We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
59
40
14
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
40
14
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poster bed a lovely small hotel moules set menu linguine spacious room cardigan bay evening meal north wales comfortable stay stayed for nights sea front night stay first class warm welcome high standard criccieth castle
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 122 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2018 via mobile

A lovely small hotel on the sea front, with views over Cardigan Bay. Stayed with our two sons, daughter in law, 18m old grandson and two small doggies. Comfortable, clean, en suite rooms and excellent restaurant. Nothing too much for Tom, Amelia and all staff. A most enjoyable stay, we'll be back.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

A wonderful family run hotel, with clean bright rooms and abating views of the coast.

Very friendly welcome and lovely staff.

The hotel offers five star restaurant quality food with a broad selection of dishes.

Plus the breakfast was amazing....

Easy parking, lots of local facilities and a stones throw from the sea....a beautiful place.

Would definitely stay again.

Highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

What a fab hotel it’s location is wonderful,walking distance to the castle and beautiful beach
The staff are very welcoming and friendly,and the room was fabulous with a great view overlooking the beach

The bed was a 4 poster bed and very comfortable with s great bathroom with a lovely spa bath and they even supplied the bubble bath nice touch
The breakfast was also excellent wish we would have tried the restaurant the menu looked great maybe next time

All in all a great hotel great location great rooms free parking and wonderful restaurant 10/10

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wvlmstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2018

Dropped into the Moelwyn restaurant for dinner without a reservation on a Saturday evening. The waiting on staff were very obliging and helpful. 5 stars to the waiting staff. I ordered Menai mussels and was tempted to order chips (by the menu) to make it into moules frites. I wanted to have the moules marinière and asked that the chef omitted the cream and just used the white wine etc. to cook them. The waitress returned to our table to say that unfortunately the chef did not know how to cook this without the cream! WHAT! What sort of chef does not know how to cook this which, incidentally should NOT have cream added. Anyway I said I would try the dish with the cream and parsley. Menai Mussels beware. This chef did not do your produce any justice. The mussels were small, shrivelled and they and the sauce were flavourless. It seemed as if the mussels had been taken from a vacuum packed purchased from Aldi’s although I might be doing Aldi’s a miservice by writing this. As for the frites, I would call them frozen oven chips. At least make this dish more authentic by using frozen skinny fries if you can’t be bothered to make fresh. We dropped in once, won’t be going in again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank tootsdwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

Staying in Criccieth for a week and passed The Moelwyn whilst out walking.

Decided to give it a go and visited on Easter Sunday for Dinner and again later in the week,as it had been very good. The service is extremely attentive and very friendly.

The view from the restaurant is also excellent!

The food is of a very high standard and could not fault any of the 3 courses from the set menu. All freshly cooked - very, very good.

Visited other eateries in Criccieth during the week and can’t understand why The Moelwyn is not higher up the list on trip advisor.

If eating in Criccieth, give The Moelwyn a go, you will not be disappointed!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DerekT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews