We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A gem of a place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Beaumaris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darwen, lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just had a fantastic weekend, which was our fourth visit.
We consider ourselves to be 'seasoned travellers' and have decided that Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn is the all-round package. From the traditional bar with excellent choice of beers, to the Loft Restaurant (why have you not been awarded a Michelin Star??) where my husband declared his starter of scallops with curried mussels the best he had ever tasted, which were only the taste of a fine meal to come....it was faultless, as was the service, with such a lovely atmosphere. We had never eaten in the less formal Brasserie, but the food was excellent there too, with an excellent choice.
We have stayed in the traditional rooms in the Inn, but prefer the modern rooms in the Townhouse - (we are slowly working our way through them!) - just a personal preference, as each are delightful in their own way. It is the little things that make the difference, such as fresh milk being served in thermos flasks instead of plastic milk in plastic cartons. If I had to offer a little constructive criticism, it would be to provide an iron/ironing board in the rooms, I didn't always want to be hot footing it up to the ironing room!
.....and now to the staff.....from the two helpful receptionists to the extremely efficient, - but oh so gentle with it - young lady who is the maitre'd, and certainly knows her stuff! (little touches like being remembered by both from previous visits go a long way!) Whoever is responsible for instilling the ethos that they do in the staff is doing an extremely good job.
We have stayed in other hotels that have been granted 'Hotel of the Year' awards granted by differing awarding bodies that are certainly not on a par with Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn - I can only presume they haven't discovered you yet! Please keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Scarlet Room in the Townhouse is an excellent size. Stick to the rooms in the Inn if you prefer more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieW1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    124
    47
    28
    16
See reviews for
45
233
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just returned from a few days visiting family in Wales, decided to stay at Ye olde Bulls Head.
We had an amazing experience, the Loft Restaurant was excellent, the food some of the best I have tasted - Fillet Steak was delicious. Service with a smile from the moment we checked-in. Room was spacious and spotless. Breakfast was really good and consistant on the three mornings. The Owners have invested a lot of time and effort no only in the place but employing the right people, I would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: I stayed in Pearl in the Town House - excellent room and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miele76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have been here quite a few times since about 1996 most recently in April last year.

We have always really enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant. The old pub building is just that, old, very comfortable, well equipped rooms and very comfortable beds. We've stayed in "ordinary" rooms (they are anything but) and the suites, all are excellent. We have also stayed in the annex and these are modern, well designed, equipped and very relaxing rooms. I'd be delighted to stay in either building again.

The food in the main restaurant is superb, a good choice, great local sourcing and top quality cooking. A super place for a special night out. The food in the newer, less formal, brassiere is just as good. We very much enjoyed eating here when we came in April. Breakfast is excellent with a very good choice and top quality products very well cooked.

We've found the service to be excellent on all of our visits and whilst this is not an inexpensive place it is very good value in my mind. Actually thinking about how we can visit again as I type. If you are here don't miss out and do stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texel1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The hotel is also in a great location in the centre of Beaumaris. We had a fantastic meal at the hotel restaurant. The food was fresh and local and cooked to perfection. The service was excellent too without being intrucive.
Very good!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonatlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid wales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Receptionist was very helpful from the word go and there was a lovely atmosphere as soon as you were in the door. The room was nicely decorated (beautiful curtains, but horrible bedspread!) and was very warm. We were dissappointed to see that we had been allocated a room above the main street as we had requested a 'quiet' room, but were not unduly affected (woken up once at 4am by late night stragglers having a loud conversation on the way home..
We ate with friends at the brasserie and it was very very good - food, wine, atmosphere and service - followed by a night cap in the lovely old atmospheric bar
The absolute only thing that spoilt the experience for us was Sunday morning. Breakfast was 8-10am and being on a break, being a Sunday morning, and being a bit groggy from the night before, we arrived at 9.45am. There were three other couples eating there at the time . We were literally whisked through breakfast - we ordered tea, and went for cereal, by which time toast had arrived (this was left untouched as it was freezing cold by the time I wanted toast!!). Half way through cereal, poached eggs and bacon arrived, so that too was going cold. Plates were whipped away after the last mouthfull, and it was made blatantly obvious that we were holding up the sunday lunch laying of tables which was happening loudly around us - not very relaxing end to an otherwise pleasant stay....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBag23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have stayed in this hotel four times in the last three years and it is excellent. The rooms are beautifully designed, superbly comfortable and clean. The traditional style of the original inn bar has been blended well with the more modern style of the Townhouse. The staff are welcoming and helpful and the attention to detail throughout is fantastic....beautiful flowers around the hotel, fresh milk for tea and coffee in rooms with delicious biscuits., gluten free bread available. The quality of the food, atmosphere and service in the Brasserie, the Loft Restaurant and at breakfast are faultless. This hotel is an absolute gem and we challenge any hotel inspector to find any faults with it! Congratulations and thank you to the management and staff for such consistently great service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnieBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We last stayed here over 15 years ago with friends and loved it.We went to celebrate a special occasion and stayed overnight.
When we were in the area recently we called in for a meal and the food is just as good as I remember. At reception I asked if it would be possible to see any of the rooms as I know they have been revamped and she showed us several which were not occupied as it was a quiet mid week in November.
I would probably go for the courtyard suite but my friend loved the General Myton suite.
I am glad to see that they still have the residents lounge with the fire as it is nice to sit there before dinner with a drink. Another thing that impressed me was the fact that a group came into the bar with very noisy young children and were directed to the back room by someone sitting in the bar. They serve a bar menu but no chips so you have to go through into the bistro for a more comprehensive menu.Dinner is is the upstairs restaurant which although rather intimate, has been beautifully done.
All in all will definitely be back as it is ideally situated to explore Angelsey, very welcoming and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMJAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 km away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.2 km away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
16.3 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
3.6 km away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn

Property: Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn
Address: Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bulls Head Hotel Beaumaris
Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn Beaumaris, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing