We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful food”

Castle Cottage Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Harlech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$49 - US$63
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: We have steadily built up a reputation for good food, both locally and with visitors to the area. We source and use as much local / Welsh produce as possible and strive to create a dining experience that combines top quality local food and service with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We offer a 2 course or 3 course option as well as a 5 course tasting menu. We are the Mid Wales and overall winner for Wales of The True Taste Eating out Award for 2008/09.Visit Wales Gold Award 2011/12/13/14/15/16. National Restaurant Awards 2011 Top 100. Good Hotel Guide editor's choice award 2016. For 25 years we have had a continuous entry in the Good Food Guide. Cheshire Life Highly Commended Award 2016
Reviewed 25 August 2016

my wife and I visit harlech regularly and our friends always recommend castle cottage so we booked a table and were not disappointed. The bar area where you are given the evening meal menu, is well appointed with a good view of the castle and the beach. There was an offer of any 2 courses for £35 or 3 courses for £40, we opted for the 2 course menu. I had a fillet steak which was £4 extra, Good service, nice atmosphere and lovely food, always a winning combination and we will return. Only a slight moan but were not asked if we enjoyed the food and slightly lacking on chat and smiles from the staff, otherwise very good

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Hi Christopher F
Thank you for the wonderful review of us. Delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us. We dont go in for over the top, in your face style of service , always asking if everything is OK ( a personal bug bear of mine when i am out eating!) sorry about the staff not smiling too much, must have been a v busy night and they were having to concentrate!! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2016

friends told us to try it here, we did and surely will do it again. A beautiful meal, and very good wines!!! We certainly advise to try it, we did'nt regret it!!

2  Thank PaulCroughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Hi PaulCroughs
Brill review, you have great friends!!. Glad you enjoyed our food and wines so much. Hope to serve you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We visited here as we were staying in nearby Barmouth for my husband's birthday meal. The setting is cosy, not too formal and very relaxed. We had drinks in the bar and were treated to aperitifs on the house then fresh bread and water awaited us already on our table once we were ready to sit in the dining room. These were all nice touches that just gave this place the edge. The food was fantastic and the portions were really big! Service was excellent and we enjoyed coffee in the bar overlooking snowdonia once we were finished. Incidentally it was the best de-caf coffee I've ever had! Would definitely recommend and come again.

Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Hi Hannah B
What a fab review of us, delighted that you both loved the Castle Cottage experience. Its hard work running a restaurant , so its great to get positive feed back. Thank you for the great comments re our food. Hope to serve you both again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We arrived and relaxed in the lounge with our G&Ts as we perused the menu. Plenty of choice, though we like most things. We ordered and were then escorted into the dining room for our meal. The food came and there wasn't much of a wait between courses. Food was well presented and tasty.
Definitely somewhere to return to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dajsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Hi dajsimpson
Thank you for your concise but excellent review of us. Glad you enjoyed your dinner with us. Hope to serve you both again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We broke our journey home from North Wales to Somerset in Harlech, and on advice from fellow trip advisers we booked in at the Castle Cottage. Harlech is a tiny place but the Castle Cottage is well worth a stop for a meal or overnight. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, the food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner the night before. There are fantastic view from the bar over the sea, worth stopping just for a drink if you are in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EileenMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owainHarlech, Owner at Castle Cottage Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Hi EileenMh
Thank you for your lovely review of us, glad we made your trip to the west county all the more enjoyable, and we are delighted that you loved our food and accommodation. hope ti serve you both again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castle Cottage Restaurant also viewed

Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
Harlech, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Castle Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing