We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
447
83
30
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
83
30
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bass pro shop observation deck uncle bucks balcony overlooking rocking chairs fish bowl lookout restaurant welcome basket electric fireplace screened in porch mississippi mud interior room complimentary snacks jetted tub elevator ride sales floor johnny morris
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 606 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

This is by far the most unique hotel stay my fiance and I have had. It is stunning with it's exterior structure and it's interior swamp/hunting feel. The rooms were decent sized and the bathroom was large. The cookies they give each night in your room are pretty good. But their service definitely lacks. For the amount of money you spend to stay here you would think they could hire people to work here. We always had to push a button to call for valet and then wait for someone to help you, which usually was not a speedy process. Check in was easy and the front desk gal was very friendly. But the first day we didn't receive housekeeping service at all. Guess they decided to go home before work was completed. The next day, we didn't receive hand towels. Not a big deal but we already are disappointed in the housekeeping so this didn't help. I also couldn't stand the fact that there are no filters in any of the air vents and the air DOESN'T SHUT OFF, EVER. So you have dust and feathers (from the bed) blowing around the room constantly and you can't override the air controls. My allergies we're killing me after this stay!
The 2nd night, we had stayed in and ordered room service. It was so salty, we couldn't eat the majority of our dinner. One night we decided to go bowling...bad idea. You wait forever and ever for someone to take down your name and then call you an hour later just to pay for a really pricey hour of bowling in a hot bowling alley. We tried to get food and drinks and that took an hour as well. Service was awful!
So overall, this hotel is definitely interesting and unique but we wouldn't stay here again due to the service (or lack thereof) and the fact that our allergies can't handle all the dust.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank YodaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nycole_H_BCY, Front Office Manager at Big Cypress Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you for your review, YodaFamily. We are happy that you were able to stay with us, however we are disappointed to hear of your stay with us. We have taken your review and we are going to look into these concerns and ensure that they do not happen again. Thank you for all of your comments. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

The whole concept is so crazy. Your in a retail store with over the top features. All the way from live catfish, alligators, stuffed wild life, Ducks Unlimited museum, fake moss trees an a rooftop restaurant/bar that could be so much more to a beautiful, well appointed lodge. I hate that they are combined and not stand alone. The bar/ lounge on the 2nd floor which is exclusive to the hotel guess is great and the rooms are furnished as if you were in A five star lodge in Telluride, but you are not. Each room has a screened in porch that looks over the retail store. I am not joking. I would have to say this place is a one time trip for a couple but perfect for a family with young boys. They have lots of activities for children. Have to say been there done that. I think the Peabody would be better for a couple’s weekend no matter how big of an outdoor enthusiast. Unfortunately, the service is advantage on every level too.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
2  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nycole_H_BCY, Front Office Manager at Big Cypress Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you for your review, Angela M! We are very happy that you were able to stay with us and enjoyed all that the Pyramid has to offer. We are also happy that you enjoyed your room and all of the comforts with Big Cypress Lodge! We look forward to having you back for a romantic getaway soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in a large cabin style room that overlooked the expansive Bass Pro store and outdoor recreation below. I have to say that I’m not interested in the hunting/fishing thing but the room was really beautiful for what it was, a rustic cabin. The problems come in the form of a resort full of employees who seriously could care less about the guests who’re paying hundreds of dollars a night. Our room had no hand towels, not a big deal I suppose. There was never a bellman when checking in or out. Our room was never serviced by housekeeping and after a very long day of sightseeing we were in need of showering before our dinner reservations in town... but we had no clean towels. We called the front desk around 5:30 and was told housekeeping is gone for the day. I asked if towels could be sent up... the front desk said yes, someone would be up shortly. It was nearly 2 hours later before someone finally came...when we called the front desk to inquire if towels were on the way we were told to be patient that a man was “making his rounds” and had us on his list. We were late to our dinner reservations because of the unreasonable delay.
We are at both of the hotel restaurants during our stay - the food in the upstairs restaurant was so cold it had to be sent back and the green beans looked pocked with age. In the downstairs “fish bowl” the waitress spent her time loudly complaining about the guests who asked for a different table than the one they were seated at...this went on for quite a while, very unprofessional. I ordered a chicken Cesar salad that was served with very very dry chicken and croutons so old and stale they were chewy! My partners sandwich was served without the side he ordered - it was finally served at least 8-10 min after the meals. I just don’t get it. Why hire people who don’t like serving the public and put them in hospitality positions in which they become the face of your business?? Lazy, uninterested and unprofessional employees will ruin a place fast. The view was nice.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank terptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nycole_H_BCY, Front Office Manager at Big Cypress Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you were able to stay with us, however we are disappointed in your experience with the service. We have passed your experience along to the operations team to ensure that this does not happen moving forward. We look forward to having you back with us to provide you with excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

I have to say this is one of the coolest places I’ve ever stayed. It is so interesting and unique. The check in was incredibly easy and the staff was very friendly. The hotel offers free transportation to the main streets of Memphis. The hotel is very spacious very clean very cool very unique. Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Deliasata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nycole_H_BCY, Front Office Manager at Big Cypress Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic looking with its cabin themed rooms and very nice facilities. If your into hunting and fishing it’s got everything you need inside the pyramid.

The level of customer care however is truly appalling. Too many times we were let down on our short stay. This was part of a big US trip for us and was the most expensive hotel stay and at the price we expected more.

Quality of service and food at uncle bucks was terrible. Our food was over 30 minutes I reaching us and pretty much inedible. Took 15 minutes and chasing our waitress to pay. I spoke to a manager and little was done to rectify the situation. No offer of part refund or anything to show some culpability. So excuse of short staffed and a thin apology. Not good enough for $40 and two uneaten breakfasts without any questions from the waitress as you would expect when returning food almost untouched. Just left you feeling they just couldn’t care less.

The towels left on the floor for replacing one morning were still there when we returned that evening.

We asked about transport to Beale street and were told a minibus would collect us at the front door. After 20 minute wait we checked again with reception and they said the girl was in her way. After 40 minutes we checked again with a different receptionist and was told the bus didn’t run between 3and 5. Had to call an Uber.

We were also overcharged for room service. Short of being called liars when we challenged this eventually someone form the restaurant came over and confirmed we had been. No refund at the time and told we would be credited in 3-5 days.

All in all the level of care and attention was severely below the standard this place should be delivering.

Steer clear unless you really don’t care about the service.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nycole_H_BCY, Front Office Manager at Big Cypress Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Thank you for your review, Graeme B. We are happy that you were able to stay with us, however we are disappointed to hear of your experience. The service that you had while you were here is in no way a reflection of Big Cypress Standards. We apologize for not getting the shuttle to your quickly and that you had to take an Uber to get downtown. The overcharge for your room service should not have happened and while we did issue a refund I understand the frustration of having to wait for the bank to process what never should have happened.

We take your feedback seriously and we have shared your comments with the hotel and restaurant operations team to ensure that your stay is an isolated incident.

Thank you for your feedback and we would love to have you back with us in the future and provide your with excellent service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews