We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the Welsh countryside”

Royal Ship - Dolgellau
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: C$10 - C$26
Cuisines: British, Pub, Grill, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Royal Ship Hotel Dolgellau, is a 19th Century Coaching in, steeped in old history situated in the Centre of the old Market town of Dolgellau, with spectacular view of the surrounding mountains is ideally located for exploring the beauty of North and Mid Wales. This historical building, which has been extensively modernised over the years has a 23 individual furnished bedrooms behind its iconic ivy-clad walls, which can accommodate for up to 51 stay in guests. Room prices start from £55 per person on a bed and breakfast basis and group discounts are available for over ten people. With its on-site restaurant, bar, large dining room and lounges available, offering Home-made local produce, to both residents and non-residents, allowing you to be able to sit back and enjoy your stay at the hotel with the helpful and friendly staff there to cater for all needs. We are open seven days a week and serve food from 12pm onwards 365 days a year! We can cater for special dietary requirements bu
Reviewed February 25, 2022 via mobile

Popped in here just before the end of lunch. Staff were welcoming and friendly
Ordered a beef burger and the chicken burger. Both were superb and delicious. No frozen hockey puk replicas on our plates. Good meaty fresh food. Well worth a visit

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank graunyab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons B, General Manager at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2022

Graunyab, thank you so much for your high rating! We always strive to provide top quality service to every guest, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at Royal Ship, Dolgellau! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 712 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2021 via mobile

Popped in heat while on the hunt for some food - wasn’t disappointed! Had a brilliant burger which was lovely! My partners food was also very good..

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Nomad68666138351
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons B, General Manager at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2021

Nomad68666138351, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Royal Ship, Dolgellau! Thank you, we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2021

Cosy hotel and friendly staff.
Facilities first class.
Best customer toilets by far.
Comfy bed with excellent drinks tray.
Breakfast superb.

Date of visit: November 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons B, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2021

Stephen E, thank you so much for the positive review! We're glad to hear we delivered such a great experience. If there's anything further we can do for you, we are happy to help!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2021 via mobile

Good service, very friendly. Huge portions. It’s good quality bar food, which is something not very bar or pub or hotel can manage. They do it very well and I can recommend you pay a visit.

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank martyn_morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons B, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2021

Martyn_morgan, we really appreciate your positive review! If you have any further questions, please give us a call. We're always happy to help! Thank you, we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2021 via mobile

Great lunch for the family. Lovely setting in the bar areas and excellent service. The pie was amazing and all food enjoyed here.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank georgetrow56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Royal Ship - Dolgellau also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park
 

Been to Royal Ship - Dolgellau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.