We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips I've ever had!”
Review of Chippy Dre

Chippy Dre
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Tremadog
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

I'm not a big eater of fish and chips but this place was phenomenal. Huge portion, amazing taste (great mushy peas and haddock) and excellent service and value. Can't recommend highly enough. Certainly the best fish and chips I've ever eaten.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank ResilientMole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 210 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2018

Probably the best fish and chips I've had in years !!!

If you can bear with the dreadful service then you won't be dissapointed.

Polite advice:

1. Introduce a queuing system. Maybe the locals know how the system works but the tourists don't and many stand around wondering whether to wait, order or pay first.

2. Working out what to do from a till roll surely isnt the best way to process cooking orders? Very little communication between the two girls serving and certainly NO smiles!

3. Please help the two girls with some customer service training. We met two of the rudest people in North Wales. The girl on the till clearly didnt want to be there. To be greated with "Nine pounds" and a glare isnt my idea of great service. There was not a single please or thank you to any of the half a dozen or so customers we saw being served whilst waiting for our meal (and not just tourists but locals as well)

PS: The guy doing the cooking clearly knew his thing as the meal was great.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Abujamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Have ordered from here, the portion is quite good, just a bit slow for serving. Not busy but have to wait 5-8 mins to be served (only 3 people in front of me). Worked in a very Chippy before so I suggestion is take order faster.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank Charley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2018

This chippy does gluten free food. I had a lovely Thai fishcake that was yummy, they do steamed fish too. Chips were nice and staff seemed friendly. Came here as it was advertised on the coeliac website. Glad I did.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Northernwytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

Always busy and always lovely fresh fish and chips have visited a few times loads of choice, meal deals and super quick service. Can also phone ahead with your order too. Reasonable price

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Buckers29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chippy Dre also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 

Been to Chippy Dre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing