We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Inn of Harbor Town
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My wife and I did a Staycation at this hotel for our anniversary. We live in the Memphis suburbs. We had a outstanding experience. The service at the hotel and the restaurant, Paulette's, was excellent. We had a Deluxe Room. It was spacious and elegant. The hotel is located on Mudd Island. Mudd Island has a suburban feel but is located in the heart of Downtown Memphis. It is only minutes from restaurants, shops and Beale St. My family and I have stayed at most of the popular hotels in Memphis including the Peabody, the Madison and the Westin. This is by far the best upscale hotel in Memphis, with the Madison being second. I highly recommend this hotel.

The only small negatives were the parking and the Hotel Service Fee that was added to the bill. The parking is on the street but unless there is an event going on, it should not be a problem. The area is relativelly safe. Unfortunately there was a small festival going on at the time we checked-in so we had to drive around for about 10 minutes to find a spot. The Hotel Service Fee was $9/nite (I believe). I hate it when hotels don't include all the costs in the published rate, then you see fees tacked on your bill when you check out. I'm sure the fee is explained somewhere in the fine print....which I likely did not read. With that said, the hotel is a very good value for the price.

Great hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbc110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

830 - 836 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Spacious room with view of the Mississippi River. Nice breakfast was included. The one negative is that we arrived late and there was no bellman to help with the excessive amount of luggage we had. We were told bellman goes off duty at 7 pm. Would probably stay at the Peabody next time.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank lbrown2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I live in Memphis, but we wanted a romantic getaway for our 7th anniversary. We spent one night at the River Inn and it was fabulous. The rooms are spacious, elegant, clean, and quiet. The service was excellent. We ate at Paulette's for dinner and enjoyed the gourmet breakfast at Paulette's the following morning which is complimentary. I have stayed at most of the nicer hotels in Memphis, and this, by far, was the best experience I have had. I would highly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imanigermantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

It's hard to say what is the best thing about this lovely hotel because the rooms are wonderful, the location is gorgeous and the included breakfast is hot and delicious. It's so nice to have a breakfast included that is actually in a restaurant where you order from a menu instead of an unappealing buffet. You can read a complete review of this hotel on my travel blog here: http://www.wanderlustwonder.com/2012/02/10/river-inn-at-harbor-town-in-memphis-tennessee/

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kentuckygal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The River Inn is in a superb location right besides the mighty Mississippi. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast terrific. While I had some booking issues, the staff went out of their way to try and rectify the problem. Highly recommended, particularly as you are only 10 minutes by cab from Beale Street

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

It's really the staff that makes this boutique hotel shine. For years, the Peabody has held a lock on the THE hotel in Memphis but the River Inn has it's own vibe of luxury. The lobby is great, the rooms are great, the restaurants are great, the views of the Misssissippi are great, the neighborhood is fantastic ( great little grocery store down the block), but it's really the staff and management's attitude that really did it for me.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dannymangold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here in March 2012. The staff was great. Easy check in. The room was great. Had corner room with nice view of the River. Had 1 of 3 windows that opened. The people above us had children that were rather loud and one conversation with the front desk and they were able to keep them under control. The front desk was helpful with reservations and obtaining cabs. The breakfast each morning was wonderful (included in room rate). Free parking and wireless internet. Able to walk to downtown trolly (have to walk over bridge).

Room Tip: High corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkherold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Memphis hotels
2.1 km away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,329 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.8 km away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Big Cypress Lodge
Big Cypress Lodge
#3 of 138 in Memphis
411 reviews
2.5 km away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
12.8 km away
The Guest House at Graceland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn of Harbor Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn of Harbor Town

Address: 50 Harbor Town Sq, Memphis, TN 38103-8918
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Memphis
#4 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $295 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Inn of Harbor Town 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique Hotel with European ambiance and Southern hospitality located I Harbor Town on a peninsula on the Mississippi River in downtown Memphis. 2 miles from Beal Street, FedEx Forum and Orpheum Theater, half mile from St. Jude Children Hospital. most room/suites are overlooking the Mississippi River, the hotel is offering 3 restaurants/bars, Paulette's (fine dining), Tug's Casual Grill and the Terrace offering small plates and hand crafted cocktails with having the best view in town of the Mississippi River, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your River Inn of Harbor Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Inn Of Harbor Town Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Memphis
River Hotel Of Harbor Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing