We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, lovely cottage”

Review of Pencwmwl

Perfect for alfresco dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect for alfresco dining
A comfortable cottage set in a peaceful location Views towards Snowdonia from Pencwmwl
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Perfect for alfresco dining
A comfortable cottage set in a peaceful location
Views towards Snowdonia from Pencwmwl
Lounge with stunning views from every window
One of the views from the lounge, looking towards Hell's Mouth
Another view from the lounge
Another view from the lounge
Dining room
The dining table room
Games room
King bedroom
King bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Well equipped kitchen with views across the rural landscape
Upstairs bathroom
Downstairs shower room
Cosy snug with beautiful rural views
Pull out sofa in cosy snug
The breakfast area
Utility room space for hanging wetsuits
Playtime
View from Pencwmwl as the sun is going down
Views across Cardigan Bay towards Snowdonia
We have walked here across fields from Pencwmwl but it did take us two and a half hours.
Ty Coch Inn view, the best located pub in the UK
The majestic Lleyn Coastal Path
Pencwmwl is in the foreground. Hell's Mouth Bay can be seen top right
Pencwmwl is the white speck on the left. Garnfadryn is behind.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Abersoch, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Viv8
West Midlands, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, lovely cottage”
Reviewed April 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We rented this cottage for 4 days after seeing other reviews on TripAdvisor and watching Jane's tour of the place on YouTube.
Jane's communication is brilliant - responding to initial enquiries, giving you all the info you need about the place before you arrive and leave, and also addressing any questions you may have.
Our arrival at the cottage was later than planned because we'd unintentionally strayed from Jane's directions - but if you stick to them, the cottage is straightforward to find - just mind all the bends in the narrow lanes as quite often other drivers don't expect to find anyone else on these roads! Also, Jane does mention that the driveway slopes down to the cottage, but I didn't realise how steep the incline was - so as long as you take it nice and slow, with good clutch control, this shouldn't be a problem!

Inside, the house is spacious and immaculate, and is fully equipped with crockery, cutlery, glassware, dishwasher, microwave, washing machine and tumble dryer etc - which all came in handy after each long day either in a muddy park or a sandy beach, which in most cases, was only about 15-20 min drive away.
The view from the lounge area is stunning and other than a few cows mooing, it's very quiet.
Our only potential worry was heating and hot water, but the heating system was great.
The beds were really comfy and it was great having the 2 high chairs and travel cots.
There was also a brilliant games room, which we tried to make the most of.
Some of the furnishings / furniture was looking a little dated / tired, but overall it was nicely decorated and clean.
We had a lovely, relaxing time and would definitely recommend this cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alisii
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I stayed here with my father, brother and niece for a short break at the end of March. Booking was easy and Jane provided all the information we needed to get there, etc. We were lucky with the weather, which was an added bonus as it enabled to see how idyllic it is in the sunshine. The cottage is just as described. It is really well equipped and whilst it looks quite unassuming from the outside, the layout is excellent because it's very spacious inside and the views are lovely from every room. A car is essential as shops, restaurants and pubs are more than a few miles away, but it's an ideal base for days out and great place to spend some quality time with your family or friends. Our group was aged from 13 to 83 and we were all well suited and would happily stay at Pencwmwl again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and wifi access
Liked least: No television in the main living area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a fantastic time here, the property was in an excellent spot and the facilities were great!! There were 4 adults and 3 children and there was plenty of room for all of us. We will definitely be looking to book again for another holiday!! The owner was so helpful and from the moment we booked we couldn't have asked for a better service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to spend Christmas”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We just spent Christmas at Pencwmwl. It was blowing a gale, pouring with rain but we were cosy and warm in this lovely cottage. the cottage is so well equipped we missed nothing about being "at home". Cant wait to return. The cottage was spotlessly clean and warm on arrival with a Christmas tree and decorations already set up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sun2sun
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely secluded cottage with exceptional views.”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a lovely relaxing holiday. Excellent property - clean, tidy and spacious with wonderful views. Very well equipped kitchen, comfortable bedrooms and just so peaceful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen K
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything about this Cottage Top Class”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Would recommend this holiday cottage, stunning views, fantastic interior, location great for access to all areas in the region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCA2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely house with beautiful views”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for a week and wished we had stayed longer. The booking process was efficient and Jane answered any questions promptly.The directions were spot on. The house was even bigger than it looks and the views from both the living room and dining room were spectacular. The house was spotless and the kitchen had everything you could think of.. We visited Abersoch , the beautiful beach at Llanbedrog with its beach huts and tin man up on the hillside above the sea, Aberdaron and Nefyn. We were advised by a local to try fish and chips at Aberdaron and they were delicious. We also enjoyed a new Indian restaurant at Nefyn called Bombay Joes. There are many local walks including the hill at the back of the house.. we hope to return next Summer....thanks Jane.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the views and space in the house.
Liked least: not staying longer
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing