We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just keep coming back. The staff are lovely.”

Royal Ship - Dolgellau
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in Dolgellau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: C$11 - C$27
Cuisines: British, Pub, Grill, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Royal Ship Hotel Dolgellau, is a 19th Century Coaching in, steeped in old history situated in the Centre of the old Market town of Dolgellau, with spectacular view of the surrounding mountains is ideally located for exploring the beauty of North and Mid Wales. This historical building, which has been extensively modernised over the years has a 23 individual furnished bedrooms behind its iconic ivy-clad walls, which can accommodate for up to 51 stay in guests. Room prices start from £55 per person on a bed and breakfast basis and group discounts are available for over ten people. With its on-site restaurant, bar, large dining room and lounges available, offering Home-made local produce, to both residents and non-residents, allowing you to be able to sit back and enjoy your stay at the hotel with the helpful and friendly staff there to cater for all needs. We are open seven days a week and serve food from 12pm onwards 365 days a year! We can cater for special dietary requirements bu
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for the 3rd time this year and on this occasion we were with a party of 15. The rooms and the service could not have been better, and on the Friday night we all met in a side room and the service was superb, on time, the orders correct and the food good.
Well done

Date of visit: June 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Venture59875672547
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 714 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2024 via mobile

Friendly, traditional hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Building is a bit dated but everything works. Very good breakfasts and decent menu for other meals

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank KenWTelfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Kenwtelforduk, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2024

We were a group of walkers who had pre-booked our meal a week in advance and reserved a table for half past two. Unfortunately, our experience at the Royal Ship Hotel was extremely disappointing.

Upon our arrival at the appointed time, the man behind the bar was incredibly rude. He spoke to one member of our group very abruptly, telling him to "hurry up, it'll be supper time soon" and even rolled his eyes. This was while the gentleman was merely trying to look at the ales on offer.

The barman continued with his unfriendly behavior by remarking, "you booked for 2.30 and you'll all be moaning if the food is burnt,". His attitude made us feel unwelcome from the start.

Given the circumstances, we had one drink each, quickly ate our food, and left. My father-in-law didn’t even bother to have a drink; he just wanted to eat and go. In hindsight, we should have walked out without eating at all.

The customer service was absolutely disgusting, and we were not made to feel welcome in the slightest.

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank 001keho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2024

001keho, At 2.20 out of the 29 people there were 7 that had arrived, one lady very kindly went to ask the others sat watching live music at another pub to please make their way, we have 45 other guest's waiting to order the last 8 members of your group who were very rude could not understand that there were other people that needed serving and that you were late, 14.58 was the time when your food was going out, the earlier guest's of yours were very complimentary leaving tips and saying they enjoyed the food, the last part of the group were rude, one guy stood behind his wife swearing under his breath. You have to understand you book a big group for food, pre order a time you need to be on time not half an hour later. Other people are just as important and we didn't want food going out cold or dry, the rest of your guest's that were on time understood this and were very apologetic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2024

We had a booking at 2 30 for a group of ramblers.When we arrived the man at the bar called John was very rude telling us that we were late when we were there on time and told us that our food would be ruined.There were 29 of us and we had pre booked our meals a week earlier only to be told that the 7 roast chicken supremes we'd pre ordered were not available.We were made to feel very unwelcome.We will never set foot in there again

Date of visit: June 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2024

Eryl D, 001keho, At 2.20 out of the 29 people there were 7 that had arrived, one lady very kindly went to ask the others sat watching live music at another pub to please make their way, we have 45 other guest's waiting to order the last 8 members of your group who were very rude could not understand that th ere were other people that needed serving and that you were late, 14.58 was the time when your food was going out, the earlier guest's of yours were very complimentary leaving tips and saying they enjoyed the food, the last part of the group were rude, one guy stood behind his wife swearing under his breath. You have to understand you book a big group for food, pre order a time you need to be on time not half an hour later. Other people are just as important and we didn't want food going out cold or dry, the rest of your guest's that were on time understood this and were very apologetic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2024

Love staying here The Royal Ship is beautiful. Rooms are very clean beds and pillows are so comfy best sleep ever. Food is amazing lots to choose from 👏 breakfast is just delicious 😋 The staff go above and beyond John Frank Ashley Dan Hannah make us so welcome everytime, they have become special friends to us. We try and come back every month. Dolgellau holds a special place in our hearts ❤️

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traceydrury
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robinsons Brewery, Owner at Royal Ship - Dolgellau, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2024

Traceydrury, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Royal Ship, Dolgellau! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Ship - Dolgellau also viewed

Dolgellau, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park
Dolgellau, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park
 
Dolgellau, Snowdonia-Eryri National Park
 

Been to Royal Ship - Dolgellau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.