We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream”
Review of Cadwaladers

Cadwaladers
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Criccieth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Cadwaladers was established in 1927 in the little village of Criccieth by David and Hannah Cadwalader. Over the years, we have expanded our popular ice cream and coffee cafes all over Wales and England, bringing the best quality service and products to our customers. We are proud to still serve our traditional recipe ice cream developed by Hannah Cadwalader (which still includes the famously secret ingredient!) and now our specially developed exclusive blend of espresso, hot chocolate and loose leaf tea which have been designed to redefine the standards of excellence in hot beverages. With our competitive prices, special products and caring team, we can assure you that we can provide options for all the family, including gluten free ice cream and cakes.So bring your friends, children, partner and dogs! To our lovely cosy cafés and relax in comfort whilst our friendly team treat you to the very best Wales can bring, served with a great deal of love and care.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

After tucking into Fish and chips we decided to renew another tradition and called at Cadwaladers for ice cream just like the old days and it certainly didn't disappoint.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, Guest Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Hello Dennis,

Thank you for your recent review. We are so glad you are continuing your Criccieth tradition by coming in store for a treat!
See you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Hannah
The Cadwaladers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 356 of 780 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2016

We had ice cream here. They have lots of different flavours to choose from. I went for the Clotted Cream Fudge, which was a premium option, but is really was nice. The downside was that it was a tad expensive, but would use it again.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ukdryver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, Guest Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Hello,
Thank you for your recent review of our Cadwaladers Criccieth store. We are so glad you enjoyed your Clotted Cream fudge ice cream :) If you are looking for a cheaper treat our ice cream prices start from £1 for a teddy cone. Hope to see you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Hannah
The Cadwaladers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2016

As a child we visited the area every summer for many years, and there would always be several trips to Criccieth - sometimes for the exclusive purpose of "having a Cadwaladers" - during the week. So when I come back to this part of the world, I make sure I go back to check that the ice cream is as good as I remember.

The shop has grown from what it was in the 1980s and early 1990s, not necessarily for the better, but I suppose the thinking is that adding a cafe and many superfluous flavours of ice cream has some commercial benefit. Maybe it has. But the truth is that you should always go for a vanilla 99 in a simple cone - that is how Cadwalders are supposed to be served. I went for a medium cone this time, only to find that scoop after scoop was piled on top of the cone. More than I needed or wanted, really, so I was grateful that I hadn't ordered a large.

Maybe the recipe has changed, but I found the ice cream softer and less creamy than in the past, but perhaps that is my imagination. Certainly it melted quickly on a not-that-warm day, so I dread to think how quickly I would have had to consume the thing had the sun come out and the temperature broken 20 degrees.

This is definitely, though a Criccieth tradition worth continuing - or starting, if you haven't tried it before.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, Guest Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Hello Ian,
Thank you for your recent review of our Cadwaladers Criccieth store. It is always lovely to hear about our customers family traditions at Cadwaladers. We expanded our store to serve Coffee and lunch options in order to increase our trade all year around when the winter months settle in. We hope to see you back in store again for your Vanilla 99 cone :)
Kind Regards,
Hannah
The Cadwaladers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We went here for dessert after our fish and chips from Castle's. Recommend the sundaes and the coffee. Friendly staff and welcoming feel

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, Guest Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Hello Amy,
Thank you for your lovely review of our Cadwaladers store in Criccieth. We are so glad you had a great visit.
Kind Regards,
Hannah - The Cadwaladers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Called into Cadwaladers on the way up to the castle for morning coffee. Just what we needed before the treck up to view the bay.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Tunisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah C, Guest Relations Manager at Cadwaladers, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Hello :),
Thank you for your lovely review of our Cadwaladers store in Criccieth. We are so glad you had a great visit.
Kind Regards,
Hannah - The Cadwaladers Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cadwaladers also viewed

 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cadwaladers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing