We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Extremely Disappointing Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Memphis
Dallas
2 reviews
“Extremely Disappointing Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I reserved my wedding room block at this property in May and it was chaotic, unorganized and extremely disappointing to say the least. The customer service and attention to detail from the sales manager, Tameka Foley, was far worse than anything I have ever experienced in my life. As a bride, you would prefer not to be treated as an after thought, however, at this hotel do not expect to feel like a valued guest. On a few occasions, I was promised things that I did not receive and was not given any response other than unacceptable excuses. This property's management as a whole (this includes the General Manager) was not proactive at all when I was in need of assistance or compensation. It was very unfortunate that this was where I had (some of) my guests stay. Word to the wise: there are too many hotels in downtown Memphis to waste your time dealing with a property and staff like this.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrowneDOS, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you for your review of the wedding block that you booked at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. I am sorry that you feel this way about your experience with our Management Team. Our Sales Manager followed up with you after your group stayed here and you were happy with everyone’s stay and your experience. Our Management Team has communicated promptly and professionally throughout your group booking. We welcome the opportunity to discuss this further should have questions or concerns. Hotel direct: 901-525-1800.

Kind Regards,

Director of Sales
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    338
    287
    117
    79
See reviews for
223
387
44
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We booked this hotel for an amazing price on a name your own price website. The photos make this hotel look much nicer than it is. The neighborhood was a bit intimidating... But the service was very good! The rooms were nice and clean. Plus they had Bath & Bodyworks toiletries, which I love. It says this hotel is a 3 and a half stars.. I would say 3 at the most. Parking per night was $15! Valet was $18? FREE WIFI

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmn10299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midvale, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

We had an absolutely dynamite stay at this hotel. The staff including the 2 shuttle van drivers were great; everybody was friendly and accomodating. Other than a problem with our A/C the first night (we were moved to another room and given a free breakfast) everything went great. The meals in the restaurant were a little pricey as were the drinks, but otherwise not too bad.

Room Tip: Should you make reservations on line, I'd suggest you follow up with a direct call to THIS Crown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Customs_MP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week just before the Brake Street Festival. We were tentative as it didn't have great reviews. We emailed ahead to ask for a quiet room, we were given a room on the 7th floor, room was clean, decor was a little tired but the beds were very comfortable .It was a great base for our weeks holiday .Staff very friendly and did as much for us as they could. In all a very good hotel if a little tired in the decor.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spjz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

i just got walked in to this place thinking that this will only be for one night so go in and sleep get up and go but when i got into the room the room looked clean from far but as i turned on lights i seen that there were a little things that just made me think twice about staying there because i seen a very light make up stains on their supposedly white blanket and looked liked it wasn't even changed or something then there were hair in corner of bathroom. The people that worked in this hotel were nice but the rooms were not well cleaned to me and i even woke up with a big red spot on my body that ended up being a bite of some kind of a bug i believe.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrskerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear mrskerns,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Memphis hotels

Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

First off, I don't get why people complain about parking. $15 a day in a secured parking lot in Downtown Memphis TN is fantastic. There were also complaints about noise. We live in the rural world and slept so nice here. There were also complaints about the age of the building. It was beautiful and the only age issue was having to hold down the handle when you flushed. Not bad at all considering is is a downtown hotel which usually means an older hotel. The trolley was right there, they have a shuttle, it is very clean and the workers are super nice. I wish the pool stayed open later because after being outside in the 90's in massive crowds, that would have been perfect. I booked through hotels.com but when I checked in, I asked for a fridge in my room and they moved us to a room with a fridge. When self parking was full, they let us park in the valet parking. A porter was always there asking if you need assistance and security was present. My husband and I plan another stay for next years BSMF. Thank you Crowne Plaza. Our stay was better than the other downtown hotels we stayed at that were way closer to the festival. You will be seeing us again.

Room Tip: if you are worried about noise, just request to be on the other side of the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel May 1st - May 5th, 2012, for a business trip. The staff was friendly and helpful from the moment we walked into the lobby. Rooms were clean and fresh. The River City Cafe restaurant downstairs was awesome, too. Excellent, friendly service, and great food. Really good breakfast buffet and great catfish dinner. I really cannot say enough about my experience. I had wanted to stay at the Marriott across the street but they were full. I had read some bad review on the Crowne Plaza, but since it was close, I booked it. Boy am I glad I did! The Marriott is a very classy hotel, but I am positive no other hotel in town could have made my experience any better. Thank you staff of Crowne Plaza and River City Cafe!!!!!

Linda S.

Room Tip: I had a room with a king size bed - sheets were clean and fresh and pillows were soft. I didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 137 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sleep Inn at Court Square
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 137 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Address: 300 North Second Street, Memphis, TN 38105 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historical Memphis traditions at the fully renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. Fresh from a multi- million dollar renovation, no detail has been overlooked. Our hotel is within minutes of famed Barbeque and Blues. Perfectly situated between the Memphis Cook Convention Center and Beale Street, the newly renovated Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown is the ideal location for those in town for business and pleasure. A wonderful compliment to the Memphis city vibe, the updated features bring the excitement of the street right into the lobby of our hotel. Every detail about this distinct hotel has you in mind. Spacious, modern guest rooms with unbeatable views of the Memphis skyline, or St. Jude's Campus and Bass Pro Shop at the famed Pyramid. Our rooms offer efficient, user friendly workspace, free Wi-Fi, as well as refrigerators and in-room safes. A top of the line, exercise facility equipped to meet the most demanding personal workout regimen. Enjoy socializing with colleagues and friends in a newly designed public area that provides quiet seclusion or a multitude of entertainment options to suit every wish, including the newly added Blues Patio fully equipped with cooling mist and fans. Enjoy a bite or a libation in our famous Notes and Provisions. Be sure to say hello to the local mixologist! Don't forget to visit the in-house St. Jude's art gallery and see how miracles happen. As a partner with St. Jude's Research Hospital we have the distinct privilege of supporting them and the pleasure of witnessing the difference it makes. Now you can as well. "Success has nothing to do with what you gain in life or accomplish for yourself. It's what you do for others." - St. Jude Founder Danny Thomas Whatever the reason is for your visit, you'll experience a new and better way of hospitality at the Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Memphis
Memphis Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing