick enough.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2016

My review for Thornbank House is long overdue. Having stayed a number of times now, I can honestly say that it's the best place we've found for total relaxation and getting away from it all. My 7 year old son loves it - every day he asks "when can we go back to Stranraer"! He's even offered to pay next time!

Fiona is a warm and welcoming host and will accommodate all your needs, she's just really lovely - and does a mean fry-up!

The accommodation itself it really high spec, the rooms are beautifully decorated, comfy and warm and to top it all the views are amazing.

The pool speaks for itself, 9 times out of 10 you'll have sole use of the pool/sauna/jacuzzi.

You'll be hard pushed to find another place like it - if there is, let me know!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2016

What a wonderful place to stay - Fiona was so welcoming and friendly, and the room and bathroom were both fantastic. The views over the bay were worth the long drive down. Breakfast was amazing - and the hot tub, pool, and sauna were a great bonus!

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Emilie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2016 via mobile

This is the most friendliest and nicest hotel I have been to, great hosts and a lot to do. The hot tub is superb as for the pool and sauna. Breakfast was beautiful as for the views of the sea also great big tv with all channels. Had a brilliant time. Will be back very soon.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ConorMcEwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2016 via mobile

Fiona and Jim run the best accommodation in Scotland. Thornbank is lush! The decor, garden, beds, bedding, ensuites, fluffy towels, robes, slippers, Swimming Pool with Slide, Hot Tub, Gym Equipment and Sauna. According to the missus, there's a bunch of healthy options for breakfast, but I prefer Fiona's mean fry up. It's so exclusive, there are only 3 room each with their own feature bathroom. This is THE place to stay. I predict a 'Four in a bed' winner here, especially as Fiona and Jim are the type of hosts that Five Star Hotels can only dream of.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank pov99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews