We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stables Cottage Review”
other travellers have booked this property
Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wigtown, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
eliane834
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cottage not as expected on arrival as per photograph.”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

On arrival, we were disappointed to see that we were located in a cottage not mentioned in the brochure. It was tucked in a corner with no garden like the other cottages which all had a patio area with views of the field. (the view of the field was what appealed to us the most when we booked) The cottage had quite a lot of cobwebbs. There were some crumbs under the bed in main bedroom. In general, it could have been cleaner. The main issue for us was there was a very strong musty smell in the bedroom (which bothered me as I suffer from asthma). On closer look we noticed some black mould near the wardrobe in the corner. We only had a small window which didn't fully open. Because the window opened on a yard there was weeds growing along the wall over the window which restricted the airflow in the room. Sleeping in that room all week was not pleasant to say the least. We couldn't ask for another cottage as the others were used. The bathroom was great with plenty of hot water. Also the heating system was very good as nights were cool. The owners were very nice too but we feel we paid a lot of money for a cottage that had a damp issue (yes its a farm but this cottage is not ideal for people with respiratory problems!) We expected to have a cottage as per photo but unfortunately they were booked. On the whole this cottage called the Garden cottage is not a place we would recommend to anyone. Also the surroundings of the cottages is rundown and not attractive as the advert shows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of area
Liked least: Cottage not as expected when first booked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieron76
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stables Cottage Review”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in the Stables Cottage for 1 week in July. It is one of 5 cottages with a patio area which looks directly over a large grassy play area so perfect for keeping an eye on the kids. The owners were great and always on hand to offer advice on the area and answer any questions. Inside we had everything you would need for a family although rooms are smallish so a week was an ideal duration for us before we started to feel a bit cramped. Pool was great although to be honest there is so much to do in the area we spent very little time in it.

The location is perfect for visiting all that the area has to offer with loads to do for families and we would definitely recommend both the cottages and the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield yorkshire
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kerrylouh...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place, lovely people, beautiful part of the world, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Set on a beautiful, secluded, small farm, the location is absolutely stunning and the views are breathtaking. The cottage is lovely, cosy yet with all modern amenities, a four poster bed and wood burning stove. The indoor pool was a huge hit and used every day, as was the games barn with basketball hoop and pool table, among other equipment, all free to use. The owners couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, felt completely welcomed and at home, can't wait to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$72
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing