We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent impromptu breakfast.”
Review of Y Sospan

Y Sospan
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: C$5 - C$27
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 'Y Sospan is a family run cafe & restaurant. We use local meats & suppliers where possible. As well as the coffees, teas & homemade cakes you might expect we have an extensive menu of home cooked dishes & a full bar menu offering a wide range of quality wines, sprits and bottled drinks. We also offer a large range of Welsh alcoholic drinks. Y Sospan is located in the heart of Dolgellau & is a wonderful Grade II listed building. Formerly the local courthouse & Gaol the building retains many interesting historic features including the Gaol door, slate floor, plaster frieze & royal coat of arms.
Reviewed August 4, 2021 via mobile

After dropping our dogs off at the Vet in Dolgellau this morning, my wife and I decided to have breakfast and chose Y Sospan.
Prompt service, excellent fresh cooked food, cheerful and chatty staff.
I’m a Welsh speaker and my wife is learning Welsh. The waitress was helpful and guided my wife through her choices in Welsh.
Thank you

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank JonathanCWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Y Sospan, Front of House at Y Sospan, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and we were able to help your wife with her Welsh. We hope your dogs are well and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 960 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2021

We phoned a week in advance to book and informed them of special dietary needs ie gluten free and lactose intolerant. We were pleased we did as the restaurant gradually got busier and people who hadn't booked were either given a time later in the evening or couldn't get in. The restaurant had noted my dietary needs and the chef had given a starter option with these in mind. Very impressed. The waiter and waitress were attentive but not overpowering, polite and helpful. The food was very delicious with very generous portions. The steak was amazing as was the lamb shank (not GF) , and the beetroot and pine nuts salad for the starter.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HappyTravellerDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Y Sospan, Front of House at Y Sospan, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed your meals. It was a pleasure meeting you and we are glad we were able to meet your dietary requirements and ensure you had a nice meal. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2021

Good value home made food. A regular place we’ll always head for when we’re in Dolgellau. Great service and fantastic cakes.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Y Sospan, Front of House at Y Sospan, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you continue to enjoy eating with us when you are in Dolgellau. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2021 via mobile

Super breakfast. Lovely food, cooked well. Nice atmosphere in the marquee outside. Thank you for a lovely start to the day

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Y Sospan, Front of House at Y Sospan, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2021

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with us and that we set you up for a great day. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2021 via mobile

We were looking forward to eating here after looking at menu on website.
Unfortunately, what they now offer is not what we had anticipated.
We opted for beef bourbignon & were very disappointed. Plenty of tender beef, but no onions,mushrooms or flavour. Watery mash potato, but tasty red cabbage. An ok pub lunch at best. We were asked if everything was OK & expressed our disappointment, but no-one came back to us.
Eat here if you can't get in anywhere else. Sorry, but had high hopes & they didn't match up.
Staff are great, but if there's a criticism, please follow it up.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank Patjo818DerbyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Y Sospan, Front of House at Y Sospan, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are sorry the Beef Bourguignon wasn’t to your liking. It is one of our most popular dishes and we usually get great comments on it, especially as it is made using beef from our own farm. We sold lots of it this evening and everyone else was happy.

You were checked back on during your meal and at this stage you said everything was ok. If you had mentioned your disappointment to us we would have been happy to replace your meals or make any recompense that might be necessary. You only bought your disappointment to our attention when we cleared your meals. Unfortunately, after a positive check back and the meals being consumed we can only apologise and pass on your comments to the chef and management, which they were.

We are not sure what else we could have done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Sospan also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park
 

Been to Y Sospan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.