We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous private peaceful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Hendre Fechan cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hendre Fechan cottage
Lounge We have recently added a wood burning stove for those romantic nights in.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Hendre Fechan cottage
Lounge
We have recently added a wood burning stove for those romantic nights in.
Country style kitchen
On suite
The lounge (a wood burning stove was installed in June 2017)
Lounge
Kitchen
View from the front door
Bathroom
The cottage
The cottage
Bridal path near cottage
Barmouth bridge with Cader Idris in the background
Mawddach estuary
Barmouth bridge
View with the cottage in the background
Cottage garden
Stunning winter view of the mawddach estuary
View of Barmouth Bridge from Morfa Mawddach beach. Really secluded and stunning
Morfa Mawddach beach
Morfa Mawddach is on the other side of the estuary from Barmouth. Taken in April 2016
Sunset views from Morfa Mawddach
To access this beach, walk over Barmouth Bridge and cross over the railway to the beach via footpath
Taly-Bont beach
Taly-Bont beach sunset in October 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Talybont, Barmouth, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
empress13
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“fabulous private peaceful cottage”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a real gem of a place, really private yet near popular Barmouth for groceries and pubs etc and near miles of unspoilt sandy beaches. Samantha could'nt be more helpful and lovely and walking past the idylic fields and woods through the rolling countryside past sheep and cows to get to the beach was fun. The cottage has real charm and is in tip top condtion. A great hideaway.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
HI; It was lovely to meet you, I am glad you had a wonderful stay.

All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage, lovely location.”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We found the cottage very comfortable and well equipped. The location was excellent, being in the peace and quiet of the countryside yet just a few minutes' drive from Barmouth. The sea view from the cottage was lovely and we enjoyed the occasional visit of Spotty the cat who was very friendly and fussy. There are lots of places to walk and cycle in stunning scenery, and we would love to return to do all the things we ran out of time for. Samantha was also most helpful. Although we couldn't get a phone signal, the wifi was most useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that the cottage had character, being 400 years old, yet was well furnished and very comfortable.
Liked least: My husband wasn't so keen on the driveway to the property but it is worth it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
HI Julie, Thank you for your lovely review, Hope to see you again.

All the best

Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonesy201...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect winter break”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cosy little cottage,just what we wanted.Peace and quite with a lovely see view.There was everything we needed in the cottage.It was clean and tidy,the bed was very comfortable.This will be our base for our regular visits to Barmouth,we cant wait to book again.Its a lovely walk from the cottage into Barmouth in just over an hour. Must remember a torch next time for the dark lane back upto the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The piece and quite with a sea view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Hello; Thank you for your lovely review I am glad you enjoyed yourselves, look forward to seeing you again.
All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila G
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly peaceful”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Beautiful little cottage in an excellent location; sure, the track up is bumpy but not insurmountable.
Loved the under floor heating, shame it wasn't working in the lounge. Also I would echo previous comment about having a real fire in that stunning fireplace!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Dear Sheila, Thank you for your lovely review, we are looking into a log fire for the future.

Hope to see you again some time.

All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davsar99
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful & relaxing”
Reviewed December 26, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband & I & our puppy stayed here a few days before christmas to escape all the hustle & bustle of christmas and that's exactly what we got. It was a lovely peaceful area, we all enjoyed walks on the beach & enjoyed just chilling out, the cottage was almost perfect. The only thing that let it down was that it had a great big fireplace with a fake log burner which didn't give off any heat.. A real one would have been excellent & made our weekend perfect but other than that we had no complaints.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Hello;
I am glad you had a lovely Christmas here and enjoyed our peaceful cottage. Hopefully we will see you again some time soon.

All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isobel_68
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy cottage”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just spent a lovely long weekend at Hendre Fechan with our dog. The walks around Taly bon and Barmouth were lovely and the cottage was comfortable, clean and cosy with the underfloor heating. I would recommend a stay here if you are looking for some peace and quiet in a beautiful location with sea view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating in bathroom
Liked least: Track up to the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Dear Isobel; We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at out peaceful cottage. Hope we see you again some time soon.

Take care
Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellig...
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing setting”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying here for a week. Our party included our little boy of six and our Whippet puppy. We were impressed with the cottage and its furnishings. It was very comfy and covered our needs. The location of the property was excellent. Just far away from the hustle of Barmouth. We were able to explore the area to the full and even tried our hand at crabbing. We would highly recommend Hendre Fechan and would love to visit again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Bumpy access to cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Hi, Thank you for your lovely review I am happy you found the cottage comfortable and your son and puppy enjoyed themselves.
All the best Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing