We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay in a hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Melinsoch

Melinsoch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Melinsoch
Abersoch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
29 reviews
Melinsoch
Abersoch
Melinsoch
Millers Room
Family room
dining room
Living room
3rd bedroom
Kitchen
Millers room
Main beach
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Abersoch, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DanM-Knut...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a hidden gem”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed here for four nights! Lovely amazing location in one of the backwaters of abersoch! Building is an old mill full of character set in its own established gardens. Quirky layout of building with loads of nooks and crannies and it's own stream in the garden! Nice patio area to boot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
thank you and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again. Regards Jalna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamr981
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a waste”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I cannot believe the reviews I am reading.

The ONLY thing I can agree on is the building itself and location, hence the title.

First impressions,£280 for 2 nights (Monday Tuesday) out of season, for a place with no pillar cases, sheets,towels or duvet covers etc etc. unacceptable.

On day of arrival, 3 attempts to contact owner to find the place including a message left were met with silence with not the decency to call back, only wants to contact in writing cus they must know how bad things are.

Pulled up and impressions good, stunning building in prime location, front gardens overrun with weeds but can be forgiven due to sheer quaintness of building.

However walk through the door and whilst the interior is very quaint, by god, the maintenance and standard of decor has to be seen to be believed. The place is HANGING!! Dirty, so tired its in a coma, no central heating, bath don't drain, kitchen is falling bits, wall heaters disgusting, beds I wouldn't put in the Salvation Army , years old hand written notes everywhere, not even a welcome pack!! Not to mention damp, plaster falling of the walls etc, I could go on.

This smacks of two things, either it's an investment property that is just a cash cow the owner doesn't give a toss about, or they are totally skint ( which I don't believe with the rates charged) if which case, I wouldn't dare market it the way it is. I have been to third world countries with better standards, and I am not joking.

What a shame, beautiful property totally left to the dogs.

We feel we have been totally ripped off, absolute disgrace and waste of a beautiful part of Wales. A place we love and frequent often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Dear Mr and Mrs Rafferty, I am so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at Melinsoch, this really came as shock to us as ,as you can see from other reviews most people love it and come back time and time again. Regarding the price ( school holidays high season ), bedding and heating , I feel all this information is fully explained on the website. So once again all we can do is apologise and hope that your next rental is more to your liking. Regards Richard and Jalna Yarwood.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sticky_to...
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A gem of a place in an ideal location”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were a party of 8 (four adults & 4 kids) very much looking forward to our stay at Melinsoch. Having done much research on the area, the location was key for us as we wanted to pull up in the cars and not use them for the week. The location certainly didn't disappoint. Only a 10 minute walk to the town centre and only a 5 minute walk to the nearest beach via a small wooden plank bridge. The grounds of the property are great. A very large lawned area to the rear of the cottage that is also surrounded by a small wooded area. The kids loved it. The cottage itself was great. A lovely dining room with a very large table that seats 8 and can also be used for table tennis. A huge hit with the older kids. The living room was very cosy and not in a small way. Large sofas and a wonderful open fire. We used this on a few occasions. Not because the house was cold, we just really like an open fire. Two of the bedrooms were ideal for our needs. The master room has a balcony overlooking the garden. A really good suntrap as well. The 2nd room had a small double and bunk beds. The kids all shared this room. The only room that slightly disappointed was the 3rd room. It's a small room in the eaves and the double bed is very small but this is the compromise you have to make in a building that wasn't originally made to be lived in. This didn't spoil our holiday in any way though. The only toilet is in the shower room and the bathroom only contains a bath and sink. We thought this may have been an issue with 8 of us staying in the cottage but this wasn't so. We loved our stay so much that we have already decided to return next summer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Many thanks Jalna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G
The Villages, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quirky and Fun but with problems”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had great fun here - can walk into town via the plank bridge over the stream and thru the car park of Land & Sea, We had one rotten day cold and rainy but a huge log fire in the lounge and a bottle of wine cured our blues. Not 5 or even 3 star 'cos of the bathing and toilet facilities, only one toilet for potentially 8 people ? not on any planet near me - worse still the only toilet was in with the only shower - should bin the bath in the second 'bathroom' and put a toilet in - possibly also grab a bit of the enormous dining room and put in a shower and toilet under the stairs - small double could do with being 2 singles - bed was tiny !!! A few bob spent on paint and TLC i.e Rusty windows, mouldy grout, very iffy shower would not go amiss ...then maybe would upgrade a star or two - 8 people is a bit iffy too with 4 of them being in one room and two of those in bunk beds - maybe OK for kids but not for mature adults. This fun for a few days but the problems spoilt it a bit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wondeful open log fire in the lounge !!!
Liked least: only one toilet !!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Hi Mike, thank you for your review, all issues have been taken on board , but believe me its not as easy as it sounds to put a second toilet in the house. All the problems you encountered i.e., beds bathrooms had all been mentioned on the website.. I do hope you had a good time, and look forward to hearing from you again. Regards Jalna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
witwojtek
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice place”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The house is clean and tidy, 2 badrooms with sharing huge living rooms.
Location is excelent very close to the beach and very quite.
Worth to recommend especially with large group or children.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Thank you for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your stay.Regards Jalna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHInWhite...
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, perfect location”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I just returned from 4 days here (3 nights) here. It was my first time in Abersoch - it had been recommended by my friend. We had a fabulous time, the cottage is lovely, quaint and comfortable and the owner is really helpful.
I went with my son (turned 13 the day before we arrived) and my dog and my friend and her daughter joined us for part of the time to show us the best places. I would say that it's absolutely perfect for a family - lots to do on the doorstep and Melinsoch is well situated with all of the equipment you'd need. You take your own bedding covers and towels but I'd prefer that anyway. The garden is perfect for kids to explore and the restaurants on the doorstop are to die for eg Coconut Kitchen and Manana. A day on copious beaches, a drink and a meal in the village and a cosy chat by the open fire back at the cottage - what more could you want? We had the added benefit of bright blue skies and fab sunshine too!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower quality
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hearing from you again in the future, Kind regards Jalna and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison51...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing weekend away in a great cottage”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in Melinsoch cottage, it was very spacious and full of character. It was in private grounds and so close to the beach,village and all the amenities. It was set in lovely gardens and only wished the weather would have been better so we could have sat out. The cottage was well equipped. Only small downfall was the heaters downstairs didn't seem to heat the downstairs and the one in the lounge kept going off, upstairs was lovely and warm. I would highly recommend this cottage and would definitely look to book again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will take your comments into consideration. Regards Jalna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing