We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
58
18
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
18
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull english breakfastthe pubbreakfast was excellentwarm welcometea and coffee facilitiesperfect roomquaint townone nightbreakfast was freshly cookedfamily roomwye valleyroom numberlocal producecomfy roomminute walkovernight staygreat shower
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 81 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2018

The Mayhill has a country pub feel to it complete with log burning fire, we stayed in room 7 which is newly refurbished , in our opinion to a luxury 5 star standard, it was also lovely and warm and the beds were really comfy.
There is private parking at the front of the hotel. The hotel does not do food apart from breakfast, but Stuart the owner has a variety of take away menus that deliver and he is quite happy to provide plates and cutlery, you can eat in the bar or dining room.
Stuart is a friendly guy and takes the time to ask how your stay is going and if everything is ok.
Breakfast is help yourself to tea, coffee, juice, cereals and toast, and you can give the chef your cooked order.
The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from a bustling quaint town centre with lots of restaurants and shops.
All in all a lovely Welsh welcome from Stuart and his regulars.

Room Tip: Room 7 is lovely
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anitawoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here at a weekend for a friends wedding and had a very pleasant stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the made to order piping hot breakfast, delicious! The owner was really accommodating and went the extra mile by giving us a lift to a nearby establishment to avoid my wife’s wedding outfit getting wet in the rain.

Would definitely recommend, thank you.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2018

Good value hotel and well run by owner Stuart and his team.Ideal location for Monmouth and Wye Valley.Clean,comfy room with excellent double glazing,so very little noise from nearby A40.Good breakfast and flexible hours between 7 30/9 30 am.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are further from bar area.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

We broke our journey home from Pembroke by staying in the Mayhill overnight and what a delightful hotel? Lovely clean room, very comfortable bed and great shower room.

Breakfast too was terrific in fact, nothing could be improved - we shall return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeriGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

Don't be put off by this hotel's location. Yes, it has scenic views over Lidl, Screwfix and  Kwikfit.  But if you want somewhere to stay that's 10 mins walk from Monmouth centre, offers clean, quiet and comfy rooms and a tasty breakfast at a extremely good rate....look no further.
The staff are charming too, from Chloe who welcomed us on our arrival, to Terry behind the bar on our return from dinner who regaled us with stories of snakes, driving routes and cocktails. It was fun.
It's not the Ritz....But then it's not £400 a night! We'd certainly stay again. I'm very happy, talking everything into account, to give this hotel an excellent rating.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews