We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful well equipped cottage with spectacular...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Merlin Barn

Merlin Barn Entrance with 200 year old oak beams
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Merlin Barn Entrance with 200 year old oak beams
Patio view to Brecon Beacon Beacons National Park Driveway views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Merlin Barn Entrance with 200 year old oak beams
Patio view to Brecon Beacon Beacons National Park
Driveway views
Garden Building with Games Room, Laundry and Boot Room
Games Room Slate bed snooker/pool table
Games Room set with full size table tennis top
Spacious Lounge with French Doors to Garden
Seasonal Log Burner
Kitchen and Diner Area
Integrated Kitchen
Kitchen Arrow Slit Windows
Galleried Landing
Ensuite Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Bathroom with bath and shower
Terrace with French Doors and great picnic table
Oak tree view on approach to Merlin Cottages
Entrance to Merlin Cottages
Cricket field from Llandovery river walk
Llandovery classic cars
Walks along the River Towy
Llandovery square
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Llandovery, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lane94
1 review
“Beautiful well equipped cottage with spectacular views”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Myself and five friends stayed at merlin barn for three nights as we were looking for a quiet getaway.
Booking the property was very simple and the owners were easy to contact and very helpful. It was also great value for money.
The directions given to us were extremely useful also!
Upon arriving the cottage it was very clean and well equipped with everything we needed. The decor was lovely in addition to the building itself, which was very bright inside due to the many windows.
The views around the cottage are spectacular, the cottage is an excellent base if you enjoy walking or cycling.
The games room is great and kept us occupied during the evenings, as there isn't an awful lot within walking distance.
Being set on a working farm we were expecting some noise, but it was completely silent (except for the sheep)
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage and would recommend it to anyone

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jemima W
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect location for a relaxing getaway”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I booked Merlin Barn for 3 nights for myself and 4 friends. We could not have been happier with it. It was clean, well appointed with all mod cons and a generous welcoming pack, and David and Wendy could not have been more helpful. I would recommend Merlin Barn unreservedly - and may well book it again myself for a longer stay!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuCa_in_U...
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect tranquility on the edge of the Brecon Beacons”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My partner and I originally had just a 2 night stay booked here, but decided to extend our stay another 2 nights as we liked it so much.
Coming from living in the middle of a town, to this lovely rural spot offered us some very welcome time away-from-it-all
Peace, quiet, gorgeous views and you could actually see the milky way on clear nights (almost no light pollution). We were reluctant to leave!
The property is a little off the beaten track, so please do follow the directions that David and Wendy provide! It's set on a working farm, but it's not noisy at all, everyone we encountered was friendly enough, especially the deaf and partially blind dog, who was a real sweetie!
Be aware that we did meet several different dogs during our stay, so it might not be the best place for anyone afraid of dogs. However, the dogs were never noisy or problematic and we weren't sure that any of them lived there, or if they just came along during the day.
The barn is a recent conversion which just opened for business in summer 2013, and it is well appointed, comfortable and clean throughout.
The kitchen is well stocked with cookware and crockery etc. Towels and bed linen are provided. There is central heating and a newly installed woodburner in the living room.
There is a separate building on site which houses the games room and laundry room, this is for use of people staying in both the Barn and the Cottage. The games room has a pool table and table tennis, as well as a good amount of local reference materials- maps, guides, takeaway menus etc which came in very handy!
David, the owner, met us when we arrived. He was very friendly and helpful, made us feel most welcome. He showed us the games room and explained a few things- where to put rubbish/recycling; the waymarkers in the nearby Crychan Forest; where to go grocery shopping etc...all good advice!
If David and Wendy have time they should maybe put all that helpful info into a 'Welcome Book' for guests to peruse at leisure.
We brought along our bikes and thoroughly recommend this location as a base for anyone wanting to explore the surrounding area by pedal power. Whether mountain biking in the forests, or hitting the roads through the dramatic Brecon landscape. David explained that his next project was to build a Cycle store for guests to use...a great idea!
The overall property is a still a work in progress (Recycling Hut almost finished, Cycle Store coming soon), but the parts that are finished are excellent (Barn conversion, Games Room)
All in all, we had a fabulous stay here and thoroughly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural location is superb and the barn very comfortable.
Liked least: Trying to figure out the oven and microwave functions!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2013
Thank you for a great review and pictures. The feedback on the oven controls is helpful for a new property and will be improved with a simple visual card showing the settings. Our neighbour has sheepdogs and keeps them off the yard on request. Best Wishes, David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing