We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location,comfortable and well equipped”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Bronturnor Cottage Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Living Room
Bronturnor Cottage
Master Bedroom
Ffestiniog Railway approaching Bronturnor crossing
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Landing/extra bedroom
Attic bedroom
Living Room
Kitchen
View of Snowdon from Bronturnor fields
View from cottage towards Ffestiniog Railway and Moelwyn mountains
cottage garden
A Wintery day on Harlech Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Portmeirion, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PenCarys
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location,comfortable and well equipped”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Jeston and Shameem were very welcoming and helpful.Bron Turner is in a very beautiful area .The Ffestiniog steam train puffs past two or three times a day,we cycled into Porthmadog ,Penrhyndeudraeth and Portmeirion.Loads of beautiful walks in the vicinity.The cottage was spacious,characterful and comfortable,we enjoyed staying on a smallholding and eating at Busy Bees restaurant in Penrhyndaeudraeth.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zunaira M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WE <3 SKY THE DOGGIE!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in May 2016

As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by the TRUE owner; Sky, the dog. Sky gave such a warm welcome, presenting her head for a fuss then her finest ball to throw. Not long after Sky's human, Jes, came to translate Sky's barking and assist us into the cottage.
The next morning, we were woken by visitors... Doris the hen and her friends, accompanied by Sky's other human, Shameem with some of Doris' eggs from earlier that morning. After chewing the fat with her for a few minutes, breakfast was prepared and eaten, we prepared for an adventure out, only to bee greeted by a sound... POOP! POOP! The Welsh highland steam train sounded its horn a sit pulled out of Minfford station, about half a mile away, signalling that you'd only got a few minutes to get clothes/dressing gown on and present yourself in the garden near the swing for your daily waving... yes, the train goes so close to the garden you see whites of the passengers eyes, and their BIIIIIIIG WIDE SMILES as they wave back, making you feel somewhat like Jenny Agutter in The Railway Children.
For Jes and Shameem, NOTHING is too much trouble! They're always knocking about if there's a problem, for local advice, or just a chat, because they're so personable.
We're gonna come again!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful bungalow on spacious grounds - perfect holiday setting!”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We found most of the detail met our expectations. A little disappointment was that the swing set was broken and so the pictures were a bit misleading! Owners were lovely and helpful. Chickens in the garden and sheep and horse nearby made it a real country experience. And the steam train was a delight for our kids to watch! Very nice break with gorgeous views all round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thankyou very much for the positive review - very sorry that my photos were out of date and that the swing is no longer available; but glad that you enjoyed your stay

Regards Jeston
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DetV25
Paris, France
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

One of the two best holidays we ever spent.
We stayed in Bron Turnor Cottage for two weeks with our young teenage boy and enjoyed every minute of it.
If you need a break this is the place to go.
A lot has already been said by the previous tenants.
Shameen and Jeston are the most friendly and unintrusive hosts you can think of.
The cottage is located in an incredibly peacefull place.
It is charming, fully equiped, clean, unpretentious and comfortable.
We could have spent whole days just looking at the sheeps and the steam train and fondling Bertie the Horse and Sky the dog.
We spent time discovering the area though. We don't have a car, but actually you don't need one here, with Minffordd station and two bus stops (where you can catch 6 different lines) at only 3 minutes of walking distance, you can virtually reach every place you want to go within North Wales.
Most of what you'll need you can get in Porthmadog (less than 10 minutes bus ride), but you can also walk for a few minutes and go to the beautiful village of Perhyndeudraeth. Here you'll find a small supermarket, a pub, a butcher store and a very nice cofee shop (The busy bees) where you can enjoy assorted good beverages and snacks in a relaxed atmosphere a million miles away from the somewhat "tourist trap" vibe of Porthmadog.
We also spent a lot of time in Portmeirion. The 25 minutes walk from the cottage is really worth it, as you can take the coastal path with a fantastic view of the estuary all along. Of course, it is often crowded between 10am and 5pm, and the hundreds of people walking with an ice cream and a digital camera can make you feel like Disneyland BUT:
A few advices if you like the place:
- go there between 5pm and 7.30 pm. Then the place is almost empty and the eerie atmosphere of the deserted village almost makes you feel like it is yours;
- take an annual pass if you intend to go more than once: for less than two entries, you can get an annuel pass, so...
- dont forget to walk into the woods, with its incredible gardens, exotic trees and flower species;
- enjoy long walks along and above the estuary;
- visit Briony Clarke, the artist currently in residence in the green dome, and see how, her knowledge of the place, its history and its geology she invented a surprising device with which she produces beautiful yet easily affordable art work.

We spent two dreamy weeks, so we'll definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet atmosphere, the animals
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for the great review, with loads of useful information. I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday. We will keep in touch and look forward to meeting you agai one day. Best wishes Jeston and Shameem
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NazzyBoy
1 review
“Well Worth it!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great value for party of 6. Loved it. Kids enjoyed the surroundings & feeding the animals.
Location is spot on, most of the attractions are easy to reach.

Mr. Jeston & Ms. Shameem were friendly. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for the review, it was nice meeting your family and i am glad you enjoyed your holiday at Bronturnor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ali1liver...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great little find”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

this is a really lovely place - great little hidden spot with great links to all that's around it. my little lad loved the steam trains, the chickens, the horse , the sheep .the views from the patio are beautiful the cottage is warm, spacious & quirky with nice furniture and the most comfortable beds! the owners are most obliging and friendly - we had a really lovely time -thankyou x x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the animals, the trains and the beds!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for the review, i'm glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope you will return one day
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne D
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Large barn conversion in a good position”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Really enjoyed our stay. Loved the Ffestiniog railway running to the front of the house. The accommodation was great lots of space, although only the two of us it would well suit a large family. The kitchen was very well equipped and had a very handy utility/boot room with boiler, washing machine and tumble dryer in. Bought our spaniel with us, so used it as her room! Garden was lovely with chickens scratching around and the horse in the field appreciated the odd carrot! Heating was more than efficient for the cooler evenings. Lots of games to play if you have to stay in. Would love to return with some of the extended family in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your holiday and hope you will return again

Best Wishes Jeston and Shameem
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$70
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing