We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic and welcoming”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dan y Derw

Spring at Dan y Derw
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spring at Dan y Derw
A flowery welcome Early summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Spring at Dan y Derw
A flowery welcome
Early summer
Cosy Lounge Area
Well equiped Kitchen
spacious King size room
Dual aspect ... both lovely views
something to cuddle
Butterfly twin room
Butterflies rule
Wet room
No street lights
view from the decking... a sea view when the leaves drop
Spring colour
A regular visitor
May time
Garden visitor
leave some for th squirrels
View from lane
Criccieth beach sunset
Criccieth Castle
winter sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Criccieth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen C
1 review
“Fantastic and welcoming”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a wonderful time. The children loved and and felt extremely welcome. We've stayed in several places in Criccieth and this had to be the best yet!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful days in Dan y Derw,Criccieth ....”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Dan y Derw is a holiday home as you can only wish. Built of stone, bright, with terrace and a perfectly coordinated decor. The kitchen is well equipped for four people, the rooms are large as well as the beds. Shower free of charge. The orientation of the terrace is without insight. There is a car park for two cars. The owners live close by and we are very kindly received with cakes and tea. They are helpful and open-minded. We felt very comfortable and would book the house again at any time. Ideal for the Lyn peninsula and the Snowdionia National Park. But above all, Criccieth is a charming town with beach and castle and flair.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Than you so much for the very positive review for Dan y Derw and Criccieth. It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we would love to welcome you both back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
James C
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Almost a little worried about posting this review and letting others know of this little slice of paradise through fear of them booking rather than me. Greeted so warmly by the owners and being allowed to use their full, beautiful garden was incredible with young children and they were so happy for us to use it and chatted with us, making it a lovely warm environment. The cottage is wonderful, set in a lovely quiet area with picturesque views from the lovely little veranda. It was fully equipped and had everything we needed for our stay. There are some lovely places nearby to visit and local amenities with a great little village a short walk away with a beautiful beach at the very bottom (best to drive it with young children). Special highlight was sitting in the rain on the beach with an amazing chippy watching the life boat being launched. I cannot thank the owners enough for providing us with a great holiday that we are sure to come back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJC1821
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything we could have wished for.”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We adored the property, it's a beautiful cottage with everything we needed in a peaceful and tranquil setting. The garden is wonderful, our children loved playing in it and when they were asleep we enjoyed just sitting in it (with a glass or two).

The location is perfect for exploring the Llyn Peninsula and Snowdonia, so much to do but not enough time.

The owners Sandra and Jim were so kind and helpful.

The only thing I didn't like was leaving, hopefully one day we'll go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage, garden, location - everything!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorltong...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Give peace a chance ”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Was really looking forward to a break from my work
I haven't been disappointed
We were greeted by Sandra who made us very welcome
A beautiful hidden gem of a place
Just one negative. Having to go home.
Thanks for everything

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
1 review
“Idyllic Setting in Welsh Countryside”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Friendly welcome. A modern, well appointed cottage in a beautiful garden setting..views across woodland and wildflowers...gardens provide ideal location for endless hide and seek and frisbee games with children. Location is handy for beaches and towns on the Lleyn Penisula plus attractions like the Welsh Mountain Railway. Lot's to see and do...a week flies by.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing