We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
362
68
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
68
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners narrow road sea view high standard first class sea front lovely hotel criccieth castle north wales powerful shower breakfast and dinner public areas lamb wine list relaxing stay two nights thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 444 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

A lovely relaxing break with amazing views over the bay and excellent food. The staff were helpful and friendly. If there was a fault it was that the heating was not turned on enough for the cold temperature. Yes I know it’s September but heating should be based on the condition not on the month of the year. But despite this we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ELIZABETHMWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I agree, this time of year to get the heating right is not easy, as some days are scorching and the next the temperature has dropped significantly. But defiantly a point we will take on board.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Stayed 2 nights with my wife for a significant birthday for her. I made a perfect choice with this hotel. The hotel has a modern take with just a hint of old fashioned but only in as much as the warm and welcoming service we received. Our room was very comfortable with a wonderful view of the stormy seas outside, ideal for the wife she loved it! We had dinner in the restaurant on her birthday and the food was excellent as were the breakfasts. Can give this establishment no higher compliment than we would both stay there again in an instant.

Room Tip: Sea view room a must
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bryn1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for such a lovely review. It was lovely meeting you both, and we are really pleased that you chose us to celebrate her birthday with.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Stayed 4nights and had a great stay. Loved being on the bay. Would stay there again. The staff were great. Katherine was very helpful. Food was also very good. Went to see Harlech castle, caernafon castle and criccieth castle.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank pats775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the brilliant review, it is really appreciated. We are a great base for going to see many of the great Castle is Wales so hopefully next time you visit you can tick a few more off your list.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Last visited Criccieth in July 1982 so we thought it was time to pay another visit. Chose the Caerwylan because of the location and recommendations. We found parking outside the hotel a bit tight but quite manageable. The room was immaculate and our view was fantastic; beach, sea, castle, herons at low tide and a view of Harllech castle on a clear day. Booked dinner the first night and we both enjoyed an excellent meal, accompanied by a well kept cask ale. I've reviewed the Tonnau restaurant separately. We found the bed very comfortable and the shower was first class. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and the cooked breakfasts arrived promptly. The coffee was very good. The housekeeping was efficient and we always returned to an immaculate room; it was almost as if the housekeeper had experience of military room inspections!
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday in Criccieth and this hotel was the icing on the cake. One tip for visitors: hotels always suggest you book dinner - in this case they mean it. In fact it's best if you can to book dinner when you make the hotel booking.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view - we had room 24.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulm1002016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the excellent and informative review, details like this really help other make a good decision on where to stay so we really appreciate it. We hope you won't wait another 36 years to come visit us again.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. It faces the seafront and the front rooms have lovely views and are worth the little bit extra.
Room was spotlessly clean, well appointed and the bed was superbly comfortable.
Breakfast is very good quality and cooked to order with a good choice.
We spent our honeymoon here 40 years ago and this was our first trip back. Certainly won’t be our last.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BaildonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Caerwylan, Owner at Caerwylan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so very much for the lovely review....... but DONT wait another 40 years before coming back! It was lovely to have met you both.

Travel safe,

Michael and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews