We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Return Visit”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance Front of property plus seating area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Front entrance
Front of property plus seating area
lounge looking towards front and 40inch plasma tv
lounge
lounge looking towards dining area and kitchen
lounge looking towards dining area
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom
Kitchen / Diner
Bathroom
BBQ seating area
View from rear window
View from Lounge
Old Lifeboat Station
Activity at Bull Bay
Bull Bay
Snowdon Mountain Railway
Picture of the bay at night 04/05/16
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amlwch, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colette B
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Return Visit”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit and once again a nice warm welcome from Mike & Carol who are very friendly. Mike carried our bag upstairs for us and then invited us to sit outside and Carol made us a cup of tea with biscuits - very welcome after travelling.

The room has everything you need and we love the kitchenette which has been well thought out. The bathroom has a bath which is great and the complimentary shampoo and soap are a nice touch - also the pint of milk left in the fridge! There is a lovely seating area outside and a barbecue area which is very peaceful.

One of my favourite things about this accommodation is the cleanliness of the room and the whole building.

Mike & Carol kindly showed us the larger room/apartment which has been kitted out to a very high speck and is very clean and spacious.

I would definitely recommend this accommodation to family & friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, friendliness and location
Liked least: quilt a little to warm for us (only our personal opinion)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
""Thank you Colette & Philip for this lovely review
It was lovely seeing you again
We look forward to your next visit to the Anchorage
Best wishes and lots of love Carol and Mike""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simon_mcg...
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yet another fantastic stay in a warm and friendly setting”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just back form a third fantastic stay at the Anchorage, Bull Bay. I found this place several months ago for an overnight stay while visiting relatives in Anglesey.

Ever since the first time we stayed we have been made to feel like family by the owners Carol and Mike. They simply cannot do enough to make your stay such a warm and welcoming time. Whilst staying there this weekend (Valentines) we came back one night to a bottle of bubbly, chockies and a lovely card for our anniversary. It's little touches like this that really make you feel such a valued friend.

They have a couple of full rooms that are fully furnished flats with nothing left out to ensure a trouble free stay. The smaller rooms are just right for a couple of nights stay. They have a sauna and a star trek style shower adjacent to the sauna. :)

Probably the thing that my wife loved more than anything on our original stay was the cleanliness of the place. My wife is such a stickler for such things and we cannot praise the place highly enough for how clean it is.

I would reccomend The Anchorage to anyone visiting the area, not only for the place itself, but for the area, Stunnng rugged coastline with plenty of trails for the more energetic to walk and trekking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The manner in which you are treated by the owners, like your a member of their family.
Liked least: Unable to think of a single thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
"Thank you Simon & Michelle for this lovely review
We look forward to your next visit to the Anchorage
Best wishes and lots of love
Carol and Mike"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Di H
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arrived as customers, left as friends”
Reviewed January 24, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked two nights at The Anchorage as a last minute decision in the run up to Christmas (we were in the UK visiting friends & relatives and just happened to have a couple of free days in our schedule). We were late arriving but Mike watched out for us and moved his car so that we had a parking spot, then helped us with our bags up to our room. Although small, the room had everything we needed - the kitchenette was well thought out and the bathroom was lovely and romantic! With the complimentary tea, coffee and milk (very much appreciated after a long drive!) and the little chats with the owners whenever we saw them, we were made to feel very welcome. They even gave us a Christmas card and a gift! It was hard to leave this lovely corner of Anglesey - when we're back in Blighty again we'll be booking another visit! Mike and Carol, we wish you every success for the future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2016
Thank you Des & Di for this nice review
We look forward to your next visit to the UK
Hopefully one of are bigger rooms will be available if you are to visit us again
If you are over here and just on Anglesey for the day please call in and have a Coffee with us
Best wishes and lots of love Carol and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven C
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely apartment very spacious & everything you would need for a break away”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Mike & Carol were the perfect hosts X I would recommend this as a peaceful place to stay with fantastic views of the bay

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
"Thank you for the nice review we look forward to you staying with us in the future
Best Wishes Carol and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colette B
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely stay on Anglesey”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Pro's -- This is a lovely place to stay, within easy walking distance of the sea and two hotels for food & drinks and a golf course. Holyhead & Bangor are in easy driving distance so a trip over to Ireland not difficult, but we would recommend you stay in Anglesey as there are plenty of lovely places to visit.
The studio apartment we stayed in was small but perfectly equipped. I believe it has everything you could need for your stay.. TV, radio, Microwave, toaster, kettle, mini oven, small sink, tea - towel and kitchen towel, a fridge, bedside lamp, hair-dryer, clothes closet, a radiator in the room & a lovely bathroom complete with shower & a bath, towels and complimentary soap & shampoo & loads of hot water. Free Wi-Fi

Con's -- A little too warm for us, a very thick winter (too warm for us) and a bed that was a bit snug - that said it does say the size of the bed in the description and we can't fault the condition of the bedding as it was lovely & new.

All in all we would recommend this with friendly owners that couldn't do enough for you., even bringing us a pint of milk for our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Friendliness of owner, location, quality of furnishings
Liked least: Room & quilt too warm, room small & bed small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you for the nice review
look forward to you staying with us in the future
Are larger apartment has a super king bed and is a lot more spacious with better facilities
Hope to see you again soon
Best Wishes Carol and Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie144
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent accomodation!”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wonderful stay at the Anchorage. Upon arrival we were greeted and shown to our room where the owners had put some fresh milk in the fridge to get us started. Very clean and spacious accommodation and we will definitely return. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Tricky lock on the door, otherwise no complaints at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevieChr...
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
“recommended , perfect for a long and short stay”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Easy to find property, warm welcome by Rose, taken to our spacious appartment and given our key. There was special touches, of milk in the fridge, tea coffee, sugar, biscuits kitchen roll, cleaning stuff, toilet roll, shower jel, towels, extra large bed with crisp clean sheets, just to mention a few.
Great for walking around the coast, also travelling to holly head, and near by chippy for when you dont want to cook.
Not forgetting plenty of hot water for your bath after your day holidaying and the free wifi .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: closeness to the sea.
Liked least: packing to come home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing