We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly and cosy setting”

Y Meirionnydd Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Price range: C$37 - C$49
Cuisines: British, Bar, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Y Meirionnydd Townhouse is a great restaurant and bar in the centre of Dolgellau. What was the original old County jailhouse has been skilfully converted into a contemporary, stylish and yet cosy restaurant serving traditional British dishes with a Welsh twist using mostly local produce. The ground floor bar is a great place to unwind and relax with a drink or light meal. Booking is essential, please check for opening times. Please note we are unable to cater for children under 8 years old.
Reviewed April 18, 2022

From the moment we walked in the door, we were greeted with a smile by name which started off a special evening. All the servers were super friendly, and led us down to the very cosy cellar restaurant. We had the pate and spinach ricotta pasta to start, then the herb pie and the fillet steak for main. The herb pie was tasty and certainly different from anything I’ve had before (and potentially a little too fragrant for some), and the steak was done perfectly as requested. Along with a small glass of wine plus tip, it came to £70, which was a little expensive but we knew we were paying for the atmosphere when we booked which was worth it. It was a great way to end our holiday.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adamathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 537 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2022

lovely food with comfortable room, very friendly and helpful staff, really enjoyed a two night stay here happy to eat in both nights

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amanda007839
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 13, 2022

Four of us ate here on the first Saturday of January and I only hope that all other meals this year are as good. The service was great, engaging, attentive, informal (but not too much) and welcoming. The food was very good, from the artichoke and rosemary soup, lamb, loin of cod, fillet steak and a vegetarian Wellington. All were cooked well and served with a wide selection of fresh vegetables. Sadly, the table next to us had the last of the Christmas themed crumble but the ‘back up’ apple and pear crumble with calvados was nothing like a second fiddle. There’s a good selection of wines and local beers, including a lager from Bala that was a refreshing opener. In summary,!we agreed it was one of the nicest meals we’d had for while, and we’ll be back before too long.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 31, 2021 via mobile

Never eaten here before, was looking forward to New Year’s Eve and found this place which had good reviews. The ambiance was lovely, the staff were very friendly and efficient, sadly the food could have been made by a child and was a rip off even for New Year’s Eve. The starters were straight out of a packet and put on a plate, the main courses were all the same with just different meat/or not and the deserts weren’t even worth mentioning, basically icecream or mince pie with a bit of crumble on the top. I get that people are struggling to retain chefs, but if they want to retain customers they need to be honest and that needs to be reflected in the price. Rip off.

Date of visit: January 2022
2  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 4, 2021

Had a lovely meal here over Summer - meat and fish dishes cooked perfectly by all accounts, good friendly service and a pleasant ambience in a lovely building. However lovely the Ottolenghi herb pie was (and it was), two of us felt it lacked a side to balance the richness of the butter and feta cheese, and the unrelenting bitterness of the herbs. The great man himself suggests that it be served with a tomato and red onion salad; this simple addition would make all the difference. I reckon a nice piquant red pepper sauce or muhammara would also do the trick.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MickyBulgakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Y Meirionnydd Restaurant also viewed

 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park
 

Been to Y Meirionnydd Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.