We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
187
195
81
27
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
195
81
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelclose to downtownoverton squarebeale streetuber ridewaffleswould stay here againthe breakfast areashort drivecomfortable roomslarge roomdesk clerkfelt safedowntown memphisbwtrolleycereal
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 508 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2017

I would not stay here again. 1. Safety of area 2. Check-in staff did not get out of her chair until she had to walk to the printer for forms I had to sign; not friendly at all 3. Sink and vanity counter are not in "bath" room. Weird. 4. Bathroom is tiny. Door clears toilet by about 1/2 inch. 5. Bathroom is so poorly lit it seemed like a very dim night-light, and the "Kermit-the-frog" paint color makes room seem smaller and darker. 6. Shower curtain rod was nearly pulled from wall on both sides, so curtain would only stay in middle section. Water pooled on wall, toilet and floor at front of tub. I put a piece of duct tape on the front to hold it in place for my son and left it there so maybe the staff would notice something was wrong! 7. Window curtains fly up and out when ventilation unit runs - all the time. They are so short, it is hard to find enough things to push against them to try to keep them against the window. 8. Bright notes: breakfast is great and the breakfast staff is great and the room was reasonably clean.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 832jennyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda S, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Gen X Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Thank you traveler for the reply to our service standard survey, we truly value your thoughts and am working tirelessly to make the necessary changes. Thanks again for your continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017

This clean and modern hotel is conveniently located for visitors wishing to experience the rich musical nightlife of Memphis without having to put up with staying downtown. As one would expect from a Best Western property the staff was friendly and helpful, the facilities were clean and the furnishings were up to date. This hotel will definitely get a return visit the next time we can make it to Memphis.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda S, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Gen X Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Thank you Marshall family we truly value you as do every guest and appreciate the feedback please continue to spread the word on Diamond in the Rough.

Happy Trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Located just off the I-240, 10 minutes from downtown Memphis and this smaller, quiet hotel was the best option for us - easy in, easy out, 2 elevators, never crowded, parking close to front door, good breakfast that was always tended closely and cleanly by wait person. Coffee container went empty for me, an immediate replacement was literally right there. Very pleasant experience for us 2 older adults. Restaurants nearby, and, a Starbucks before leaving the city.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank STEVEW4732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda S, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Gen X Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Hello favorite guest, thank you for the great review we value you as we do each and every one of our super friendly guest. Thank you all for the patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Room was large with plenty of storage and a very large bed, air conditioning was really good,the room was cleaned with someone in everyday,shower was good and hot with a change of towels every day. Linda on the desk was absolutely brilliant arranging transport for us etc nothing to much bother. Breakfast could be better. I would recommend this place only 4 because of the breakfast

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 123weekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda S, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Gen X Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2017

Thanks you happy guest for that awesome review, I am sure our staff appreciates the acknowledgement, Our constant goal is to provide the best service and product in the area. Looking forward to your next visit, thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

Nice clean quiet hotel we had little trouble finding it but very nice stay no loud noises even with being by the elevator. Friendly staff shower head good height for my tall husband. Was worried about train noises but never heard them during the night

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda S, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Gen X Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you traveler, We truly appreciate the time you have given to reply to our review, we look forward to your future travels to memphis, thanks for the support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews