We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's all the animals?”
Review of Memphis Zoo

Memphis Zoo
Ranked #4 of 153 things to do in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YaYa, a female Giant Panda that calls the Memphis Zoo home, enjoys a sunny day.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where's all the animals?”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Went on a Sunday and it took over 20 minutes just to find parking. It was packed, but once in the zoo it was ok. Food lines way too long too. A lot of the animals were not there. Felt a little ripped off. Would not visit again.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank go4itgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,008
    599
    129
    24
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great exploration”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Its been a little while since I last visited the Memphis Zoo, but every time I have gone the zoo facilities and animal enclosures only get better. The polar bear, the panda, noctural animals, the merkats all great, all entertaining.

Helpful?
1 Thank ExporterUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, Calif.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent Zoo, Great Facilities, Nice Exhibit Space”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We were in Memphis for a family event and with a few hours to ourselves, we decided to go to the zoo. It's centrally located near downtown Memphis, close to everything.

This isn't a huge zoo but it's a very well laid out, with extremely beautiful exhibit space and makes you feel like you're not in a zoo. For a smaller facility there is an outstanding selection of animals from the Panda's who live in a spectacular palace, Grizzly bears (gorgeous & huge enclosure), black bears, polar bears, white rhino, lions, african elephants, Giraffes, Hippos, Zebras, lots of primates, tons of birds, a very cool display of nocturnal animals and much more.

It took us about 3 hours to do most of the zoo, while we spent time at the better exhibits, we passed by a few and leave at least 4-5 hours to see everything with small kids. We didn't eat there so I can't comment on the food.

The great part of this zoo is they feed certain animals like the polar and grizzly bears, giraffes, lions and other animals. If you're there during a feeding time, make sure not to miss the grizzly feeding and get a spot along the glass early. You'll watch the bears eating 2 feet away from you and it was the best 15 minutes we spent in the park.

The zoo also features a tram that for $2 will take you around the park all day. There's also a very cool train but it wasn't running when we were there. They also have a huge covered outdoor eating area with ceiling fans and if you're looking to host a birthday party, it's a great place.

This zoo also has a great affiliate program where if you're a member of a major zoo, you'll get 50% off admissions and 10% off at the gift & food shops. Everything can be seen on their website, it's a wonderful place for everyone to walk at your own pace.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Spacecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byhalia, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great family outing”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Memphis Zoo is one of the best zoos you will ever visit..It Is a little pricy but well worth the price.
My favorite is the show with the seals. If you are in the Memphis area this is a great family outing.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great smaller zoo with lots of animals”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We made a stop through Memphis on our way to visit Mississippi because the Memphis Zoo was hosting a dinosaur exhibit and we happen to live with the world's youngest and most avid paleontologist! We managed to see the dino exhibit, eat lunch, and see most of the zoo in a three hour time period. The spring weather had most of the animals out and about which was fun to see! We managed to catch a polar bear feeding - very cool as you can watch this through glass and we also were able to catch a panda feeding and get some great pictures.

This zoo is not as big as the STL Zoo, and there is a charge to get in (Adults $15 each and children $10), but it was a great stop on our trip!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1liltoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memphis Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Memphis Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing