We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annieteac...
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

What a wonderful cottage ! We have just returned from our third stay and have already booked again for next year. The cottage and surroundings are beautiful ; extremely clean , tastefully decorated and well equipped. The attention to detail really does go a long way. The welcome tea and homemade scones from the wonderful owners really were appreciated ! The cottage is a great base for visiting attractions but also a relaxing retreat which is like a home from home.
A real five star property! Well done ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara E
Southwater, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned from staying a week at Basel Cottage. We all had a wonderful time.
Upon arrival Susan and Jonah gave us tour of the house and grounds and presented us with a delicious cream tea. We felt 'at home' straight away.
Our Dog Max loved the extensive enclosed gardens enabling him to run around off lead. We even had our own woods!
There are plenty of walks on the doorstep and even more a short drive away.
The accommodation was very spacious, comfortable and very clean with excellent Wi-fi which pleased the children!!!
Susan very kindly looked after Max one day so we could visit the Caves in the Brecon Beacons.
We would highly recommend this holiday and we hope to return again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really, I guess I would say waking up to the wonderful views
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley W
Girvan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous dog friendly accommodation”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Booked this cottage as we were attending a wedding in Myddfai village hall where our daughter was a bridesmaid
We were greeted warmly by Sue & Jonah after a long journey south with a gorgeous cream tea and some treats for the dogs
Sue gave us the guided tour of this beautiful accommodation , one of the best if not THE best cottage we have ever stayed in
2 bedrooms , 1 e suite and 1 separate bathroom plus downstairs loo
We loved the window seat watching all the birds & squirrels which flocked to the feeders ( robins , woodpeckers , etc ) and from the decked area we watched red kite & buzzards who were frequently around
Our 2 golden retrievers adored the freedom of the fenced field to run around in and beyond that the 18 acres of woodland , fields & river to explore
Whilst everything that has been said in other reviews is so accurate where Sue ,Jonah & Ben came into their own was when our son in law had a nasty mountain biking accident and was taken to a hospital 1 1/2 hours drive away We didn't find out where he was until 7.30 pm and there was no question that they would take care of the 2 dogs to allow us to get our daughter to the hospital in Merthyr Tydfil
We were at hospital for hours and even though we called to explain that we were waiting for ct scan results which could take a while it was no problem for them to keep the dogs until we returned in the small hours
This shows the dedication and care that they have for their property and visitors Truly deserving of their 5 * rating
Sue , Jonah & Ben we thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your kindness
Shirley , Martin ,Lynn , Alastair & the 2 dogs Dougal & Finlay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tootsRuge...
rugeley
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brian, Mary, Coral and Lottie's Holiday”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have spent many holidays in cottages and stayed in some delightful places. Basel Cottage has to one of our favourite. Tranquil setting, well equipped and roomy cottage.
Comfortable beds . Outdoor sitting area were super. Sue and Jonah were very helpful and full of local knowledge, also amazing dog sitter!!!!! We are hoping to book up again as there is so much to see. The Botanic Gardens a must.
Mary Perkinsl

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and roominess of cottage.
Liked least: Nothing applicable.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ena193201...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The best holiday cottage we have stayed at in the 40 years we have been taking cottage holidays, everything was perfect. Sue and Jonah are a charming couple, they were so welcoming and could not have been more helpful, the cream tea on our arrival was a lovely surprise and very much appreciated .The cottage is superb well equipped and very comfortable and the views surroundings it are beautiful 18 acres of paradise especially if you are bringing a dog,( sadly we do not have one now). The area itself is very very interesting, nice small market towns, the Botanical Garden of Wales a short drive away is well worth a visit, plenty of walking, cycling, lots to do and see, or just relax in a most delightful cottage.
Thank you Sue and Jonah for a lovely week

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the hosts
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdadgir...
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Idyllic Experience in Every Way”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed in Basel Cottage for a week in October and loved everything about it! The owners, Sue and Jonah, could not have been more solicitous - welcomed us with homemade tea and scones, researched nearby attractions based on our interests, and even arranged for my husband (a singer) to attend a rehearsal of the local men's choir. The cottage is carefully decorated and spacious and offers every amenity: a bathroom for each bedroom, a toilet downstairs, a washer, a log-burning fireplace, and a view that can't be beat! Window seats overlook a spectacular vista: peaceful, bucolic, stunning. There are seventeen acres to ramble on the property, a river below, and birds that flock to the feeders just outside the window. This place exceeded our expectations in every way, and the onsite owners made us feel like family. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the owners
Liked least: we liked everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris_deg...
Lebbeke, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very nice cottage,very friendly people and what a welcoming.
Beautiful restored house and well equiped,our children loved it .
When it is a clear night,make the effort to get up and take a look at the night sky,just beautiful.
A very nice area as well especially the Brecon Beacons and Pembrokeshire.
We had a splendid time.Thanks Sue and Jonah.

Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing