We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
VW-Pagan
Chester, United Kingdom

Excellent Country Hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 9, 2015
We arrived on Sunday afternoon. We initially drove past the entrance as we missed the sign, entirely my fault, though I was thrown by the washing on the drive from the neighbouring farm, a very rural touch! There was ample car parking in front of the hotel, then into the reception on the ground to a very friendly welcome . We occupied the Mawddach room which was very pleasant, spotlessly clean without a cobweb in sight ( a reference to other reviews I have read!). There were wonderful views of the grounds and surrounding hills and forest. The combined shower and jacuzzi was fun, with a distinct resemblance to a Star Trek transporter (hand shower, rain shower, back spray jacuzzi, beam to the planet surface :) ) you can just fit 2 people in if you are good friends, but then you wouldn't be having a jacuzzi with someone who wasn't a good friend!

Downstairs there is a comfortable seating area with a variety of settees. The only improvement would be to have a real fire instead of the faux log/coal one they currently have, but perhaps the chimney doesn't permit it? The bar somewhat resembles a student bar with books and games galore. My partner and I pounced on the Scrabble! ( I lost by the way, last minute triple word score!) The roof of half the bar is a conservatory style and I loved the sound of the rain on the glass. All in all very relaxing and reasonably priced for a hotel.

When it was time for dinner we were shown to the dining room which was in an older part of the building, evidenced by the stone walls and warmed by a wood burner. The meal was excellent. I had the toasted goats cheese with plum chutney which was superb as was flat iron steak, which was cooked to perfection. The dessert was sticky toffee pudding and ice cream, nothing outstanding but more than adequate.

There was a good selection on offer at breakfast with toast and cereal being on a self serve basis. I had the cooked breakfast (sausage, egg, bacon, black pudding) which was absolutely fine.

The grounds of the hotel are attractive and well maintained. The buildings exterior is a little faded, particularly at the rear, but is adds to its ambience.

All in all it was a very pleasant stay and excellent dinner and I shall definately return
Date of stay: August 2015
Room Tip: The Mawddach room is excellent!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
New Bar Area
    0.9 km from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$159
    • Hotels.com
    6.0 km from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$246
    • Hotels.com
    6.2 km from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$253
    • Hotels.com
    6.2 km from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    6.4 km from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    13.5 km from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    13.7 km from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Vio.com
    5.8 km from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    17.1 km from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    16.0 km from Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
    Free parking
    Bar/Lounge
    View more hotels in Ganllwyd
    Reviews (161)
    Filter reviews
    161 results
    Traveller rating
    93
    40
    12
    11
    5
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    93
    40
    12
    11
    5
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    70 - 75 of 161 reviews
    Reviewed August 8, 2015

    We stayed for two nights at the Dolly Hotel and really enjoyed our visit. A traditional Welsh building set in a quiet location but within easy reach of many local attractions.

    We arrived on Thursday evening and had a warm welcome and a lovely meal at the hotel restaurant. Selection is limited but food is well cooked and presented.

    We left early Friday morning and took an hours drive up to Zip World Velocity (highly recommended) and then onto the coast. In the evening we went to nearby Barmouth which has a good selection of restaurants (on the good advice of the hotel staff).

    Breakfast selection is very good. We both had poached eggs on toast which were cooked perfectly.

    Overall a lovely stay and somewhere we would gladly go back to.

    Date of stay: August 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Melsmyth
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed June 17, 2015

    If your looking for something different then the Dolly Hotel is for you. A Unique character building, with a beautiful surrounding this hotel gives the personal touch with very little effort. The room offers something different with each room furnished differently - we stayed in Glaslyn and it is perfect with a beautiful view of the garden ( please change on your website bathtub as I as looking forward to a bath, but has fab rainforest shower instead) and spotlessly clean.
    The hotel gave everything we wanted, a nice relaxing bar in the evening with a fine selection of drinks. We ate in the restaurant & the food was fantastic and served perfectly. Breakfast gave a fine selection and served promptly and again nothing was too much trouble.
    We stayed here on a weekend visit & will most definitely return, everyone who works at the hotel were very welcoming, I hope that the younger staff gain more confidence over the summer in speaking with their guests but perfect & we never seen the waterfalls! Diolch Dolly

    Date of stay: June 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Tanya O
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed June 15, 2015

    Can only endorse all the good things previous reviewers have said. Comfortable, well managed, great dinners and breakfasts set in the most beautiful surroundings. Ideal base if you want to explore Snowdonia or just chill out for a couple of days.

    Room tip: Whichever window you are looking out of the view is spectacular
    Date of stay: June 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank frank h
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed June 4, 2015

    This trust house is set in beautiful gardens ,and Allan who runs it seems to care passionately about the house and his guests . Nothing is two much trouble for Allan . He and Gaynor (the Australian ) will go out of there way to help you . The breakfast waiter is also good at his job . The food is excellent and can't be faulted . The rooms are nice and clean and all totally different to one another . The only fault I could really pick is that the young lads that work there ,are just young men with not many social skills . ( not rude) just young and don't have skills of the other staff. Like saying through here for dinner and not asking to carry your ladies drink . That sort of thing. If dolly house wasn't this good I wouldn't of been four times. Oh yes beautiful gardens .

    Date of stay: May 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    3  Thank CliveW458
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed January 20, 2015

    We stayed for 1 night again in last Saturday. It was a return visit after staying in September and we loved it. This time we were the only 2 people staying that night but that did not change a thing. Even though it was not a full hotel we still had the same care and attention to detail that would have come if it had of been. We had Maddwch room and it was amazing, we had Sam our labrador with us and he just loved it.
    Dinner was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. A quick tip my fiance loves sticky toffee pudding and says it is one of the best he has ever had.
    All in all we love it and we will be returning as soon as we can.

    Date of stay: January 2015
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jude1971
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews