We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
5
0
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
0
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great weeks break, lovely welcoming people with great accommodation. Some stunning views in a great location with the best of the hills and the coast, its just a real shame about the weather but what did we expect this year !!! Value for money with loads to do in the local area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johhners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at Borrowmoss Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Wonderful...feedback always appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed in Teal, the central one of the three cottages. It had two bedrooms each with twin beds, one more spacious than the other, an an open plan living room (with dining table) and kitchen, and one bathroom with a bath and shower.

Decoration is old-fashioned - circa early 1980s I'd say - but the cottage was clean and tidy and in good repair. On initial entry, there was slight smell of dampness (We were visiting in October) but as the cottage heated up and the kitchen was used, this did disappear, helped by the purchase and use of a scented candle.

The kitchen is equipped with a microwave that also operates as a grill and oven, an electric hob, kettle, toaster and fridge. There are good quality pans, and a large cafetiere, a metal teapot, a corkscrew / bottle opener, two sharpish knives and a breadknife (which worked!) along with the usual crockery, glasses, mugs and cutlery etc.

It has a digital TV (with Freeview including the radio channels) and a DVD player, which I found worked better when the TV was lifted off it!

The cottage is within easy walking distance of Wigtown - 15 to 20 minutes - which is exceptionally handy if you want to eat there instead of cooking.

The owner was on-hand, pleasant and happy to help with enquiries.

An excellent budget option!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elljay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at Borrowmoss Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Feedback is always appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I always feel terrible about writing negative reviews, so I will start with the positive. I stayed in the Teal cottage for nights during the recent book festival. We knew it was a mile out of town which was fine as it was lovely to be in the countryside. The outside looked quite nice and there was a garden area to sit out and admire the views. However, the minute the door was opened, I was overpowered by the damp smell. When we opened the cupboards to get a glass, the smell was even worse. We had to go and buy air freshener and scented candles. The bedrooms and bathroom didn't smell fortunately. The decor was pretty dated, but it was really cheap and we knew from the no photos on the website that it wouldn't look great, but you get what you pay for. I just want other guests to be aware before they arrive. I wouldn't recommend this place. It was ok for a group of friends as we weren't in the cottage that much, but if I was there for a romantic break, I wouldn't have stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank MarianneGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at Borrowmoss Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We always welcome and appreciate constructive and positive feedback and since this review was written the damp issue that was caused by poor gutter maintenance and then low level water ingress has been properly repaired and the damp issues resolved.

Additionally the cottages have been repainted throughout and new kitchen fronts installed to bring the installations more up to date. Also in keeping with this accommodation refresh and the comments on the dated interiors we have also replaced much of the furniture, bedding, beds and decorative aspects of the properties.

We always take the feedback of our clients seriously and will always take actions to rectify issues immediately. We wish all our past and future guests a happy stay and continue to hope that we operate a quality and cost effective enjoyable environment for families and individuals alike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed here with our one year old for a weeks break. The cottage was lovely and quite well equiped, although it would have been good to have a washing machine in the cottage, there was one available on site.

The views from the cottage were beautiful, with farm land surrounding us, and the garden which the cottage was set in was very well maintained and secure for our little girl to play in.

It was only a short 15 min walk into the village of Wigtown, where there was a few cafes and pubs to eat in. We would reccomend ' The Readinglasses', a combined bookshop and really good cafe and The Ploughman Pub, which served a surprisingly good and cheap Sunday lunch. The Creaking Bookshop also sells frozen home cooked meals to heat and eat at home, which were very tasty and good value.

There is also a little market in the village square on Saturday mornings which was good to have browse around.

All in all- a lovely location and homely comfortable cottages.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, Owner at Borrowmoss Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2018

Feedback always appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews